We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The rooms themselves are nothing to write home about necessarily, but the facilities more than make up for it. Do not get me wrong, the rooms are not horrible, just a little overpriced for what you get. The pools and the spa however are top notch, and overall the experience there was phenomenal!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dimpprob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,461 - 3,467 of 3,546 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

I was expecting a high class experience from looking at the website, but it was horrible! Room smelled like sulfur, and it was hard to breathe! Tiny rooms also. For $300?? Not worth it. The staff were rude to my friends and I, and we left after the first night, excited to leave. The city isnt exactly relaxing either... water is cold.. creepy feeling. Plus, to get in the room you were outside, not ideal. Heater barely worked.. dont go.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Court2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on our guests individual experiences. We have made updates and changes to improve our accommodations and service since your stay. While the mineral-rich waters from the Pagosa "Mother Spring" are very therapeutic, there is a high sulfur content and unfortunately, there is not much we can do about the smell. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were here on a Sunday-Monday off season in April and stayed in the "deluxe" section. We found the service great, the hotsprings fantastic, the rooms ok. I think you are paying more for the pools and the access 24/7 than the room.

CHECK IN
We called on the road to check on a room. Unfortunately they were completely sold out on Saturday night so we stopped close by, and booked a night for Sunday ($199 King deluxe). Check in time is 4:00 or when the rooms are ready, but you can come as early as you want the day of check in (after 7:00 AM), and spend the time at the pools until your room is ready.

We ended up arriving at 11:00 AM, were given wristbands at check in, and then free towels and free lockers at the bathhouse until our room was ready. They also offered to call our cell when our room was ready. So we soaked for a while and then had lunch in town about 1 PM. Our room was ready at 2 PM. We had great service at check in.

ROOM
Our room was a deluxe king. There are three separate buildings for the rooms. One is the "standard" ... very much motel. The "deluxe" ... a two story motel-type building (outside entrance to rooms) ... and the "eco-luxury" newer part which is a "hotel" with inside access to the rooms/suites. We looked at the new eco-luxury part and it has a very nice lobby area with an upscale lodge feel that you would find in ski resorts etc.

Included with our deluxe room was 24/7 access to the pools including the newer 5 "adult-only pools" and fire pit. Robes for the pool were included too. Room was large, but a little dated. Did have kitchenette with micro, mini fridge, sink, dishes, utensils etc.
Bed was comfortable

Bathroom had good assortment of complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, bath gel, sewing kit, shower cap), Counter space plus plenty of drawers if staying for a while. Towels were large enough but a little bit rough.

Amenities other than those mentioned above included iron, hair dryer, tv, free wireless (worked fine).

POOLS (THE HOTSPRINGS)

These are obviously the whole reason for staying here. There are 18 pools in the main area, plus 5 "adult only" pools available to deluxe or luxury hotel guests (or extra charge for others). Wide range of temps (88 F to 114 F when we were there ... they take temps and change the signs indicating temps every hour). Some with waterfalls which are great for a back massage. Lots of recliners for relaxing or reclining as well. There also is a regular " swimming pool" that isn't fed from the hotsprings for swimming.

I would do the math and figure out if it is worth it to stay right on site and have 24/7 access to all the pools. Remember that if you just do a visitor pass, once you leave the premises, you cannot reenter. So if you want to be able to come and go at will, booking a room makes sense. We soaked from 11-1 first today, left for lunch, soaked 3-5, had dinner, soaked 7-9. Woke up early and soaked throughout the morning. So for us it was a great bargain to be able to come and go. It depends on your schedule and what else you are planning on doing.

I would never pay $199 for the room we had if we only had time for a couple hours at the pools. But being able to utilize the pools for two days and being able to come and go at will was worth it.

RESTAURANT/FOOD
No restaurant on premises, you can walk across the river on a footbridge to a few restaurants across the river and downtown. Or can drive to a few others on either end of town. There apparently is a small snack bar open in summer by the pools, but was closed when we were there. Other than that only a couple vending machines for food while in the pool/hotsprings area.

There is a bar in the new eco-lux hotel on premises (only for hotel guests). Remember they don't allow any alcholic drinks or glass in the actual hot springs/pool area. The lobby also has complimentary juice/coffee/tea for hotel guests throughout the day and evening.

One other note, a few restaurants were closed on Sunday, along with almost all of the stores downtown.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time here. Don't expect "luxury" in the deluxe or standard rooms (although the new eco-lux area is much more upscale), but you will get a great value on the fantastic hot springs pools, if you are planning on using them often.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank izzyblizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This hotel is way overpriced and overrated. We reserved a deluxe room with two queen sized beds, and when we arrived they only had a room with a king bed and a hide a bed. if the hide a bed was comfortable i probably would not complain but it was horrible. Also the octagonal shaped window with the 24 hour flood light made it impossible to darken the room. The front desk lady was sassy when we asked why they screwed up our reservation and offered us no concessions. The pools are nice but could be enjoyed staying in other less expensive lodgings. I've stayed in nicer rooms at a motel 6, for $40, for a $316 room charge i would have gotten better sleep in my car.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunburned-gringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on our guests individual experiences. We have made updates and changes to improve our accommodations and service since your stay. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Worst hotel in our 30 day trip. Room was dated, soiled carpet and sofa, highly overpriced at $199 for "deluxe" room. They have several additions to the resort. We stayed in the older section. If you must experience this resort then stay in the newest addition which is very nice, but don't expect excellent customer service from the hotel front desk. Very very rude hotel front desk staff and supervisor. On the plus side the hot spring pools were very nice and relaxing. If you can't stay in the newest section then stay in another local hotel and pay the daily fee to enter the hot springs at The Springs Resort. The rooms were not ventilated properly and too close to the springs. The strong stench of sulpher (rotten eggs) stunk up the room all night long. After soaking in the spings is was in more physical pain than before I visited the spings. I guess mineral springs is not for everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on our guests individual experiences. We have made updates and changes to improve our accommodations and service since your stay. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

We stayed two nights at the Springs resort. Mostly we had a good time. The best features:
1. THE POOLS. 16 different pools with varying temps, lovely views of the town, mountains, San Juan river (which you can jump in if you're brave enough for the cold). They are regularly cleaned, If staying at the resort, you can go in 24 hours. There's an adults only section if you want to get away from kids. Gets a little busy during day hours, but is WONDERFUL early in the a.m. It was 20 degrees outside and we still got in the pools and loved it.
2. The rooms: We stayed in a mini apartment. It was clean and we had a well stocked kitchenette with newer appliances. The furniture was a little older but clean... no objections there. Our kingsized bed was comfortable, but the kids were on a very uncomfortable sofa bed. Neither one slept hardly at all.
3. Service was good; the staff is very attentive. We had crazy loud neighbors one night... the staff asked next time that we call so they could "take care of it." They provided recommendations for food and other things that were spot on.
4. It seemed pricey but if you are going to use the pools, this is the only way to do it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COSpgsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Really enjoyed the new rooms in the Ecolux addition to the property. They are 1st rate and very comfortable. Having the private access to the new pools was a great bonus - thanks for a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatterHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.5 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
600 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
664 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
211 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 165 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: $189 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hot springs resort in the heart of Pagosa Springs Colorado. Offering 23 individual soaking pools of varying temperatures terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River. 100% naturally therapeutic mineral water. All our pools are fed by the Guinness record holder for the World's Deepest Geothermal Hot Spring. Included are a swimming pool, wading pool, waterfall and jetted tubs.  The Springs has various room types for our overnight guests, options range from budget to luxury lodging. Photos of each room type from Classic and Deluxe, to our Mountain and Signature Suites are available on our website. Rooms are a great value as they include many additional perks such as 24-hour access to the hot springs, Platinum passes for 2 days (arrival and departure day until 6,) complimentary access to our 5 Relaxation Terrace (18+) soaking tubs, upgraded towels, and plush robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Pagosa Springs
Springs Hotel Pagosa
Springs Pagosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing