We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome before Christmas”

Wolf Creek Ski Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This little-known ski resort boasts the highest snowfall totals in all of Colorado.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome before Christmas”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Just too crowded due to lack of snow everywhere else.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    136
    34
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, CO
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great family spon”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I live about 20 miles from here and ski here often. I love it. It's not a big mountain but it's enough for me and I've skied at a lot of different places. No overnight lodging, strictly a day-use area. Privately owned and very friendly and reasonable

Helpful?
2 Thank carynps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great snow and trails with no crowds; poor signage on trails”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We enjoyed four days of skiing at this mid-size ski area which is located 23 miles from Pagosa Springs, CO and 18 miles from South Fork, CO. There is no lodging at the ski area. Wolf Creek states it has 7 lifts; in actuality 2 of those are for the bunny slopes and another is non-operational. So, 4 lifts are running. There were no lift lines, even on a Sunday that offered discounted lift tickets for college students. Lift ticket prices are very reasonable. Wolf Creek boasts it has the most annual snowfall in Colorado, and in fact when we were there the mid-mountain base was 52" and the same measurement at other Colorado and New Mexico resorts was 15-33". Even though it hadn't snowed in 3 weeks, the trails had good snow and were well maintained. Most runs seem to be groomed daily, although there is no daily "groomed trails" report. The base area has a cafeteria and a separate building ("Base Camp") for brown-baggers. We loved the fact that bringing in our own food, coolers, and drinks was not frowned upon and even encouraged. This "Base Camp" building is large and sells reasonably priced drinks and snacks. It is a great place to rest and recuperate before hitting the slopes again. All concessions at the ski area take cash only. Credit cards can only be used for lift tickets, ski rentals, and in the ski shop. The one area that needs definite improvement is the signage on the trails. The signage is poor as compared with other ski areas. There are absolutely no enlarged trail maps at the top of each lift, as is customary at other ski areas. We skied down two groomed intermediate trails that without warning changed into fairly steep, long mogul fields with no "bail out" opportunity. One intermediate trail that we took ended in a parking lot, requiring us to walk back to the base area; the trail had a name but did not indicate in any way that it ended on concrete away from the base area. Other than this signage problem, we really loved the ski area!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Wolf Creek -- great skiing at a nicely designed resort”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I skied at the Wolf Creek Ski Area in early January 2012. We had originally planned to ski for the week at Vail and nearby resorts, but this year the snow was so meager in Eagle and Summit counties (as it was almost everywhere in the western US) that after 2 days skiing there, we decided to pick up stakes and go where the snow was – Wolf Creek. This was a great decision and well worth the 4-hour drive each way (plus the double payment for housing and lift tickets, since we were still paying for the condo in Vail, and had season passes there!). We originally planned to ski here 2 days, but after a taste the first day, we decided to stay 3. And we apparently were just two of many Vail area refugees!
We loved this resort not only for the great snow conditions, but also for its overall design and generally laid-back ambiance, which reminded us of other small ski areas we’ve liked over the years, such as Bachelor, Brighton, and A-Basin. More concretely, the low key atmosphere translates into such features as a dedicated brown-bagging area and very reasonable prices for food and drink. What a contrast with Vail! We ate lunch at the lodge one day (good food, but be aware that the chili is REALLY spicy!) and brown-bagged the other two. Another contrast with Vail was the very reasonable lift ticket price, which we much appreciated.
The resort’s layout is nice. The small size means a small close-in parking area, and combined with a good shuttle system, this means you’re on the slopes very soon after parking. The base area has 4 lifts, including one high-speed detachable quad, and one for the bunny slope. In the base area itself, you can easily ski or hike from one to the other of these. To reach the 5th lift – the Alberta – from the base area, you have to ski a long fairly flat trail, which involves a bit of poling or skating, but not a huge effort. (The other way to reach the Alberta is via Flim Flam, a gladed and bumpy blue run, which is quite nice if you like bumps.) From the top of any lift (including the Alberta), you can ski to (or within an easy walk to) the bottom of any other if you plan your run carefully. So overall, it’s very easy to get around and almost impossible to get lost. After a couple of days you don’t need a trail map.
The area directly accessible from the base area lifts has a nice mix of green, blue, and black runs. The greens (at least when we were there) are all groomed, a couple of the blacks are groomed, and the blues are a mix. The ungroomed blues and blacks can be pretty bumpy, so if you’re not comfortable with this, best to check the grooming map. But one nice feature of this resort is that most blue and black runs are visible from the lifts, so you can check them out on your way up, and decide what you’re comfortable with. Another nice thing about the base area (not true of the area around the Alberta lift) is that the trees are in general fairly widely spaced and the slope reasonable, so it’s a good place to get comfortable with glades. I’m at that point in my skiing, and I had a great time skiing in the trees and getting excellent practice on the short blue and moderate black bump runs.
With the exception of the trail back to the base area, all of the runs off the Alberta lift are glades – most of them both black (steep) and bumpy, which frankly is out of my league. There are 2 gladed blue runs off the Alberta, and I did ski one of these (Serendipity), but I lost the trail and ended up in some pretty steep bumps in the middle of the woods, which was a bit much for me (side-slipping can come in mighty handy ), so I didn’t try this again. You can also access a large area of hike-to black terrain off the Alberta by climbing up some wooden steps the resort has thoughtfully provided (not all resorts give you steps to reach hike-to terrain) to a ridge, then skiing and hiking across the ridge. I didn’t try this, but if you’re comfortable in steep and bumpy glades, I’m sure you’ll find good powder in that area long after a storm. I did hear someone say that the runs are rather short considering the effort to get there. (More easily accessible terrain for real experts is the Waterfall Area, which looks benign from what you can see from outside the area, but is marked double black diamond, so I didn’t venture in!) But even if most of the Alberta terrain is beyond your abilities, you should go over there at least once for the beautiful scenery. The trail back to the base area should be comfortable for any intermediate skier.
Overall, we loved Wolf Creek and although it’s not very easy for us to reach from the East Coast, we’ll mos def look for an opportunity to return.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank johndc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great little ski mountain!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The snow was great, the weather was warm, but it was crowded over the holidays! Glad we tried it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Danageld R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Creek Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Creek Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing