We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self serve wine tasting kiosk”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Colorado Cellars

Colorado Cellars
Ranked #14 of 33 things to do in Palisade
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tasting room, wide variety of fruit wines, mead and specialty food items.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
613 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Self serve wine tasting kiosk”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Strangest wine tasting I have ever been to. This is not your usual wine tasting. You walk in and a lady gives you a tiny glass and then shows you a wooden showcase encased with about 10 of their wines that are hooked up to hoses and tappers just like at a brewery or bar, however you pour it yourself in your little glass then go and self serve your bottles if you want to purchase any of the wines.Kind of like in a grocery store. Only tried a couple and they tasted like Annie Green Springs.They had a sign that if you did not purchase any bottles you would have to pay 7.50 for the tasting. You have to be kidding.Not for that stuff. The lady did say don't worry about it. If you are new to wine, maybe this would be the place to go, but there are much better ones on the wine trail.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank monetkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    5
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Too Sweet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This vineyard has a wide variety of fruit and grape wines to try. They give you a glass and you fill up your glass from the taps (set number). We were uncomfortable pouring our own wine as the host stared at us from behind the counter. She was not very friendly so we didn't feel like we could ask questions and engage in conversation about each individual wine. It may just be personal opinion but all of the wines here were way too sweet. However, I enjoyed their chocolates and mustards.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RNTRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hello fruit wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Finally we found some fruit wines. They had a wonderful selection of local fruit wines as well as several standard reds and whites. They had a nice way of serving the wines using self served taps.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Concord, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Buying frenzy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The wines were available for tasting. I liked sweet wines and there were several to choose from. The price of wine is reasonable but having it shipped home is not. (I did it anyway rather than deal with getting it home on a plane.) The shop-keeper was friendly and helpful. The winery appeared clean with gift items to purchase. It's off the beaten path so you would not go there by chance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank juppole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wines were o.k. Nice mix of sweet and non-sweet. Sampling was unique. Good selection of oils. Definately worth the stop. Shop had a lot of other unique food items to purchase.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colorado Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing