We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite a 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not quite a 4 star”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in a Turret Suite. While I thought overall the room was nice, it was in need of some maintenance that, in my opinion, prevents this property from receiving anywhere near a 4 star self imposed rating. Among the issues I saw was some water damage on the lower bathroom molding, a bathroom door that was sticking due to building setteling, an air conditioner unit that made a loud bang when it cycled off its cooling mode, and water damage to the night stand that is causing the laminate to buckle. Our suite was in their new Eco building so these situations shouldn't exist which indicates that management does not have an active maintenance program.

As for the pools, we found them very nicely arranged and managed. While they advertise in excess of 20 pools to choose from at different temperatures, we do not like to go into water greater than 105 and many were in excess of that and even inexcess of 111. Simply too hot to enjoy yourself. That left for us only 3-4 pools to enjoy. We did buy food and beer from their small hut which I thougth was reasonably priced. Since we were guest at the hotel, we didn't pay a cover to enter the pools which are too high in price at $27 for non-guests. I suspect they are gaming the local hotels by charging so much for access to the pools to close any gaps between the room prices. It doesn't take much to close the gap between what you may think is a cheaper alternative at $27 a person, especailly if you brought family.

The staff was supportive a pleasant and expressed a honest concern if we were enjoying ourselves. They had a nice towel exchange in the lobby which always ensured we had clean towels. Since we stayed in a suite, it wasn't clear if that exchange service was avaialble to everyone.

There were people who complained of the rotten egg smell which is due to the natural sulfur in the water. I actually beleive they managed it well but there are places on the property where it is unavoidable. Anyone who has been to a natural spring understands this is normal.

One day when we were in the lobby we asked for a small bottle of water that the desk agent handed to us with a smile. Two days later we were told it cost $1 to purchase. While I was impressed with their hospitality the first time, it quickly evaporated when they wanted to charge $1 for a bottle of water that cost them less than 25 cents, especially when we paied in excess of $300 for a night for the room. Really felt they were being cheap. I don't think two instances where we asked for water over a 4 day stay was excessive or taking advantage of their generousity.

They have a few firepits around the property that are really nice and enviting. Unfortunately, we didn't want to sit after soaking with wet suits and by the time we managed to dry off in our room, we never went back down to enjoy the pit. However, I give them an A+ for such nice and inviting firepits. It seemed those who did partake were enjoying themselves warming by the fire. Since the temperature during our stay was very warm at night, only a few people were seated but I suspect as the temperature drops, the popularity of these spaces increases. We saw a large on near their Eco building and another more conveniently located near the pools.

I think if management could focus on both their hotel and pool with more attention to detail, they may very well receive a credible 4 star rating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa. Thank you for letting us know about your issues during your stay. Please contact us at management@pagosahotsprings.com so we can speak about the details of your stay and we had maintenance do a sweep of the room you stayed in. We do provide guests bottled water in their room and at check in, though we apologies if you feel it was unreasonable that you were charged one dollar for additional bottled water. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the therapeutic mineral water at The Springs Resort. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on the areas where we can improve our accommodations and service. We'd like to thank you for your review and we hope you consider joining us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,894
    739
    329
    138
    110
See reviews for
1,082
1,621
74
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked an overnight stay here not knowing much about the hot springs or the resort itself. We had two little ones in tow, both under the age of two as well as grandma and grandpa traveling with us. We were looking for a place that had lodging that would accommodate all of our needs as well as be kid friendly. The Springs Resort and Spa had a Suite called the Pueblo that offered each of us our own rooms as well as space for the kiddos. When we opened the door to our "room" we were pleasantly surprised as it was the size of a two bedroom apartment with a fully furnished kitchen and huge bathroom! The little ones loved having direct access to grandma and grandpa's room. Parking was right outside of the room which helped with all of our baby gear we needed to travel with.

The employees were very friendly and helpful. We arrived quite early and needed something to do for the kids. The front desk assisted us in getting checked in even though our room was not ready and offered us a phone call on our cell to notify us when we could pick up the keys. To help pass the time the clerk set us up for the pools and off we headed to have some fun while waiting! They also provided us with free waters for everyone in our party to keep hydrated and robes for the little ones.

The springs themselves were absolutely gorgeous! They have over twenty pools to soak in ranging in various ranges. I wished I had known of this place when I was pregnant as many of the pools would have been cool enough I could have accessed them with no problems (something I very much missed during this time). They have a great kids pool that our little ones loved! They also have a walking "bridge" that cuts through a non swimming spring that contains several gold fish and is back dropped by the hot springs formations. The best part was that for guests staying at The Springs Resort and Spa was 24 hour access to the pools which was absolutely serene and stunning at 2:00 AM!

We wished we could have stayed longer as everyone in our party had an absolutely wonderful time!

Room Tip: The suites were big enough to share with another couple or family members. This is why we selected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaS33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort hotel. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We did a surprise visit to Pagosa Springs. My boyfriend planned it in the middle of a long road trip.

We ere greeted at The Front desk with great, enthusiastic employees who were very helpful especially because we had our baby(dog) with us.

I headed to the Spa right away and they were able to get me in for a facial and massage within an hour. The manager, Rachel, helped me try on several swim suits, as I didn't bring one and she was so kind, honest and really carrying. When I returned, she remembered my name and she gave me a hot towel with Lavender while I was waiting that was very classy. There was a younger gal helping too and she was nice as well. The massage from David was out of this world as Rachel said it would be and my facial was done by a young girl with a name that begins with L. Sorry. She was young and amazing. I ended up spending all day in and out of The Spa and The Hot Springs. Even though I spent more money that I would have liked, I had the most relaxing day and left with darling dresses and a swimsuit.

We were so relaxed from the soaking tubs we crashed that evening! The rooms were nice for the price and the beds were also good. Man, the hot springs are as therapeutic as everyone tells you they are.

I thank my hubby for a wonderful surprise and I can't wait to tell everyone about this back in AZ.

See you soon! And thank you so much.

Room Tip: We had. Room for doggies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort hotel. We're glad you enjoyed the Spa experience you had with us and the the therapeutic mineral water at The Springs Resort. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It would almost be worth it to keep this prize a secret, so that those of us who already know about it can keep it ourselves. The spas are a remarkable piece of hydro-engineering, simply a beautiful use of nature. The design, landscaping, and location next to the San Juan River make it SO relaxing you won't want to leave. We've been avid patrons for well over a decade and keep coming back. The hotel is well appointed and they are constantly adding new features to make it even more comfortable. Shelly, at the resort front desk, treats us like family each and every time we are there; and she ALWAYS goes above and beyond to make each stay more memorable then the last. The entire staff is friendly and helpful, and they WORK to make your stay something you will want to repeat over and over again. Ask them about the 24hr spa access and second day admission to the spas; and where to walk to find the best local food. Bet you won't want to leave either!

Room Tip: Classic rooms have hallway access to the spas, nice during winter months.
See more room tips
Green Features: Water from the spa is returned to the river as was the case before the spas were constructed, and it was "just" a mineral spring running into the San Juan River. Heating is geo-thermal and the newest building has even more eco conscious features.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our family-owned resort hotel. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love this resort! The rooms are a little dated but still very nice and clean. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are quiet. The private entrance to the pools are what really make it worth it to stay here. The staff is very friendly and seem genuinely happy to be there and to provide guests with great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jehdfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We like to end our camping trips at the Springs Resort, such a great place to stay and relax. Our 16-year-old daughter says it is her favorite place on earth. Staying at the hotel is well worth the money, both for the luxury and two-day admission to the pools.

Room Tip: We have had a good experience no matter where our room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling across country in the car twice a year for the 5years. We try to stop at Pagosa Springs because we LOVE it there so much. On one of our first trips years ago, we stayed across the street at the Best Western at the time, what a learning experience. Never again, because we loved the opportunity to stay in the pools late or very early. Yes it's expensive and we have to budget for it but it's just amazing. The amount of pools have been growing over the years. It's hard to say which pool is the best because all of them are different. Fun swimming in the big pool last time.
Now, as far as the spa part of it, to be honest, the lady wasn't the kindest there, kind of snobby. I already look young as it is, but she just dismissed me when I asked her the availability and prices.
Other than the, people when you check in and out are fabulous!

Our furry dog daughter loves across the bridge. Lots of places to walk her.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffiest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our family owned resort hotel! It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.5 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
547 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort & Spa

Property: The Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 165 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hot springs resort in the heart of Pagosa Springs Colorado. Offering 23 individual soaking pools of varying temperatures terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River. 100% naturally therapeutic mineral water. All our pools are fed by the Guinness record holder for the World's Deepest Geothermal Hot Spring. Included are a swimming pool, wading pool, waterfall and jetted tubs.  The Springs has various room types for our overnight guests, options range from budget to luxury lodging. Photos of each room type from Classic and Deluxe, to our Mountain and Signature Suites are available on our website. Rooms are a great value as they include many additional perks such as 24-hour access to the hot springs, Platinum passes for 2 days (arrival and departure day until 6,) complimentary access to our 5 Relaxation Terrace (18+) soaking tubs, upgraded towels, and plush robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Pagosa Springs
Springs Hotel Pagosa
Springs Pagosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing