We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hooked on BBQ”

Smoken MOES Un-Real BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Monticello, Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hooked on BBQ”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

While spending a few days in Pagosa Springs, we read about Smoken Moe's. Reviews on Trip Advisor and another site piqued our interest, as my wife and I love BBQ.

When we arrived at the small, typical BBQ joint we were quickly greeted by the only waitress. The place was busy (5:45 PM, Monday) but the waitress was not stressed and was very good at her job.

We ordered sliced brisket, pork ribs and chicken. All of which had the perfect amount of smoke and tenderness. Flavors were delicious. The pork ribs, while tender and tasty, were pretty dry.

I also tried a cup of their green chili. WOW! That was worth the trip all on its own! Great.

We will certainly revisit this place when we return to Pagosa Springs.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    18
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kids choice”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The service was good but the brisket was too smoky, portions were small, location was close to the condo

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanore J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed on Weekends?”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

On a recommendation from someone that lived in Pagosa Springs, we were excited to try this restaurant. Upon arrival, we found that it was closed on weekends?? Left feeling disappointed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AZGIRLandGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Paula, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Ole' Bar-b-Que”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

If you want a good bar-b-que lunch or dinner, try Smokin Moes. They give generous portions and friendly service in this family atmosphere. Be sure to try it if you are in Pagosa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We like it.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

They do have good BBQ at a not too expensive pricing. The menu has a good variety to choose from. You can get a salad with meat trio, pulled pork, brisket slices or pulled brisket, and more. Great place for lunch if you are on your lunch hour, they are usually pretty quick. The one negative thing is one of the waitresses, unfortunately she can be rude which we all know makes someone not want to go back (we try to ignore her attitude). The other waitresses are nice. It is a good place to eat. There is a small outdoor seating area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pagosa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smoken MOES Un-Real BBQ also viewed

Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Smoken MOES Un-Real BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing