We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal, great view”

Tequila's Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewed August 22, 2013

While on an extended road trip, we passed through Pagosa Springs and stopped to share a meal with good friends who were renting a house there for most of the summer. They recommended Tequilas Restaurant on the main drag (US 160). We sat outside on the balcony overlooking the San Juan River and the Hot Springs. We enjoyed watching river rafters and bathers in the hot springs, just across the river. We started with their regular margaritas which were very good and the salsa served with the crisp corn chips was unusually good. Our friends had the beef fajitas for two and my wife and I had the chicken fajitas for two. Our chicken was seasoned very well and the meal came with the usual rice and refried beans, Pico de Gallo, and a very generous helping of very good guacamole. It was a very good meal in a wonderful setting. Before we left a thunderstorm came up but we just sat, enjoyed the view, and visited with our friends until it was over. Even thought we were the last folks to leave the restaurant for lunch, we were never hurried or rushed by the staff. The fajitas for two were a little pricier than we were used to in Texas ($32.99) but they were also better than average and had very generous portions. It was a leisurely, very enjoyable meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaroonDawg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 352 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

The service was very good and the view across the San Juan river was perfect. Outside seating a must. Looking over Pagosas Hot Springs and the San Juan River. The food is Mexican and if you pick the right entrees you will find out. Guacamole was very good as where the chips. Large margaritas. Chicken fajitas hot and spicy . Chicken tacos very good. Right downtown with a great view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This restaurant obviously benefits from being right across a foot bridge from the Springs resort........it cannot possibly be busy for any other reason. We walked over from the Springs, in fact we actually walked around a little looking for another place to eat but could not find one for dinner, so ended up here. Waited 5+ minutes before someone came out and even acknowledged us. Asked to sit in one area because our daughter is in a wheelchair and the hostess rudely said "there is no server in this area" and kept walking. Seated us in a booth, leaving our daughter in the aisle. The busboy came over right away with water and chips and salsa, which was the best part of the meal. Before we ordered, I heard the booth next to us send their meal back because it was cold. Great. Finally a waiter came by and took our order. Got the food after a reasonable wait. It was, indeed, lukewarm and my chimi had half a container of sour cream on top. My husband said he has had better tacos at fast food, it looked like they used pre-formed shells and let it sit because one half was soggy and not holding together. The waiter neglected to fill either our iced tea or water until we were almost done eating (they were more than half way drank when he served the food). The prices were very high for what you received and the service was terrible. I would walk all over town before ever going to this place again. A shame, with the location and the view they should be excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacblack, Public Relations Manager at Tequila's Mexican Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. I do apologize the way your daughter was treated by a server. We have talked with our staff regarding this behavior. It is not acceptable. Regarding the food being warm, I would hope you would have sent it back if you were not satisfied when you were served. We could have replaced the meal. Our meals are made to order with no shells sitting. Your drinks should have been refilled in a more timely fashion. We hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Excellent, friendly Service! We didn't have to wait, immediately sat at our table on the patio. The evening view overlooking the river was nice. Great tasting food. Everyone is so pleasant and welcoming.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food was good, the service as well. We ordered flavored margaritas which were excellent! The restaurant has a view on the Springs. If you don't like the smell of sulfur which emanates from the hot Springs, don't eat outside!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tequila's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tequila's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing