We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise!”
Review of Wine Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wine Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palisade
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were supposed to be on a horseback pack trip camping at 13,000', but when health issues forced us to come to a lower elevation, we found ourselves in Palisade, CO. We dropped our horses at a friend's barn and then we happened across this hotel. What a WONDERFUL place! Saunders checked us in... what a delightful, personable & helpful young lady. We couldn't have felt more welcome...even though we were grungy and smelled like horses!

The King room was fantastic! It was beautifully appointed, the vineyards surrounding the place reminded me of Tuscany... ok, maybe Tuscany is not as dry & doesn't have I-70 going through it... but you get the picture.

We had such a relaxing, good night sleep that we decided to stay a second day. Brittney checked us in & she, too, was absolutely helpful & kind! She had a marvelous sense of humor! After the second day, we booked a long weekend in August to tour some of the local winery's! This hotel is fabulous and moderately priced.

The breakfast in the morning is delicious... buffet pancakes are not usually my favorite, but theirs were fluffy and light on the inside and crispy on the outside... absolutely perfect.

I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of this hotel, the friendly staff and the beautifully restfully appointed rooms.

Thank you all for helping us 'salvage' what was left of our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mleffler1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    125
    28
    19
    12
See reviews for
109
304
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Selah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Wine Country Inn and visited nearby wineries for a summer getaway and wedding anniversaryv celebration. The stay at Wine Country Inn was amazing. Our room was on first floor with our patio facing the pool. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful and kind. We ordered the wine lunch basket and it was waiting for us in our room. We rode our bikes into town for lunch and rode our bikes to different wineries. The Wine Country Inn is close to all of these and is only a short 1/2 drive to Grand Junction. Only negative was the breakfast. It was not very fresh looking or tasting but just good enough since it came with the room and no extra charge. The dinner resturants on-site are a little pricy. But do not let this stop you from staying here we will definitely stay again!!!!

Room Tip: ask for ground level and room facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmwlrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Spent only one night at this hotel. I must say that the service was class A and the rooms were clean and very cozy. I wish we would have stayed longer. Definetly will stay there again if I have the chance.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dbo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Thought we were going to stop in Palisade, CO, for peaches and then continue on to spend the night in Grand Junction. Wrong! We read about this Inn on Trip Advisor and decided to spend the night there. What a treat. The rooms are great with very comfortable beds. We had a very good meal at the hotel restaurant in the evening and THEN one of the best buffet breakfasts we've had in our many travels this summer. We tried some of the local wine which was also very good. Have every intention of returning next year when the peaches are in season. BTW some of the best peaches I've every had. Nothing quite like getting them ripe right from the tree (the Davis Family Farms in Palisade).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karuna325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caunes-Minervois, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were going to stay in Grand Junction, CO, but saw a sign for the Wine Country Inn about 10 miles east of GJ, in the middle of nowhere, surrounded only by vineyards. From the moment we walked in, Jesse, at the front desk warmly welcomed us. We asked about his best rate for one night, and he quoted $130, which was a bit more than we wanted to spend. We asked if there were any specials that would lower the rate, and he quoted the "Managers Special" of $94.+ taxes. Bingo!! We were thrilled that they had 2 restaurants, one a more informal lounge, and the more upscale Caroline's. As we were tired, we opted for the Lounge, and had fabulous tapas and marvelous locally made red wine. That a find! The server, Brian, was very accommodating and warm, and the super chef personally greeted everyone and made sure everyone was happy. Wow!

The room was a very beautifully appointed King room, immaculately clean, and had the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Not only that, they provide info on how you can purchase the bed directly from Sealy, as it is not sold in retail stores.

The hot breakfast the next day was delicious, and we left, reluctantly. The grounds are beautiful, the service impeccable, and the whole experience worthy of a special trip. If you are heading this way, or if you are planning a wedding or family event, this is a sure bet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimandLoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I can not say enough about this hotel. We stayed here for Christmas just for a fun holiday get-away. The staff were just the nicest people, very friendly and helpful. They told us all about the wineries, which ones to visit nearby and were very knowledgeable about the wine they sold themselves. There was free wine tasting in the lobby every night and the food was fantastic. The room was very clean and our view was breathtaking.

We will absolutely come back next time.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the vineyard and mesas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This pleasant hotel is located directly on the I70 highway frontage in Palisade, Colorado. We expected a simple limited service hotel when we stopped at the hotel with no reservations on a trip through the area but were pleasantly surprised to find a slightly more upscale experience at this relatively new property. The local hotel staff was friendly and the rooms are simple decor but new and very clean. Beds are comfortable. Restaurant food is average, but the breakfast that was included was quite substantial.
Ask for a room on the side away from the highway and overlooking the vineyards.
Be sure to stop at a local farm stand to see what is in season -- if you are lucky enough to be there for the peaches - don't miss them!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmop_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palisade
5.2 mi away
Best Western Grande River Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Grand Junction
9.3 mi away
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
Clarion Inn Grand Junction
#6 of 28 in Grand Junction
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Grand Junction
11.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Grand Junction Downtown/Historic Main Street
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
Hampton Inn Grand Junction
#4 of 28 in Grand Junction
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Country Inn

Property: Wine Country Inn
Address: 777 Grande River Dr, Palisade, CO 81526-8804
Location: United States > Colorado > Palisade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palisade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wine Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romance of the vineyards at the Wine Country Inn, Colorado's first wine-themed, family owned and operated, boutique hotel located in Palisade. Stroll through the working vineyards that surround the inn, an 80-room Victorian style hotel, which sits in the middle of 21 acres of vines. Wine Country Inn is adjacent to two wineries and a short drive from a dozen more. Get to know our ever-expanding wine industry, popular orchards and local art scene, while relaxing and enjoying the many wonderful views that surround the Inn from one of the rocking chairs on our porches. We can accommodate meetings, events, weddings, family reunions or just your getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life! Join us in Colorado's Wine Country for a truly unique experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Country Hotel Palisade
Palisade Country Inn
Hotel Wine Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing