We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Springs are overrated”

The Springs Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A family-friendly hot springs resort in the heart of Pagosa Springs Colorado. Offering 23 individual soaking pools of varying temperatures terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River. 100% naturally therapeutic mineral water. All our pools are fed by the Guinness record holder for the World's Deepest Geothermal Hot Spring. Included are a swimming pool, wading pool for the tots, waterfall and jetted tubs. Our Bath House is open to the public year-round and offers changing rooms, lockers, showers, and gift shop. Hours: 7AM - 11PM Clothing mandatory. Lodging and full service spa available on-site, our hotel guests have 24-hour soaking privileges.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Springs are overrated”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you have ever been to natural hot springs in the woods or strawberry hot springs in steamboat, you will be disappointed. These are basically hot tubs with mineral water piped in. There are tons of tubs but unfortunately it just seems like you are in hot tubs surrounded b y restaurants and other establishments. We could see the tequilas Mexican restaurant across the river with its bright lights... That dint help the ambiance. In addition, they don't do a great job of salting the concrete and at temperatures below freezing once the sun sets, the concrete ices over. Both me nd my husband slipped and fell pretty badly. And we never saw warning signs or heard any advice from the attendants. Be very careful going from one tub to the next, it's slippery out there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelledmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa and would like to address your concerns. There are benefits and drawback to being in the very heart of a small mountain town. Convenience to local shopping and restaurants is lovely, but you can also see them. On the other hand, our many soaking pools are terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River and the view of the Mountains and the sunset is lovely.

We routinely salt and gravel the walkways throughout the pool areas and site property. Our management and staff has been notified that ice was a reported issue and we have asked our staff to check the conditions more frequently and to remind our visitors to use caution when moving from pool to pool. We have posted a photo of the current cautionary signs throughout the property, but would love your ideas on how to improve signage. Feel free to contact us at management@pagosahotsprings.com so we can speak about the details of your visit. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    236
    79
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque, new mexico
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Hot Springs”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We only went to their hot tubs/springs, followed advise of others: bring towels, flip flops and robe to save $17. Did not see any other portion of the hotel. Would return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tritons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort Bath House. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every visit a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, relaxing, clean and tidy.”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

A fairly unique hot springs location, well laid out, reasonable price, nice break after a day's skiing. The website describes it accurately, I would go again, but its not my thing to spend hours in water.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort Bath House. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every visit a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Irony in the Hot Springs”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Pricy but relaxing visit for me and my daughters & niece. My wife is disabled. It is ironic for springs claiming to be therapeutic that the best they could do for accessibility is the disabled parking spot at the front door. There are steps all over the facility with 10-20 just to get to the main level. There is no wheelchair elevator or ramps. Some of the pools do have handrails. I'd like to see more done to improve accessibility: a discount since only a couple of pools are accessible, a lift, spring-friendly wheelchair access or even a lounge in which to wait for able-bodied guests.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We're glad you enjoyed the therapeutic mineral water soaking pools. We strive to be a handicap accessible natural hot spring resort. Our bath house does offer handicap accessible entry to the main level pools via a side entrance and we now have handrails on all pools. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on the areas where we can improve our accommodations and service. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
“A Destination Spot for the Weary of Heart”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is one of the nicest hot spring resorts we have ever experienced anywhere in the U.S. Geologists have yet to find a bottom to the hot springs which are considered the deepest in the world! The energy here is very high, yet peaceful. If you are looking for a healing resort this is THE place! There are private pools for resort guests which are not open to the public included in the price of your room. The many public pools are open air, of various temperatures, well-kept, clean, and very beautiful. There are even pools right by the river with pristine mountainous scenery all around. There are massage therapists on staff. You will find yourself wanting to go to sleep very early and take frequent rest breaks to rejuvenate. I can't say enough about this place and highly recommend you do yourself a favor and make Pagosa Springs your next destination spot.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort Bath House. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every visit a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Springs Resort & Spa also viewed

 

Been to The Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing