We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great place to stay for any ocassion.”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely a great place to stay for any ocassion.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I would like to thank the folks at the High Country Lodge in Pagosa Springs, CO for a glorious weekend. Several of my family members met there over the first weekend in June, and from the time we arrived to the day we left, we were in awe of such a welcoming environment. The cabins were all slightly different which made it even more intriguing. The staff was friendly, accomodating, and so helpful at all times. There was so much space outdoors for our family entertainment and recreation. The cabins were all clean and user friendly. We helped ourselves to the dishes to prepare a big family meal on Saturday evening. I just can't say enough about our stay at the HCL. Thank you all for allowing us to have a wonderful weekend. We definitely discussed returning next year. Great place.

Prescilla A. Salazar
Las Vegas, NM 87701

Room Tip: Don't pass it up. A must stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank psalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Your group was so much fun!! It was like having extensions of our own families here. We enjoyed working with you to make your stay a great memory for your family reunion scrapbook. The staff
felt so appreciated by your group and was having a good time right along with all of you. We hope you will come back again next year. Let us know if there is anything we can do for your next reunion to make it work even better for you.
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review. Your kind words made our whole week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    129
    32
    10
    11
See reviews for
202
217
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff here are really friendly and nice, which makes everything else work too. Our room was a little dated, with a hole in the wall where one of the light switches should have been. However, it was clean and comfortable, and came with nice toiletries. The standard continental breakfast is enhanced by little details like having real mugs instead of styrofoam, a good selection of teas and juice, and real coffee. The breakfast room is lovely, with interesting wood furniture and good views of the outdoors. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
We enjoyed having you as a guest. I apologize for the lack of a switchplate-that is due to the painting we have been doing in the rooms. We rushed to put the rooms back together for Memorial Day weekend, and we may have missed a few things.
Please let us know if you have any suggestions for making your stay more pleasant. We are always
open to new ideas.
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff were very accomodating, and friendly. The cabin we occupied met my wife's, mine. and our two medium sized dogs very comfortably. Plenty of property for our "Kids" to roam around on.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rustic cabins. It was very clean and comfortable, and well stocked with uten...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pastor Rubie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking the time to write a review.
Bring your fur children any time-they are always welcome. We are so glad
you had a great time and hope you return often. Try us at different seasons.
There are always new experiences here in Pagosa Springs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed one night here, chose the place based on all the 4 and 5 star ratings, and were disappointed that our experience did not reach our expectations.Maybe the cabins are better, but we stayed in the lodge on the second floor and it was dark and in need of a facelift. The comfortors were stained, the towels were worn and not very white, and the mattresses and pillows need to be replaced.The staff was very friendly, though, and the breakfast was good. For $100 we expected better / newer and will stay somewhere else next time, even if it costs a little more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
I do apologize, but you were in one of the remaining rooms scheduled to be painted after Memorial Day weekend.
When you arrived, we were in the middle of renovations. We had already repainted all the exteriors of the cabins and lodge. We had repainted and done a Venetian plaster finish in half of the rooms, but we had to scramble to get the rooms put back together and shut down renovations over Memorial Day weekend due to reservations. New linens and mattresses are on our list, but we don't have the luxury of shutting down the lodge for several weeks while we do everything that needs doing because reservations are months in advance. We have to do a few rooms at a time, as our budget and reservations allow, and we are going as fast as we can.
Come back a little later when our renovations are further along, and I'm sure you will like what
you will find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

HCL offers things you cant find in a hotel. The staff was friendly. It has great 24 hour hot tubs (3) and sauna, fireplaces in cabins, free firewood, good breakfast, huge yard, pretty stars to look at, grills, fire rings. The cabin was insanely clean.The price was great in off season. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try to anticipate what our guests might like to have as amenities, so if you ever have suggestions, please let us know. Come back as often as you can-- different seasons have a lot of variety in activiities to offer, and our front desk people can help you plan a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed a night here, en route from Moab Utah to northern NM. While located a few miles out of town, the setting is worth it and the lodge office very accomodating with a great little sitting area/fireplace. We did not take advantage of the outside hot tubs and sauna or the grills and the restaurant next door would have been perfect but it was closed for some reason, but the setting perfect and the breakfast room and breakfast very good, decorated with beautiful, handmade and comfortable knotty pine (?) furniture. Did not see inside the cabins but would imagine great for families.,

Room Tip: Upper level has balcony views, but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Since you were here,
we have painted all the exteriors of the cabins and the entire lodge, and are almost done painting the interiors of the rooms. We hope you will come back and see us the next time you are here in
the west, and check out how much we have changed since your stay this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We spent 3 nights in one of the small cabins, and got a great rate since it was off-season. We have stayed in the Lodge rooms before, and they are perfectly nice and clean but this time we decided to try one of the cabins. We had a large studio with a stone fireplace, two queen beds, a bathroom with shower, a kitchenette and dining area plus a small private deck with deck chairs. We were very comfortable, and the price was great. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We rented a DVD player (free) and watched a movie one night. The location is right outside of Pagosa Springs, in the "woods," though along the highway. Yes, the highway noise was a bit loud, but since the road goes up to Wolf Creek Pass, we found most of the traffic died after dark and did not bother our sleeping at all.

Only a couple of criticisms -- the kitchenette has a microwave, fridge and two burners, but no oven, so no heating up a frozen pizza. The San Juan Roadhouse, which advertises as being open year-round was "closed for mud season," which was quite a disappointment. Also, the cabins do not have a/c and they get quite warm from the mountain sun during the daytime -- even though they cool off at night. I think they would be too warm for summertime use without a/c.

We have stayed at the Lodge many times through the years and always find it clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I also like the woodsy location, despite the highway noise. I was very happy to learn that new owners are planning some upgrades, and we saw lots of annual maintenance being done to keep the place looking great. Overall, this is a great place for a family -- with a kid's playground, lots of grass, and even a fishing pond. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms have a/c so they are a good choice for summertime use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifercks94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
We enjoyed having you as our guests-lthank your for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are in the middle of refurbishing the exterior of the lodge and cabins, and also are painting the interiors of the lodge rooms. Many new things are underway that I am sure you will enjoy on your next visit.
To answer your concern on the cabins not having a/c-its surprising how cool they get when the ceiling fans are used in combination with a box or window fan. However, a/c may be a consideration the the future.
The restaurant next door is not owned by us, but it should be open again the first of June. They often have music on the weekends and the food is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
624 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
208 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
115 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing