We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Take Out Din”

Shanghai Chinese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Take Out Din”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late that evening. We were road weary, tired and mucho hungry. We asked locals for recommendations and we heard": Shanghai". Our cashier at City Market reported " There isn't a better place". Then she told us " their egg drop soup is THE best. My daughter always wants to eat hers then mine". We delighted in their egg rolls. They were fresh, crispy,light & full of flavor. There was almost a flora essence and taste. The combo egg foo young was loaded with flavor, plenty of meat/fish and sooo perfectly good! Shrimp, scallops and egg sauce was the other choice that was well prepared and simply delicious. Rice was hot, tasty and so well done.
The owners could not have been more gracious nor thankful. We love this place. We wish we could enjoy the menu more often. We left with such a warm sense that we had been served by folks who were culinary artists who cared about preparing a great dinner for us./ Special? Yeah, we felt special.
Enjoy. Enjoy! =Enjoy!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeTravelersNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fresh food reminded me of overseas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Went with my wife when we walked in I looked at her said "it smells good" and we were not disappointed.
Very friendly and fun atmosphere I especially liked how us (tourists) and looked like locals by the way there baby was being sung to...great voice by the way.
The food was awesome fresh and hot....I have eaten overseas on tours and this is by far the best I've had in awhile....actually tasted like MA cooked it.....loved it will be back again......go you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank AaronGoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Co
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“It was us (tourists) and the rest locals. Good Sign!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were reassured to see the number of locals eating here and carrying out the whole time we were there including police and a local business group. The staff was very friendly, the price was a great value for a tourist community. THANKS! We'll be back, if we ever get through the leftovers from the above average serving sizes. TIP: share dishes and don't order one for everyone, they are amply sized.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txyz
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice family asian restaurant in Pagosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were staying in the far west end of Pagosa on a recent ski trip and discovered this nice little family run asian restaurant on a backstreet that seems mostly frequented by locals. The food was tasty and plentiful, the service good and the atmosphere was laid back and fun with lots of conversation all around. The kind of place you can go to in your jeans or even your ski wear straight off the mountain if you want. A good option if you are staying in the west side of town and dont want to make the drive downtown to the more touristy area to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank txyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great! Great! Great! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

GET THE PU PU PLATTER!! It will give you an indication of how wonderful everything else is!!! The portions are huge and everyone in my family has a big appetite! The waitress was very friendly and helpful. We will be back the next time we are in Pagosa!!

Helpful?
Thank Miranda_Jarod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Shanghai Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing