We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT THE SKI RESORT/ WOLF CREEK PASS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wolf Creek Ski Resort

Wolf Creek Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This little-known ski resort boasts the highest snowfall totals in all of Colorado.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
new jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“NOT THE SKI RESORT/ WOLF CREEK PASS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Do yourself a favor and pull in at the Wolf Creek Pass Exhibit off 160. We hiked part of the Continental Divide when hiking this trail. It's considered a moderate hike but it wore us out!We hiked about 2 hrs in and about 1 /1/2 out. It was fun, challenging and we saw only 3 other hikers the entire time. The hike takes you past the ski lifts and into some beautiful lightly explored wilderness. You can continue for as long as you want..... two hrs was plenty for my wife and me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    134
    32
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monument CO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Colorado's Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Highest snowfall of any ski area in CO with highest base and TONS of powder. Tough to get to in bad weather. Colder than most of the other ski areas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Added terrain and some steeps = great day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It is a bit of a drive from northern New Mexico, and with Taos ski valley almost outside my door, why would I go to Wolf Creek, right? But Wolf Creek is really fun, with lots of terrain, much more snow generally per season than Taos, and some nice steep terrain right under the main lift to the top, with generally very good snow conditions there on that north facing slope. Pretty laid back place to ski, with very good snow conditions and lots of powder skiing after one of their frequent storms.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A medium size ski area that caters to skiers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been skiing at Wolfie for over 40 years. It is our favorite local area. The service is good, the food is good, the prices are right and it is only a 20 miles drive. This is not a resort to rival Aspen or Vail however the snow here is the best and most plentiful in Colorado. You can always count an early season trip to Wolf Creek. Think Snow.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Skiing!! Lots of Powder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I love it when we arrive and hate it when we have to leave. After a day of skiing you want to go soak at the Springs Resort, It helps you get your legs back. Also watch out for the Colorado HWY Patrol. They are really sneaky!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Byron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Creek Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Creek Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing