We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
High Country Lodge & Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
$120
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Pagosa Springs)
$120
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pagosa Springs)
$151
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk Trace Bed & Breakfast(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Landing Suites & RV Park(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Keyah Grande(Pagosa Springs)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (655)
Filter reviews
655 results
Traveler rating
432
146
45
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
432
146
45
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswolf creektubing hillhot tubs and saunawood burning stovelog cabincoffee machinebiscuits and gravygreat place to stayfront porchroad noisehard boiled eggsbreakfast was delicioustwo queen bedsmain buildingthe breakfast areaski areafamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
527 - 532 of 655 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Very friendly front desk person made us feel welcome from the time of our initial phone contact and throughout our 2-night stay. The new owner (France?) extended the same feeling of hospitality as the woman at the front desk.

As new owners, France and her husband are in the process of completely remodeling the place. The new beds can only be described as "Wow!"

One of our pieces of luggage and a pair of boots enjoyed the hotel so much that they tried to stay. (Don't ask, lol!). Lucky for us, the housekeeping person turned them in and France immediately left us a message. She then packed everything up and had them shipped to us. All we had to do was give her our credit card info to cover shipping.

The only down side was that the restaurant that they tout on their website is no longer in business. The hotel needs to update their website to reflect this. Because the hotel is outside of town a little bit, this created an inconvenience the evening of our arrival, after a LONG drive. If the restaurant ever reopens and the food is good, High Country Lodge will be nearly perfect

Would we stay again? Definitely! Next time, though, we'll make sure all our stuff comes home when we do! :o)

Room Tip: Stayed in hotel itself, which is off the highway. Road noise quieted down after dark, and wasn't a problem, however. We'd like to try the cabins behind the hotel next time, though, just for comparison. Also, check to see if any has bought the restaurant next door. If not, plan to have dinner in town.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slatermack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

We really enjoyed having you stay with us-we are developing quite a HCL guest "family".
Thank you for all your kind words and sharing your experience with our other potential guests.
We have made a lot of changes in HCL in the past 6 months, and it is so gratifying to receive appreciation for all the hard work.
We have not owned or been associated with the restaurant next door for about 3 years now, and so have not had them on our website. However if someone new did buy it and have really great food for our guests, we might consider being associated with the restaurant again in some capacity. We would welcome that, since it is such a convenience for our guests. We are sorry that you were disappointed it was no longer open when you arrived. But we are lucky in that we are located only 5 minutes from some very good restaurants downtown, and only 10 minutes from some great restaurants on the other side of town.
Take care and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is our third stay at this facility and we have always enjoyed it. On this last trip through, we found that new owners had taken over and have begun some updating to the facility. As I mentioned we have always found it to be a great place but the new touches were certainly noticed. They have done a good job of updating but not totally changing the feel of the place. It is cozy and inviting. I hope they will be able to continue the reasonable rates after all the updates! The breakfast included is wonderful, with a large variety to choose from. I have always used this as a quick stop through from somewhere else and look forward to making it a destination at some point in order to enjoy it more and check out the cabins.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for your kind review and for making us your home away from home. You are right, a longer stay would be very enjoyable as there is so much to do in this area of Colorado-there is something for every interest in every season. Balloon festivals, music and art festivals, fishing, hiking, and enjoying our hot springs spas are just a few of the activities available in this area of Colorado. We appreciate your loyalty in staying with us, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Oh my what a fantastic place! We chose to stay here as our route had changed. We had a little cabin with full kitchenette and a fireplace. The place has three hot tubs. It was about 32 degrees the morning after our arrival but we took advantage of the hot tubs. The views were beautiful from this rustic country cottage. Great breakfast. Great hospitality. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BandBVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

We are so glad you found us! There are many unexpected treasures in Colorado, and we are trying to be one of those that travelers find and come back to over and over again. We enjoyed having you here and hope to see you again, whenever you are in the area. Thank you for taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here-we appreciate it very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Four of my girlfriends and myself, always gather three times a year to go skiing at Wolf Creek. We love staying at the High Country Lodge. New owners Dan and France have taken great pride and it definitely shows. Thank you for an excellent weekend! Marla

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Sounds like you and your girl friends had a great time! That's what it's all about-supporting you and your friends with the comfort, surroundings, and hospitality that make a trip memorable. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for taking time to share your experience with others-it is always appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a week here in one of the cabins and will most definitely plan on staying again! Excellant accomodations, fantastic breakfasts and all the comforts of home! The Serta king bed in the cabin was extremely comfortable. The breakfasts even during the week beat most any chain! Real scrambled eggs, 4 kinds of cereal, waffles, muffins, bagels, toast, pastries, fresh fruit, and the biscuits and gravy on the weekend rivaled home cooked! And the coffee was awesome! Will definitely be back in the spring!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilbtsassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We really enjoyed having you, and watching you have such a good time. That's what it's all about-kicking back, relaxing, having fun with family and friends in a great atmosphere of hospitality and congeniality. We hope you will come back often and enjoy this area in all seasons. Its neat to have a place you can call your home away from home. Meeting people-welcoming new friends, and having old friends come back time and again-that's what we enjoy most in this business. And now you are part of that group we call our HCL "family". Welcome!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews