We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inviting atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The BackRoom Wine Bar - CLOSED

The BackRoom Wine Bar
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The BackRoom Wine Bar is the last addition to the family of restaurants by Todd and Kellie Stevens. The Alley House and Farrago have been tripadvisor's top picks for Pagosa Springs for some time now and The Backroom is soon to be as well. It features "small plates", awesome wines and local micro brews. With cozy indoor seating and an outdoor fire pit it is the perfect place to chill and chat with friends and loved ones.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“inviting atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

cozy wine bar in the heart of downtown Pagosa. Good wine's, and wonderful tapas menu..Cameron, BackRoom's manager, is there with a welcoming smile and the answer to your "what should I try" questions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Pagosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I love the Backroom Wine Bar. The food is great. Try the Lamborghini artisan pizza, Tuna Nicoise, Spanish Nachos or Corn Fritters. Wines are great. Half glasses and full glasses. They have beer too. Great staff. Great ambiance.

Helpful?
1 Thank LHG-Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Delightful wine tastings make for a very special evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The monthly wine tastings hosted by Cameron, manager of the Backroom Wine Bar, are special in several ways. She limits her guests to 15 so the mood is intimate. She includes an elegant tray of cheeses, meats and/or fish (last night an incredible smoked salmon), fruit and mixed nuts with bread or rolls for a light supper – courtesy of Justin, chef of sister restaurant Farragos – that pairs beautifully with the wines selected for that evening. And she brings in wine experts who are knowledgeable, enthusiastic and personable throughout their teach-and-taste presentations (last evening Erin being a prime example as we sampled four Burgundy wines).

The pours are generous so you really feel you’ve tasted enough to learn about the various wines you sample. Interestingly, most of the presenters are not retail wine salespeople so there is no sales pitch to buy. The cost is a reasonable $25-30 pp, with RSVPs required as they almost always sell out.

Cameron hopes demand will grow so she can host two wine tastings a month in the future. They have become a regular and very popular date night event for us, and we highly recommend you try a tasting (or two) as well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The perfect wine and tapas experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This little out-of-the-way spot is so worth seeking out. Great for just a simple glass of wine with a friend or to make a meal out of the wonderful array of tapas on their menu. The wine list has such lovely variation and the staff is so knowledgeable about each wine they serve. We enjoyed the "private" feel of this little place and will definitely be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unexpected Excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Visiting my cousin/husband in Pagosa Springs, CO, we went to check this new little gem (literally BEHIND) a bustling family restaurant. Their wine selection was surprisingly eclectic with a good variety of quality names and new discoveries. The by-the-glass list was long enough that THIS wine love took longer than usually to select a big red. The FULL POUR was not the typical "hope-they-get-another-round" (not enough.) Rather, they gave us a substantial amount of the nectar of the gods. In the "other room" they offer a olive oil and flavored vinegar tasting bay. We bought a couple and enjoyed them for dinner, back at the "cabin." BackRoom Wine Bar will be on top of my list on my next visit to Pagosa Springs. My cousins, who are there for five months, are planning to become regulars. Great decor, comfortable variety of seating: bar, tables, and couch. They also have a great menu of tapas, pizzas, etc. for warmer weather (we were there 26 Dec '13) they have a large outdoor seating area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNairWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The BackRoom Wine Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing