We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Pagosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Pagosa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice and clean and so are the grounds. Ned to work on water pressure and need a bath mat in tub. The complimentary gifts were great. Loved the lemonade and popcorn added to the regular items. Seemed a little strange that the front desk didn't give you all the material. You need to go to another desk for more information about things and parking pass.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    212
    94
    51
    34
See reviews for
264
193
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second trip to Pagossa and this resort - first we stayed in one of the "space ship" looking large condo's. This time we are in the "peregrine" which I think is code for "call the 80's they want their furniture back". The best location here is the Teal Landing which is the one in the marketing brochure and on the website. That location in on the water and is new with current furnishings. Will give the bad and the good, bad first.

The bad - this was a truly looked forward to trip with my friends family who had made the reservation I believe sometime in 2012. They booked 7 total units, 6 in the peregrine. She and her family own a number of Wyndham points (ie several generations with separate points). When we arrived 2 days after she had finished helping her daughter with a wedding, she needed a respit. What she received was a group of units all spread out with other families between AND the unit for our family a LONG walk away, and handicapped. My husband had knee surgery but didnt need the handicapped unit AND because so far away the only way we would be able to visit was to have him DRIVE back and forth between the units. So we did some musical units but my friend was denied the respit she needed by having to argue with the front staff about the units booked WAY WAY in advance. And by the stress of the way we were spread out. Thanks Wyndham, horrible job. You own them a HUGE apology. Oh yes, this is their HOME location.

The good - this is a really nice location. Pagosa springs is way the heck from any large city. If you fly in, it would be to Albuquerque which is closer than Denver. MUCH closer. But the good about that is that it is way low key so if on the off chance the staff is nice and competent (big stretch here) and you are easily checked into a unit you like, there is wonderful scenery as you are in a large valley nestled between several mountain ranges. There is really not that much to do here so its a great place to relax, hike, bike, fish, and spend time with friends. Go to the Springs hot springs and spa - in town. A fun day - currently listed separately under hotel on TA but you dont have to stay to go.

Also the peregrine while outdated is really large - there are basically "quad" units with 4 per one story building. There are A & B units which you can connect with larger families. The "A" units are larger with bigger kitchens. Each quad has a room with a hot tub. And the wifi here is better than the "space ship" units.

Having two different NON Wyndham properties/timeshares, I have now decided I will NEVER buy a Wyndham. I like the points program but if this is the treatment you get, I'll pass. There are plenty of other companies who are cheaper and will actually treat you nicely.

Summary - Pagossa the city/area beautiful, units good once you get to them and get what you reserved (if you get what you reserved), staff incompetent.

Room Tip: pick the Teal units if you can as they are on the lake AND are furnished in modern decor. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoMom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
347 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were very impressed with this resort. It had wonderful views of the mountains.
The check in was efficient and very friendly and helpful.
The one bedroom property was more than big enough for the two of us. The apartment was clean and very well stocked with everything that you may need.We even had really good coffee, salt and pepper and popcorn which was well received.
The bed was very comfortable and we slept like babies.
There was good quality bath products and washing up products provided.
When we ran out of anything, reception were very efficient in replacing it.
The facilities and activities were more geared for families and we wished our children and grandchildren were here.
We really wanted to walk around the lake but were not able to due to the golf protocol.
We participated in the free brewery guided tour which was very interesting, as was the beer and food.
The staff were helpful and knowledgeable.
We had a hot tub just behind our cabin which was very nice.
We found the swimming pool very crowded with lots of children (which we didn't mind) as there was swimming lanes.
We got our tickets for the Pagosa Springs and enjoyed that very much.
There are a few restaurants nearby but worth going into quaint and quirky Pagosa spring historic downtown for more restaurants.
There was no daily cleaning service or change of towels or linen but there was ample supply of extra towels. We were only here for 4 days so we didn't mind that there was no cleaning service.
The gardens were very well maintained and there was always someone attending to the garden.
There was a good grocery shop nearby for people who prefer to do their own cooking.
The resort was very spacious and you needed to drive to get to the reception and activities.
Overall, a brilliant stay and definitely worth recommending.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here in late July of 2012. GORGEOUS property. We enjoyed watching people gold at the close by hole. Sitting on the "porch" (just a cement slab with plastic chairs) was our evening routine as a huge flock of Canadian Geese wd fly by enroute to their nightly hangout. Wow -- too gorgeous for words. Our son had fun exploring the swampy lake type area below us, finding snakes and interesting stuff like that. It was quiet and peaceful at night. A really incredible area -- we enjoyed hot air ballooning, driving up to the mines in the old mining town, climbing to Chimney Rock and taking the tour (incredible ruins and info!).

This place is WAY spread out. Running down to the pool won't happen. The building that we were placed in (sorry, don't have the location handy) was poorly built, and in really weird ways. For instance, the a/c is RIGHT under the bedroom window, and that's for the other unit, too, so even if you don't use the A/C, you'll hear it ALL NIGHT LONG if the other unit is using it (and they were, even though nights were cool -- we cdn't figure that out). We love to open the window at night, especially in the country, but it was impossible with all the nasty noise.
The condo was built really strangely -- the fridge was in a corner with a closet that opened up into it (very hard to open either), and the TV was set into a corner by the back door to the porch. Normally TV doesn't matter to us, but we were trying to watch the summer Olympics . . . if you had the door open for a breeze, you couldn't see the TV. And the angle was such that you had to sit RIGHT in front of it or you cdn't see it. The couch was in front of doors and windows at perplexing angles, too. Very odd all the way around. The furniture was really shabby -- lots of wear and tear. The kitchen was nicely outfitted, however and I managed to cook every meal (we didn't eat out).
The toilet clogged immediately and was that way the entire time we were there. Waiting for someone to come fix it took quite a while -- meanwhile, it overflowed several times and we needed more towels due to having used every towel in the place to sop up the water. Oddly enough, these towels stayed there the ENTIRE week we were there -- no one picked them up, even though we had to call several times to get more towels. When we finally had some delivered (TWO days later), they didn't pick up the nasty sodden ones! We were flabbergasted.
Don't even get me started on the mismanagement of the whole sales pitch thing. We graciously kept the mtg times they made for us, and we were kept waiting 45 minutes to an hour, and when we tried to reschedule, they never showed up. Then they kept calling to reschedule, and when they finally showed up (me, waiting) they refused to talk to me because my husband had gone fishing (even though I told them on the phone that he was fishing). And of course, they said this was just a "welcome package." We didn't feel very welcome.

Now, all this having been said -- we tried to communicate our dissatisfaction in a professional manner -- but it didn't really seem to matter. I think the communication between staff/members/front desk/timeshare folks is nil. At one point, I asked for a larger pot to cook in and I was told that they would not furnish me with one. Puzzled, I asked how that could be -- I have traveled and cooked in at least 10 timeshares where a request for cookware was always honored. The woman said, "Well, we stopped because the guests steal everything." I was stunned. Seriously? So I suggested that they develop a list for the management to check off during the check out process in order to let guests know that they would be held accountable. She shrugged. Sort of like "not my problem."
And that's how our whole stay was -- "not my problem." Only it was ALWAYS a problem -- for us, at least. We enjoyed our stay because the area was so beautiful and we traveled, hiked, drove so much. We kinda looked at it like camping indoors . . . but for what we paid? Well, that should have been SOMEONE'S problem other than ours!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadfly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We just finished a week long stay at Wyndham Pagosa, This was a group trip that was made up of 7 riders. The horses were boarded about 2 miles away at Diamond Hitch Ranch. The horses had 12x24 stalls with a covered area in the rear of each stall. We fed & mucked our own animals. Each day we hauled out the the wilderness trail heads, spending about 8 hours a day in the saddle, covering many miles on the trails. For easier rides you can ride right out of the stable. As usual the condo was great, we all enjoyed being able to fix meals and eat together. We were in Teal Landing. Only problem was that we wished we had a hot tub to relax in after being in the saddle all day. The wildererness is still very green but the ground in drying quickly due to the drout. As we rode I was wishing that I had my fly rod with me so I could have done a little fishing. The streams are so inviting.

Room Tip: All units are nice, but the ones facing the lake are more relaxing (Teal Landing Buildings 1-16)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank High-Dry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern plains
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We did an RCI trade into the Pagosa Wyndham. The property is very well kept, parking is excellent and the condos are clean and well stocked. The patio looked out onto a small golf course, and beyond was a beautiful mountain range. We've stayed here before a couple of times, and we've never failed to be extremely pleased. If we keep up our RCI membership it will likely remain a top pick for a trade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmuseMeImBored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The Pagosa Springs area is a great area. The weather has been outstanding. Lots of things to do at the resort and around the area. Must do a soak in the thermal springs. You won't get bored, lots to do. The resort is clean private enough and convenient to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingbug12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.0 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pagosa

Property: Wyndham Pagosa
Address: 42 Pinion Causeway, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Fairfield Pagosa Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Pagosa 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Pagosa Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing