We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but in dire need of update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Inn of Pagosa
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Lake Oswego
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean but in dire need of update”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The Pros: Nice location along the river and about a 10 minute walk into town. The owners were nice. Clean enough.

Cons: Old. in dire need of update. Sink in bathroom cracked, shower dripped, sheets thin, sides of boxsprings stained, towels clean but a couple had stains on them. The Continental Breakfast was bleak.

From what I understood from the people in town who lived in Pagosa Springs, most of the hotels there are older.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the happening part of town, make sure you get a room at the south end, no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiPasquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    33
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
35
38
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

This was a nice small-town hotel. It's not brand new or fancy, but everything was clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The discount for purchasing ski tickets, was a great deal. There isn't a swimming pool anymore, even though it's still in the photos on the website. The sauna and spa were lovely, however. Yummy cinnamon rolls for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanneD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is a good value for your money in a place like Pagosa Springs. As some other people mentioned, the hotel is old but kept very clean, refrigerator, micro, coffee machine in room, sauna and hot tub were great after a day of hiking, great hospitality from the owner Lou with tips where to go hiking and what to do. I also liked it being on the river. We stayed 2 nights and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLeib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, and skied at Wolf Creek. This is basically the closest hotel to the mountain, that is why we choose it before hand. All the people at the hotel were supper nice and helpful. The rooms flat out suck, they are very small, very old, and really smell bad. They try to keep the place as clean and nice as possible, you can clearly see the effort, but there is only so much you can do with a 30+ year old hotel. The rooms are tiny, have almost no electrical outlets to plug anything in. The beds are the worst beds I think I have ever slept in, and sheets are too small to fit the bed, so when you roll over at night the bottom sheet comes off, and half way through the night you have to get up and redo the bottom sheet or you get all wrapped up and tangled. The place does have Internet service, but it is basically dial-up if anyone still remembers what that was like, it was so painful, I just gave up. They offer like some kind of breakfast thing in the morning, but its just frozen waffles you put in the toaster, and some muffins, they had a juice machine, but it was frozen and did not work right. After one try at breakfast here, we went out to eat every morning there after.
This place reminds me of when I was in college, and we would all kick in a little money and 4 or 5 of us would split a room. If you are in college and broke this is perfect, if you are past that college stage in life, this is certainly not the place for you. This is a place to crash, nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TXDego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fountain
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2009

With what I paid for 3 nights it was still less than what one night would cost at the Springs Resort and the rooms were great! Staff made you feel at home, and listen to them on dining recomendations; Kip's, and Boss Hogs was great! While in Pagosa Springs go on some of the hike/mt. bike tours offered in the area!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vtx1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The room was slightly dated but clean, the location is OK (not really walking distance to the downtown core, although there are restaurants within walking distance). The property itself is on the river but surpriaingly there is nothing on the property to highlight this asset. There is a town walking path that parallels ths river if you want to take a short stroll. I didn't use the pool or hot tub and didn't partake in the very modest continental breakfast. Overall, it was average for what I paid.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a very bad experience with another local motel. Due to this we were looking for a motel in the middle of the night. The owner/manager said they could find us a room and that she would be waiting for us. When we got there after 10 PM she was very nice and even opened the hot tub special for us.

We didn't get up early enough the enjoy the breakfast, but the room was spotless and welcoming. The TV reception was good, the furniture and carpet were new. The room was quiet and comfortable. The refrigerator worked well, and the shower was a "real" shower. They made sure there was replacements for shampoo, etc. The hot tub was hot and there were always towels. The WiFi was fast and user friendly.

I don't know what more to say than they saved our weekend, even with all the rain. I would stay there again without a second thought. They treated us much nicer than anyplace else we have stayed. It is a gem!!!

There was access to a fishing area and an outside gazebo and area to relax and read or whatever (we didn't get to use due to the constant rain).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
551 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
208 reviews
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Inn of Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Inn of Pagosa

Property: First Inn of Pagosa
Address: 260 East Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Inn of Pagosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Inn of Pagosa is located along the banks of the San Juan River and in downtown Pagosa Springs, Colorado. Next to Wolf Creek Ski for perfect skiing or snowboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your First Inn of Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Pagosa Springs
First Hotel Of Pagosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing