We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Cabins are Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Cabins are Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in cabin 406. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. We even had a deer visit us 15 feet from our porch. They have both an Inn and individual cabins that are set out back. We would highly recommend a stay here. They are outside of town so it was so peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gimitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
We appreciate hearing from you and knowing that you enjoyed your stay. Come back often and experience the changes with the seasons. Pagosa always has great activities to offer, no matter what time of year, and you will always find friendly people to welcome you, especially here at High Country Lodge. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    126
    29
    10
    8
See reviews for
189
199
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This lodge was a wonderful find and we will certainly stay there again! There were 9 of us who were able to get 2 rooms for a last minute family vacation to the Pagosa Springs area. They were able to accomodate our request for a roll away bed in one of the rooms but (and this is my ONLY complaint) when we got into the room the bed was there but still folded up and we had to move the extremely heavy beds around to make enough space for it. Otherwise I have nothing but praise. The new owners were incredibly helpful and all the staff were overwhelmingly friendly. The free continental breakfasts included waffles, biscuits and gravy and hard boiled eggs along with the rest of the basic continental breakfast fare. One of our rooms was newly updated with new beds and a new television but both were clean and comfortable. The grounds are spectacular. Grandpa and the grandkids checked out fishing poles from the office and had a nice hour or so of bonding while the rest of us sat in the "porch" swings randomly placed around the property. Teh office also has board games, DVD players, and movies available to check out, though we didn't have time to partake. The kids (and parents) enjoyed a few thetherball games, and took a short hike around the area. The hot tubs are open 24 hours a day and were a welcome treat at the end of each of our extremely long fun filled days. I will highly recommend this lodge to anyone who is asking.

Room Tip: I would try to stay in one of the cabins if you are looking for more privacy, but the lodge rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here. We had fun just watching your family having fun! Next time you are here, our updates and renovations should be complete and there will be even more for your comfort.
Come back and visit often-we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I chose this lodge from reading the reviews on TA and was not disappointed. My husband and I have stayed at two other hotels in PS in the past, with one of them costing over twice as much, and in my opinion this lodge tops them both. On check-in I was told that the lodge changed ownership in June and it is obvious that the new owners are motivated to keep their 1st place rating. I requested a lodge room with good mattresses and they made it happen. Our mattress was brand new and very comfortable. This is not the Hilton but it is a nicely updated motel room at a good value with the AARP discount. There is road noise from 18 wheelers going down the nearby highway that did not bother my husband. I wear ear plugs to drown out the noise from a snoring husband so the road noise was not an issue for me either. We did not partake in breakfast because we had plans to eat in town but we checked it out and it looked adequate. I would like to return and try out one of their cabins in the future when we have a long weekend.

Room Tip: Obviously most people prefer the ground floor rooms because of the convenience of having their cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merwinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
We appreciate your kind words. When a guest requests something, we do try to deliver it whenever possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you come back often. Our upgrades are continuing and we hope everyone will enjoy what we are doing. Again, thank you for writing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Found this property on Trip Advisor and were glad we did. We stayed in a small 1 bedroom cabin, which was quite large. Plenty of room for our 2 adults and 1 child to spread out. Pretty wooded setting just outside Pagosa on highway 160. Stayed in many cabins over the years and this was by far the nicest. Cute as a button from the outside--log cabin cottage. Beautiful hanging flowers on large porch attracted humming birds and chipmunks ran all over. Inside wasn't fancy but decorated nicely with log cabin theme. Lots of windows, ceiling fans in both rooms, and tons of storage space (2 huge closets and many hooks to hang things off of). There's a wood burning stove in the large living room and 3 hot tubs outside the main lodge on beautifully manicured grounds. Full maid service daily was unexpected. Well equipped mini kitchen we only used for snacks, but could have used for more. We easily could've stayed for weeks without feeling cramped. My only complaint is that the wireless wasn't working. We asked for the router to be reset several times over two days, to no avail. Finally, on last complaint they told us to let ourselves into the empty cabin next door where that router was located. It took us all of 30 seconds to fix and we then had good wireless service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We really appreciate all your wonderful comments. It let us know we are going the right direction, and where we can improve. We hope you will come back often and spend time in the area. Pagosa is such a special place and has a lot to offer in so many ways. Each season is different, and its worthwhile to check each one out and see which one is your favorite. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Booked this based on price + reviews here on Trip Advisor. This ended up being one of our favorite places of our whole 2-week trip. We haven't tried a cabin, we stayed in a room in the main lodge. If you have to be in the middle of town or you must stay in 5-star lux places, this isn't for you. But we loved that it was out in the country, and it had perfectly adequate amenities for our 1-night passing through. We loved the hot tubs out back. The lady at the front desk is such a sweetheart, so friendly and helpful. It was our 1st visit to Pagosa Springs, and I predict we will go back lots of times in the future. I think we will book High Country again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarbuckDifranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
We appreciate your kind words, and hope you will come back often. Different seasons offer so many possibilities for recreation and enjoyment. The cabins with their woodstoves or fireplaces offer great ambiance in the winter, and the hot tubs are great after skiing or a long hike in the autumn, viewing the foliage. Thank you so much for writing a review-we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

I wish we had had more time at this lodge. This was an overnight stop on our way from Mesa Verde to Santa Fe. I'd love to come back some day, spend some more time, and maybe rent a cabin. The grounds and buildings are all in great shape. We were told our room had been updated fairly recently. I'm not sure what shape it was in before but we were well pleased with it's current state. Our room was very clean. My husband is very warm natured so we asked for a fan even though the room had a working AC unit. The bed was comfy and we both slept like babies. There was a small seating area with a couch and flat panel tv. Also had a decent sized refrigerator/freezer unit.

The lodge offers a continental breakfast which is pretty good. It has a waffle station, hard-boiled eggs, cereal pastries, coffee, juice, etc.

Due to time constraints we weren't able to take advantage of some of the things the lodge offered. They have a fishing pond and provide fishing rods for your use. There are horseshoe pits. Three hot tubs. There appeared to be a good selection of DVDs. A small laundry room requiring a small fee for the washer and the dryer.

I simply cannot say enough about this place, great service, wonderful attention to detail, beautiful grounds, great rates. I really do hope we can visit again one day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eirlande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Wow! You made our whole week. The entire staff was so happy to read your review. We work as a team to try to make everyone's stay the best possible, so you let us know it in a big away. Thank you so much for your kind words. Come back often, and always let us know if we can make anything better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We arrived a few days before July 4th and the Lodge was in beautiful shape. The room wasn't posh but was very comfy and clean with all the necessities and attention to detail. The office and breakfast area were very inviting and breakfast was excellent. Three hot tubs and sauna and nice grounds. Is located on the main road in and out of Pagosa but quiets down at night. Connie welcomed us and set the tone for a terrific staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fritza151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Your review put smiles on the faces of our entire staff. Thank you for taking the time to write it. It let us know we are on the right track with the improvements we have been making, and that guests
really like what we are providing. Your suggestions and feedback let us know what we are doing well, and where we need to improve. We truly appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing