We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place To Stay in Pagosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay in Pagosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

On the advice and ratings of Trip Advisor customers, we stayed at High Country Lodge for two nights last week. We stayed in the large cabin and it was clean, warm, and comfortable. The desk clerks were very helpful as we could see the rooms before we chose the one we would stay in. They were also helpful in recommending restaurants and hiking trails. They were also helpful in that we could get discount tickets for the Hot Springs. The breakfast offered eggs, waffles, toast, cereal, oatmeal, and bakery items and was very good. A well-run and customer-pleasing establishment!

Room Tip: Take a look at the cabins if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time at HCL-we do aim to be a people pleasing place! We want everyone to have a great time, and take advantage of all we have to offer. We hope this will be your home away from home whenever you are in our beautiful corner of Colorado.

Thanks so much for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We enjoyed every word!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    126
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
190
199
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spent two nights at High Country Lodge which is about three miles east of Pagosa Springs and could not be more pleased with this reasonably priced, well managed and maintained establishment. They have motel rooms for short stays and cabins for longer stays, have a friendly and helpful staff and offer a great free breakfast. The grounds are emaculate and they have three hot tubs to choose from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking rime to let others know your experience here. It makes our day to know our guests enjoyed all we have to offer, and we hope you will come back often. Customer service isn't just being available-it means helping people find enjoyable activities, a good restaurant, a hiking trail, or maybe a new fishing hole, or perhaps just helping people feel that they can truly be at home here. We try to take the time to enjoy all our guests and try to help them find activiites to make wonderful memories.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

A privately owned refurbished motel/cabin experience. Frans and Bob (the owners) make a real effort to make it a good time for their guests and to make them feel welcome. There are activities on the property and personal amenities like games and DVDs that are freely available. Breakfast was just okay, but the atmosphere of the dining area was great. We'd go back. Their internet site to make reservation was very user friendly. The motel sits down a bit from the road, so don't expect mountain views from your room.

Room Tip: We had a room with two queen beds which was pretty cramped. Unless you need them, try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time while here, and we hope you can visit us the next time you are in our corner of Colorado. Fall is a wonderful time to visit, but winter has it's charms too, especially for the skiing enthusiast. For a more spacious room, I would recommend one of our single king rooms on your next trip, or one of our single king cabins. The single king cabins are perfect for a couple, and have a separate bedroom from the living-dining area, and allows you to spread out a bit more. With in floor heat, a wood stove, and a nice kitchenette, it's especially cozy for the ski season.
We enjoyed hosting you, and appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Pagosa Springs and originally booked a King Room but changed to a cabin. They sit back from the highway and really was a great little place. Had a King bed(very comfortable) kitchenette, and a small living room with table . Nice front porch and a woodsy feel. Breakfast provided and was very good. Located a few miles from town which we enjoyed. The front desk was very helpful. I recommend it and would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure we would have enjoyed the hotel room as much as the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Our king cabins are really cozy and comfy-but you do have to put up with the curious local deer checking you out. Thank you for staying with us-sounds like you relaxed and had a good time.
We hope you will come back any time you are in the area and enjoy us in different seasons.
Thank you for your kind review. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This lodge had nice large rooms that were very clean and comfortable. Had a great night's rest. In addition, bring you swimwear because they have wonderful hot tubs in back of the lodge. They also have cozy cottages to rent - The price was very reasonable for this day and time.

One of the best parts of our stay was the wonderful complimentary breakfast - So much variety and homemade! We have stayed at the best hotels and never had a breakfast like this - I highly recommend this lodge if you visit Pagosa Springs.

Linda P.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We are so glad you loved our breakfast. We try very hard to have something for everyone and to give you a good start on your day. Pagosa Springs is a great place, and it sounds like you had a good time here. Come back often and enjoy all this corner of Colorado has to offer-memories are always waiting to be made!

Thank you for staying with us and letting others know what a great stay you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Wonderful, gracious hospitality. Very clean. would stay here again. Really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. Hot shower was what we wanted and we got that and more. Great breakfast was included and everyone was extremely friendly..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suquamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Sounds like you had a great time here! But we are more than just an overnight stop-come back when you have more time and stay a few days-this area and HCL has a lot to offer and we promise boredom is not a part of it !:) Each season has something special for everyone-you are sure to find something new and different to enjoy and remember.
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colliers, West Virginia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came to this hotel after a very long drive. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was very, very small but there was hot water! I think if we had some time to explore, we would have loved what we found, but we were only here for a very short time as a layover to Durango. Check in was quick, towels were provided for the hot tub, but it was raining so we weren't able to use the hot tub. Overall, no complaints, no outstanding reviews, but again, we were there less than 12 hours! And for what we needed it was absolutely fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whisperingnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review-we always appreciate that . We're just sorry you couldn't stay longer and get to know our property better, and the Pagosa Springs area. We're sure you would have found a lot to enjoy in our corner of Colorado. Next time we hope you will plan on staying longer and make HCL your home away from home. You are always welcome. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing