We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to eat”

Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to eat”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Boss Hoggs is the most popular restaurant in Pagosa Springs. The food is tasty and fresh. The salad bar is never old or wilted and has a decent variety for it's size (it's not huge but it has all the expected ingredients). If you are looking for beef this is the place, but their lemon chicken is really good! Free refills on beverages (nonalcoholic) . The staff are friendly and helpful, even though they can be a bit slow at times. It can get very busy, especially Sunday lunch. Even though it has a bar it's still family friendly because it's separated from the diners with a wall. You know it must be good when the locals AND the tourists make it their first choice each time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    180
    115
    67
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very busy place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The place always seems to be busy so people definitely like the restaurant. The ribs we had were good, not great but good. I enjoyed their salad bar and the small loaf of bread they delivered to our table. We have eaten here in the past and enjoy the place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank QCchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Everyone goes here so must be good but our prime rib was tough. Maybe the other items are better. They do have a salad bar and the place is close to the Wyndham

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank den979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wrong focus”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Boss Hogg's has an extensive (and phony) writeup about their history and tries to maintain an atmosphere of an old-timey restaurant. I would have had more fun if the food were more original. Nothing was done poorly, but nothing was done exceptionally well. I wish they had spent more on their menu and less on the facility.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Boffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Slightly more expensive for what it is. Check for happy hour.”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Two sandwiches with fries. One beer and a cola $32. Sandwiches very saucy too cheesey. One the philly melt was best outta the 2. Why cream cheese when there is tons of cheese already. Other sandwich was something pastrami (special.) Some sauce in there had a bite but tasted sour. Did not eat that one. Of course server was apoligetic but no attempt to make better. Im easy going but with a sensitive stomach. I was running for bathroom two days. This place I reccomend. Dont let my honesty detour you. It is a nice place I just didnt like the food. And to have to pay for it twice was not fun either. Family friendly..nope!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalebLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon also viewed

 
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Boss Hogg's Restaurant & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing