We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends wanted to stay longer”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friends wanted to stay longer”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Two weeks in Southern Colorado and this was the only location where I photographed the place we stayed. Two couples in a large, clean, well-designed cabin with full-kitchen, wide-screen TV/DVD and one large bathroom. The lodge is 2+ miles east of Pagosa Springs, but the drive is worth it! Seriously considered staying an extra day, but we had too much driving ahead of us. The only problem came from loud teens celebrating something next door. The manager was very upset about the noise when we discussed it the next day. We did not complain at the time. Hot tubs, full breakfast, fire pits with comfortable outdoor furniture, free large DVD Library. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Skippy4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our cabin and had such a good time. Memories are often made at HCL, that last a lifetime. That's the quality experience we try to ensure for each of our guests. We hope you will be able to visit this corner of Colorado again-it is quite a special place.
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to share your experience with others!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    130
    32
    10
    11
See reviews for
207
218
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the lodge and it was fabulous. It was immaculate and well taken care of. Upon check-in, they could not do enough for us. The breakfast room is incredibly charming and rustic and the grounds are very well maintained. The new owners are delightful and accommodating. The lodge is very relaxing and calming especially when sitting on the swing overlooking the pond. I wish that this place existed wherever we travel. We cannot say enough good things.

Mark

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBBoyntonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Wow-you really make us feel appreciated. And it's great to know you had a good time, and everything worked well for you. We really value our guests and when we get feedback like this, we know we are doing something right.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and come back often!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I rented 2 rooms and both rooms were in excellent shape very clean and comfortable.The lodge is only minutes away from Pagosa Springs. I will be staying here again the next time I'm up in the area. I wished I could have rented one of the lovely cabins but they were booked solid for the memorial day weekend.

Room Tip: if renting rooms at the lodge ask for the upper floor room--i had an rude guest above me that stompe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us over Memorial Day weekend. I know you would have enjoyed one of the cabins-no one above you to make noise, but then in a cabin you do have the occasional deer or chipmunk visiting to check you out-but they are very quiet. Next time you stay, we should have our walking trail done-that might add to your enjoyment.

We appreciate you taking time to write a review and letting others know your experience here.
Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We pass through Pogosa Springs often, Always stay at High Country Lodge. More improvments since last visit. AC's in all cabins. New mattresses through out. Several additions to complimentary breakfast. They were starting to work on a hiking trail, look forward to my next stay to see how that comes out. Can't say enough about friendly and attentive Staff.

Room Tip: Try the Cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
It was good to see you again! We so enjoy our returning guests, as well as the new ones.We're glad you like all the upgrades we have added, and I'm sure you will notice even more on your next trip. You just missed the gorgeous flower baskets we just hung today. They are huge and now the lodge and cabins look like summer is finally here!

Thank you for always sharing your experience here and helping our future guests. We look forward to seeing you the next time you pass through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Best deal going in Pagosa. Under new owners, and they've cleaned it up. SUPER FRIENDLY and accommodating. Be sure to get the pass to the hot springs from these folks ... Pay with cash and save a couple of bucks, and use their towels that they provide. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It was great having you here! We hope you will come back often and enjoy Pagosa Springs in all seasons! And we always appreciate it when a guest takes time to write a review and let others know how much they enjoyed their stay.

We look forward to seeing you again soon. Bring your friends and have another great weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I decided after reading all of the great reviews, to give HCL a try. We weren't dissapointed one bit! We have a 2 1/2 year old daughter and we stayed in one of the one bedroom cabins. We have a cabin in Pagosa but because someone else was staying for vacation we wanted some privacy. When I walked into our private cabin I was delighted to see how clean, nice and cozy it was. We had two beds in the room and a cute kitchen with all of the untensils needed to make our own dinner. We travel alot so I very much pay attention to detail. I loved how many towels the put in your room. When traveling with a child, you tend to use many towels for messes and such so I liked that they didnt skimp on that. I loved the soaps and lotions they put in your room, and a few extras in case you forgot anything. We slept comfortably on the beds and loved that the linens were fresh. I noticed the floors were clean and didnt feel there was a bit of dust or dirt. They are extremely friendly. We stayed her because it was close to Wolf Creek as well. Our daughter is loving skiing so we loved that it didnt take long to get to the resort.
I enjoyed talking with France, the owner. She is very nice and seems to listen to your opinions and is very much wanting to make people feel welcome and cozy. I LOVED their coffee choices. Alot of times when you travel, the coffee is just gross. Not here. They have a fantastic choice of coffees. I loved the breakfast they offered in the morning. So cozy and lots of choices from fresh waffles, cereal, juices coffees and teas. On the weekends they offer amazing biscuits and gravy and some meats. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. They have a playground for the kiddos, lots of open area for fresh air to walk, jog or whatever you enjoy doing outdoors. Our daughter had a great time. The staff was very kind to her and made her feel very special. France if you read this, we can't wait to come back!!! Keep up the great work, we will have memories to treasure!

Brooklyn Gregory

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Owner at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Brooklyn,
We can't wait to have you and your family back. This is the part of the hospitality business that we love-meeting nice people who appreciate what we are doing.Your daughter was adorable,
and she was so much fun. You and your husband were so appreciative of everything, and that really made our day while you were here.
Come back often and you will get the same warm welcome and hospitality each time you do!
Thank you so much for your kind words and review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I and our two year old son were faced with a situation of coming a day early for a job interview in the area in order to avoid travelling in a bad snow storm and needing a place to stay until meeting the interviewers for dinner the next day. The owners gladly met our needs and extended the checkout time until 4 so we would have a place to hang out with our toddler. When our interviewers wanted to meet for lunch rather than dinner, the hotel refunded the (minor) late checkout fee, without me ever asking for it! They were kind and accommodating, the room was comfortable and if we ever need a place to stay in Pagosa Springs, they will be the first place I look!! Thank you for the best hotel experience we have ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurl_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Over the top customer service has been our consistent goal, and really, it is simply trying to create the best possible outcome for everyone we come in contact with. Each situation is different and requires thinking outside the box for creative solutions so everyone wins. We are so glad we were able to help.
Your kinds words will inspire us to even greater efforts to help our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
635 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
355 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
123 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing