We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good take-out pizza, but stressed under pressure”
Review of Marconi's

Marconi's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good take-out pizza, but stressed under pressure”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We chose Marconi's based on TripAdvisor reviews but couldn't make a reservation with fewer than five people and opted not to wait 60-75 minutes for a table for three on a Saturday night at 6:30 pm. When we asked the two young hostesses about whether we could order something to go, they were clearly stressed out on a busy night (one in particular was pretty abrupt, when we asked her how long the wait would be for a table), but told us it was possible to order pizza only. Since that was what we wanted, we opted to do so - but we were told it would be an hour's wait even to get a pizza. Decided to do it anyway, checking in to our hotel and returning to pick up our order, though we didn't realize at the time that Marconi's is almost 5 miles west of downtown Pagosa Springs - so we made an extra 10-mile round trip. Our pizza was very good, and we might return on a less busy night to try a table-service meal at the restaurant given all the raves, but the stressed-out greeting we got sure didn't give the best first impression.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    59
    36
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Great place for Girls Nigt Out”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My girlfriends and I love this place for GNO because the food is good, the staff is welcoming and they are willing to give separate checks, even splitting the cost of a bottle of wine if you ask. Because they do not take reservations and are so popular, you need to come early – certainly before 5 p.m. on weekends and holidays – to get in without a wait (and to be seated in the comfortable booths).

Our ladies group likes to share one of the two bread appetizers, and then enjoy a pasta dish and/or pizza -- usually shrimp fettuccini and the three-cheese pizza. The small pizzas are so large that they easily feed two. The entrees (e.g., pasta, not pizza) come with a delicious salad in a large wooden salad bowl you toss and serve yourself. Manager Mark is a very visible presence, circulating among the tables to be sure everyone is well taken care of. He’s also responsible for the unique margaritas they serve. Server Courtney always takes good care of us.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Food was far beyond our expectations. Server was very polite. The owner visited us three times to make sure we were satisfied, and confirm we enjoyed our dinners. Plan on returning very soon!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank whartonmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockdale,Tx
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere,good food, excellent service.”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The portions were large and the food was very tastey. The 20oz Marcorita and the tiramasu were great. The staff was friendly and the owner concerned about his customers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SAnnWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is amazing! The food is incredible....it melts in your mouth just like mom would make. The service is great and the atmosphere is very comfortable. The osso bucco is fantastic. Cant wait for another visit to Marconis!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick2959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marconi's also viewed

 
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Marconi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing