We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold, dated, cold, worn - and did I mention cold?”
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Juan Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was staying a night in late September. At daytime there were temperatures in the 40ies, at night in the twenties. When I arrived, all windows in the room were open and the room was really cold: 53°F (at least there was a thermometer to check). The main heating system was completely off (probably hasn't been switched on for the season yet), there was only a small portable electric heater which primarily made noise, not heat - it managed to raise the temperature during the night by just 3°F.
The bed had only very thing blankets and I was really freezing in bed. In the morning, I looked forward for a hot shower. And the shower really had hot water - for about 2 minutes, then it started to cool down... If somebody had been accompanying me, she would not have had the chance to warm up in the shower.

It's sad because it would have been so easy for the motel to accomodate for the climate:
- have the room service close open windows
- provide warm blankets
- or maybe even turn on the heating system based on temperatures, not on some fixed schedule.

The fact that all this happend in Pagosa Springs which has hot springs and geothermal energy readily available makes this even more pathetic.

The room itself was dated and worn down. Ok to sleep for a night, but if I wanted to stay longer, I would prefer something more attractive.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank gul6dul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our apologies that room was not warm when you arrived. During the month of September it is common for there to be a wide swing in temperatures from the daytime to night. Typically there are extra blankets that can be found in the dressers in all our rooms but if we happened to have missed them we would have been happy to have got them for you if you had advised the front desk. We hope you will stay with us again and have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for two days and enjoyed it so much we drove back from the four corners area to stay another night
The rooms are clean the people are friendly and very helpful
Very close to everything in Pagosa Springs
I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and decided to come back after a long day in the four corners area! We appreciate your business and your kind words! Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This place is a hidden jewel. Located right by the river and easy walking distance to downtown. The rooms were very clean and nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We didn't have a cabin, but our friends did and it was great. A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Looking for a rustic, comfortable, extremely clean place to stay? With a forest and a river next to it ? This is the place, San Juan Motel & Cabins in Pagosa Springs, Colorado. It's cleanliness was well beyond usual motel encounters. The pleasant "service" with a smile and helpful suggestions were like a whipped cream on top of an ice cream. Whether for a night or a few days this is the place to sit and read or think, or just simply sit.

Room Tip: Some rooms/cabins do not have AC, which most of the time is not a problem due to local climate, so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many guest feel the location of our property is great when they come to Pagosa since we have the river, the mountain behind us with the trailhead, but yet we are still within walking distance to downtown and have restuarants and shopping just across from us. Hopefully, you saw some of the deer that love to stroll around the property in the late afternoons.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review! We look forward to seeing you again and will make every effort to be sure you enjoy your next visit as much or even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had a double Queen room, it was nice and spacious, very clean and the beds were comfy. We were on the back side of the propery and it was very quiet and pleasant. The staff was helpful and friendly, the hot tub area was very clean and nice. we enjoyed sitting outside visiting and watching the deer all around the property, which sits along the river and enjoyed the sunset. it has easy access and a nice hospitality room for the continental breakfast. there were several cute cabins on the property but I did not see the inside of any of them. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2wheeltravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are extremly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Clean rooms
Great location
Walk to the river or downtown if you wish
Staff is always helpful and friendly

Been here several times and its always the same. Love it. Make sure to pack a fishing pole and tackle. And if you are looking for tourist tips just ask the front desk.

Room Tip: For a short stay get one of the rooms in the back. If you need more than 2 beds or have an extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We try hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay are happy that you are one of our many return guest and always look forward to seeing you. See you again this fall! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very clean rooms, my favorite place to stay in Pagosa. This time we stayed in one of the rooms since it was just a one night stay but we will be back and stay in one of the cabins next time! You can chose a room with or without a/c traveling at the end of July the night temps were in the 50's so we saved money by getting a room without the a/c. Ceiling fan was plenty. Love this place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and plan on coming back! We have many return guest that we know on a first name basis and most have stayed with enough times that they ask for a specific room or cabin. We look forward seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
213 reviews
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
161 reviews
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: $68 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Juan Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing