We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property badly maintained”
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Juan Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice property badly maintained”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Maybe we expected too much, but we have been disappointed. The staff was very nice and friendly but especially the "original rooms" were pretty much run down. Even though we changed rooms to a more modern one we did not feel comfortable at all. Anything in the room was dusty and there was an awful smell we couldn't adapt to.
We had some used handkerchiefs and several dead bugs in the room. After some hours in the bed our (uncovered) extremities stared to itch. We left the room at 4.30 am to get some rest in the car. We wanted to drive on to our next destination but had to wait at the motel until the reception opened at 7 am. Even though we'd already paid there was no possibility to drop the keys somewhere.
I am afraid to say so, but after three weeks of both kind of motels, chain motels and private run motels, this was our worst accommodation experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Jan_Hikelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    42
    29
    19
    17
See reviews for
45
44
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Nest, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

In the middle of a househunting/camping vacation we found ourselves with a very sick pup and a very fair but unexpected vet bill. On the vets advice we sought a pet friendly "cool" room close to the hospital and amenities. What a blessing the San Juan was! Especially just coming off the labor day weekend! Melissa met us with compassion and grace and quoted a price that not only beat the competition but allowed us to relax while our girl slept in as our bank account wasn't broken. Even as we checked out the gentlemen asked how our pup was, a completely different crew! Fridge, hot tub, breakfast, riverside, and run by real people! We will not only stay again and recommend but between the vet and the San Juan, we are totally sold on Pagosa!

Room Tip: Didn't see a bad one, great location, take a walk along the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katchcolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed at the San Juan Motel with my best 4 legged canine friend, and liked it so much stayed another night. Access to the river made for a great walk with my pooch and enough grounds to walk comfortably without worrying about traffic.

The accomodations were clean, the outside beautifully groomed with colorful flowers everywhere and the management great! Close walking distance to town. It was a peaceful retreat. I highly recommend it if you plan to stay in the Pagosa Springs area. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NTfuntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogersville, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We are currently staying in a Cabin at the San Juan Motel. It has everything you could want or need. The accomodations are modern, new, and the place is as clean as they get! The beds are very comfortable and the decorating is great! The bathroom is very nice with tile floors. The breakfast in the morning has lots of great choices and is out until 9:30 am. This motel is close to everything! You can walk downtown, to the Springs, or across the street to shop. When it is time for privacy, you would think we are in the middle of the mountains. It is quiet, calm, and so serene. We saw two mule deer last night right outside our cabin just watching us. We also brought our dog, and they were reasonable on the pet fees and accommodating there as well. They have a wonderful hot tub available for their customers as well. The fishing is amazing and right outside my back door. The fly fishing is amazing! We have been to Pagosa Springs at least six times and have never stayed here, but from now on, this will be the ONLY place we will stay. You will not be disappointed with this place. We are VERY pleased!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The San Juan Motel is basic accomodation, however there are quite a few options to choose from. The older motel rooms are clean, but small and more authentic retro, the new motel rooms are larger and further from the highway and newer and nicer. The cabins also come in older and newer choices. These four options carry different prices--all very affordable. They are not fancy, but it is a privately owned property, if you like supporting small business and the staff is very helpful and courteous. There is free continental breakfast, hot tub and a free pass to the newest hot springs place with a two night stay. The best part is that the property is large and includes private access to the San Juan River. The stretch of river is wade worthy, and people were fishing, and did I mention beautiful. Another perk is that it is right across the street from The Malt Shoppe---OMG-- The medium ice cream cone is about 8" tall and costs about $1.50 and the sundaes go for less than $3 and are in a shake cup overflowing with generous helpings of toppings. There is also a locally owned liquor store across the street where a bag of ice is still a couple of bucks. Downtown and the hot springs are in walking distance and the Pagosa Bakery is a good stop midway. In my book, just being able to park in front of your room door beats wrangling bags up flights of stairs, etc any day. Response to the review about the key issue. One key hole is for the customer and the others are for the maids, who must have both keys to enter. No worry. If you want luxury, stay at the Wyndam and pay for it.

Room Tip: Choose the newer motel rooms or the newer cabins unless you want a retro experience or a rustic expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Reception satisfactory and nice.
The room doors have 3 keys and no one is opening well. The door lock is risky because the next opening the key opens onlt after several attempts.
Bathroom very poor, with a small sink, small mirror, shower not well working and unclean.
Bathroom tiles broken.
Only two electricity plugs in the room. One for TV and one for air conditioning. To recharge and use the PC no other possibility than the bathroom where only a small sink was available. We preferred not using air conditioning that was old and unclean.
There was a fan connected to the lampe, but they worked only together. No possibility of using only the fan.
Poor breakfast, without tea or chocolate; only coffee and milk. There was no space for all people, someone had to wait outdoor or take-away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMacLaisheal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My rating is based on what I expected when I checked in, based on the information from the hotel and the price I was quoted. This room exceeded expectations. My husband and i were looking for reasonably priced lodging as part of a short getaway, hiking and fly fishing trip. We wanted a clean, no frills room, within walking distance to some restaurants so that we did not have to drive to dinner. We had a modern room, with air conditioning. It was better than we had expected. There was no absloutely no problem with cleanliness. The wi fi worked fine. We walked literaly 100 yards away to fish in the river. We caught nothing there, but it was a beautiful spot. We walked to dinner. We drove less than a mile to go for a short overlook hike with a wonderful view of the valley. Breakfast was not fancy, but certainly adequate. (We are early risers and not big eaters in the morning - we had places we wanted to go that day, so lunch was planned early.) The room was quiet and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: I suggest asking for the modern rooms with air conditioning. Request a room off of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richandtrudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
122 reviews
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
355 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Property: San Juan Motel
Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing