We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first and last trip here”
Review of Wyndham Pagosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Pagosa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is our first time in Pagosa Springs. Our unit was a 2 bedroom lockoff which had two beds and two pull-out sofa sleepers. The units are pretty run down but the real beauty here is the outdoors. This is not a typical resort with on-site amenities. You have to drive or walk to the activities center. There is a community recreation center about 1/4 mile from the unit we stayed in where you are able to swim indoors. The activities that Wyndham provides are great. The kids greatly enjoyed decorating handbags and 3-D butterflies and decorating cookies.

Our unit was not stocked with what we normally expect from Wyndham. We had to go to the front desk to get dish soap, laundry soap and toilet paper. Not a big deal to hop in the car and drive to the front desk but still this should have been stocked before we arrived.

Pagosa Springs is in the boonies and there are not a great number of activities around. There is a river that runs through downtown which was a big hit with the kids. Even a free hot spring adjacent! This resort is for relaxing. Glad we came but doubtful we'll return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elpaso_big_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Pagosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 645 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

We drove from Oregon and other family drove from Texas. Both families were on the road a good day and a half. Upon arrival Google Maps directed us to the wrong address, based on welcome letter received in the mail. At check in we were informed our original 2/2 bedroom units were not available due to a whirlpool blow out and cleaning issues. Then we were informed that the new rooms we were assigned were an "upgrade." If this was an upgrade, I would hate to see the original room we had reservations for! The upgrade room's front doors were full of spiderwebs, very dusty and had dirty finger prints all over the glass and dirt on the rest of the door. First impression was terrible. Then based on the old, unused and unclean room smell this upgrade did not seem to be occupied for months/years. When a complained was made we were informed "the corporate office is demanding 110% occupancy," and that there were no other units available. However when you drove around the resort it looked deserted.. The impression of this resort is that they only have a few upgraded units and these are reserved for those few "returning" owners and the rest of us get the uncleaned 1970 decor left overs. Our windows were so dirty inside and out that you could not see the lake view. There were lipstick marks on glasses and coffee mugs. There was dust on every piece of furniture. When we asked the cleaning staff for windex and cleaning supplies, we were informed these cleaning items were not available. Based on the dirtiness of the units, we believed them. So we ended up cleaning our own units. Besides the dirty unit, the location was awful. There is nothing "master" at the Master Choice units except, they are three stories high. But if you are on the bottom floor the elephants on the upper floor resonate down to your unit day and night. Also the unit is the furthest location away from the Rec and Activies Centers. We looked forward to 7 days of relaxation, instead we had 7 days of unrest. We have traveled through out the US and outside the country for years and this resort deserves a poor rating and the dirtiest we have ever stayed at... the pictures reflected on the timeshare website are misleading. The setting of the resort is not worth the location when all you are thinking about is the dirtiness you are surrounded by.... we do not recommend this resort and will not be staying here again. Also we will warn our other family, friends and timeshare contacts this place is not worth the drive.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2 star high cost resort, this is the place for you.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Pagosa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hi Monica,

We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered upon your arrival due to unit maintenance issues. We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your time dealing with a unit that was not fully cleaned upon your check-in. We know that you expect the best when staying at our properties. Your feedback is important to us and helps us improve in many areas. Again, thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent customer service at front desk. Sandi M. is a great supervisor. Alex and Heather helped make our requests possible. Always well maintained units and updated on a scheduled basis. Grounds immaculate and beautiful. Quiet setting even with full capacity. No pet or smoking policy very helpful.
We have been coming to this resort since 1988 and will continue to come every year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leroy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were guests of a member of our family who is a Wyndham time-share owner. We managed quite well in the Eagles Loft unit with a total of 6 adults and 5 children age 6 and under. Very nice units - they have some age on them, but are well kept. Large flight of stairs to enter the living area, so be warned. Kitchen was furnished with all our needs and bedrooms were very comfortable, although we happened to hit a very warm few days for Colorado at 8000 feet, so the upper loft room was hard to keep cool. It didn't appear that the builder had run a a/c vent to the loft? Great indoor pool within short walking distance, miniature golf, tennis, and lots of other activities. Cable tv, wifi, blue-ray player and flat screen large tv. A super place for small children in a BEAUTIFUL area of Colorado.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limestoneswmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

very nice and clean resort. good beds with average hotel pillows. Nice Staff, Resort is set in a nice country setting nestled in the mountains along the golf course. Lots of wild life to be seen. Great Rec Center and each are seem to have lots of access to hot tubs

Room Tip: Just down the road from the Sliverton train and Mesa Verde (both are a must if in the area)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golfking77Rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

2013 was my 3rd trip to this resort, but i do not own a timeshare there. The first was 14 yrs ago, another 4 yrs ago, and now. This visit, we stayed in the "Eagles Loft" timeshares. These things are like elevated pods with parking below. It also means that you have a full flight of stairs to get into the unit (as I was reminded by my late 70's inlaws every time we parked.

Timeshare check in was the usual 15-20 min, with heavy emphasis on their sales pitch events. We declined. You can still get all the discounted tickets you want/need by just going to the concierge.

Upon entering the unit, I heard my wife shriek. Hmmm.....first time we've ever opened the door and found a wild bird inside. The bird had been there a while and was more than ready to find the great outdoors after the kids began to chase him. So, the bird had bounced all around the place, left his mark as birds tend to do, and we needed a cleanup big time. We also requested the the toilet seats be tightened down (how was this not noticed?), and some bulbs were burned out. I couldn't get anyone at the front desk to answer the phone, but a quick trip back in the car and everyone fell into action. The maintenance guy arrived in less than 5 min and took care of everything.

The unit was over 30 yrs old, but reasonably maintained with newer carpet, appliances, granite countertops, free wifi, and a nice pair of flat panel TVs. Even the windows have been upgraded to vinyl at some point. The decks were older Trex type material and looked rather rough....but still functional.

In the small "basement" of these units is nothing more than a large jet tub room. By default, our unit had an enormous hot water heater that allowed both bathrooms to shower at once with no loss of pressure and both had hot water. The dishwasher and washer dryer though are on the low end and quite loud.

The rec center at this resort is centrally located and very nice with a large pool, typical equipment you would find at the gym, and racquetball courts. Surrounding the resort is a grocery store, a small dept store (Alco), and many Mom & Pop type places.

Checkout is the easiest of any timeshare. No requirement to wash dishes or strip beds.....just take your stuff, shut off the appliances, and close the door ( before a bird flies in please).

Despite what was noted here, this is a nice place and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was my second time at this resort, the first time using a time share, this time as a hotel guest. Both experiences were great. The "hotel" was poorly designed, but comfortable. The hot tub was in a separate room with window to the bedroom...odd... We were told about poor wi-fi but never had a problem and we were both on each day of our stay (seven days). Helpful activity staff, went out of their way to make sure we understood our options and prices. We loved the nearby coffee shop, Higher Grounds. This is a great place if you are not into the tourist scene, very laid back facility and community.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayberry3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
577 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
4.0 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pagosa

Address: 42 Pinion Causeway, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Fairfield Pagosa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: $122 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Pagosa 2*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Pagosa Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing