We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Skiing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Inn & Cabins
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Spring Skiing”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were looking for a moderately priced place to rest our weary skied out legs and we're pleasantly surprised. The Fireside Inn lives up to its reputation as advertised on it's website and through online reviews. Our cabin was clean, quaint and just what we expected. The weather was unusually warm during the day and cool in the evenings (no snow on the ground) so we were able to hang out on the front porch for some wine and cheese and enjoy the Spring runoff as we were situated along the river. For this trip we elected to prepare our meals at the cabin which included griling steaks with the Weber Kettle charcoal grill provided to each cabin. There really is only one supermarket in Pagosa Springs, at the far west end (in case you are wondering), that is stocked very nicely, including one time use bags of self starting charcoal. The hot tub was very nice with a semi-sheltered building containing the tub, be prepared in the winter for a brisk short walk. The cabins are dog friendly and the facility is horse friendly. Wi-Fi did not work in our cabin (we were the furthest away from the main building), however the signal was fine on the porch. The cabins provide a little rustic charm with modern convenience. Moderately priced with a great location. We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter. RIverside cabins offer the noise of the San Juan, if you leave the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jagz_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
67
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in the cabins for 3 nights and had a blast. They are close to town but far enough away that you still feel like you're in the country. We took the dogs and they loved walking around the river. I would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al_vanert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I spent our Christmas and New Year's vacation at this cabin! When we researched it, we read many great reviews and viewed plenty of pictures. However, this place is even more spectacular in person and the peace and serenity that surrounds the riverside cabin made for a very romantic getaway. The cabin was clean and the kitchenette appliances were in excellent condition. The staff are extremely helpful and they will make sure you are given a map of the area as well as some great coupons to use during your visit. The laundry facilities are very clean and open at convenient hours which allows for you to sight see all you want or ski till you drop. The hot tub is also open at convenient hours so you can close your evening with a nice relaxing activity.

The price for the rental was very reasonable and we will definitely come back. I would recommend these cabins for any season. They are conveniently located to local spas and surrounding resorts. Great place to spend some quality fun time with your significant other! Since it was just my husband and I, we were worried that we would have gotten bored or run out of places to visit. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We met some wonderful people staying at the cabins as well as during out visits to Wolf Creek, Ouray, Lake City, Creede, and Telluride among just a few places we visited.

So, on your first visit, plan at least a week so that you can identify the many various places and activities you can participate. Then, schedule long weekends to focus on the places one at a time. Trust me, you and your loved one will have a blast and your vacation will be so fulfilling. Hope to see you there!

Room Tip: These cabins are equipped to fit various sized groups. I would recommend a riverside cabin. These...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolltide424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

A friend and I wanted to get it away from it all for a long, just the girls (and dogs) weekend. We picked the perfect spot with Fireside Inn. Diane, the owner, could not have been more welcoming or hospitable to us or our two dogs. Upon arrival, we were given a dog welcome bag with treats and towels to wipe their paws, if needed. The two bedroom cabin was immaculate and cozy. The kitchen allowed us to easily prepare full breakfasts. Each day we didn't leave the cabin until 11am because we enjoyed just hanging out there. The area along the river was a perfect place for the dogs to play in the snow. With the discounted tickets offered at the front desk, we enjoyed an afternoon at the Hot Springs. Diane also lent us her snowshoes which we used to frolic in the San Juan Forest before enjoying the hot springs. My friend and I decided we must return to Fireside Inn once every season. No doubt, we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FantaSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Friends from Chicago wanted to stay at a comfortable place, after skiing Wolf Creek. I searched online and phoned the Fireside and spoke with Diane, the owner. After doing my research, and speaking with Diane, I reserved a three night stay at Fireside. WOW!!!! What a cool place to stay! We had a really nice and comfortable, rustic 2-bedroom cabin with a franklin stove to keep us toasty and a nice little kitchen to prepare light meals. Very warm inside at night and very comfortable beds. Go into the hit tub just before bedtime and you will sleep like a baby. Diane and Jodi are very welcoming and they did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. And they even give out discounted tickets to the Hot Springs downtown. Very nice cabins and very friendly people. We will come back for sure. Will NEVER stay at the Hot Springs Resort again!!!!

Room Tip: Very quiet and cozy cabins even with neighbors right next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Although the title would generally be a large drawback for me and keep me from staying, these little cabins are quite nice. They are built down off the road and turned just enough that once inside, the highway isn't noticeable. They're just outside of Pagosa on the East side of town, which is the side you want if skiing Wolfcreek. Very clean and cozy! Take your own paper towels for the kitchenette. I'll stay again next time we hit the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We just got back from vacation and I couldn't wait to write my review of the Fireside Inn Cabins. First, the grounds are beautiful. We didn't arrive until the evening and some of the Pine Trees had twinkling lights in them. There was snow on the ground, it was just picture perfect! The location is perfect, just outside of town on the way to Wolf Creek.. So after a long day of skiing, this is one of the first lodging places you come to!

We stayed in a 1 bedroom with my husband, 10 year old son and I. We had plenty of room.We had plenty of towels, and linens including extra blankets. The cabin had a kitchenette including dishes, cups and glasses. We had cable TV and a wonderful gas stove for heating the cabin. We enjoyed the hot tub several times (there was never anyone else in there, so it was like our own private tub)

The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable and comfortable. I actually hurt my knee skiing and they offered me Advil without me even asking. Very nice. We travel to Pagosa Springs at least once per year and I know we will stay here from now on. One tip, we found out that Pagosa Peeks (pizza restaurant) delivers to the cabins and the pizza is excellent!

Thank you so much to the entire staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 109. It's a 1 bedroom but it's the very last cabin on the lot overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
2.3 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
558 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
5.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
635 reviews
0.7 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
123 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Cabins

Property: Fireside Inn & Cabins
Address: 1600 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-9740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Pagosa Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1&2 Bedroom Cabins, Modern and Fully Equipped on 10Acres of Property bordered by the San Juan River. 1-Mile East of Downtown Pagosa Hot Springs, toward Wolf Creek Pass Ski area and 3-Miles to Pagosa Golf. Excellent private river fishing in your backyard. Nicely landscaped. Individual living areas with gas fireplace, bedroom(s), kitchen, bathroom, private sitting porch with a BBQ grill area just off the porch. WIFI - Phone - Cable TV Tented recreation area with fire ring & horse shoe pits, near the river. Guest Facilities: Laundry - Hot Tub - Horse Corrals available. Ample parking and turnaround for horse, ATV & snowmobile trailers. Open Year Round - Offering discount Hot Springs Passes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fireside Inn & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing