We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Juan Motel - Pagosa Springs July 2012”
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Juan Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is no frills lodging. However, the accomodations are very good. There is a range of reasonable pricing for a simple room or cabins of different sizes. Two of us stayed in what is called an "original" room and it was clean and comfortable. The "origina"l means it has not been updated like some of the other rooms (which I did not see into) and therefore the price was less. The free breakfast service was ample. This was a first visit to Pagosa Springs (7/5 - 7/7/12). It was a summer holiday week there and the town was full of activities. I thought the location of the rooms on the front which were close to the highway/main street would be noisy, but there was no significant noise at night. There is a trail head behind the motel and we enjoyed a nice morning hike through the woods. Simple lodging but a good deal.

Room Tip: Ask what features there are in the different rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for San Juan Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my first visit to the San Juan Hotel, but I can assure you it won't be my last. The room was clean and comfortable. Trail behind the hotel to the top of the mountain and the being right next to the river where great surprise and a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hv071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I liked being so close to the San Juan that we could jump in any time! Cabin 10 was cute - yes the cabins are not new, but who cares? A pretty decent value tho not as much attention to details as others....however all in all nice people running the place, good setting (wildlife passes behind the property!) and the coffee was on early so who's to complain?

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank swami12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Wow, fabulous. The location is GREAT (hiking, wildlife viewing, a quick walk to the hot springs, shopping across the street, river running next to property, etc). We stayed in a cabin w/ a kitchen. Even tho i had no intention of cooking it was nice to have 24hr fridge and coffee pot as well as a sink area to wash our water bottles and re fill them for the next day. I know there were a few cabins that were still being renovated but ours was already done. It had such a great feel to it (rustic log cabin w/ all the newness). Part of the day we had the windows open as well as the screen door (our 6 yr old LOVED the front porch) and at night we were curled up w/ the fireplace on. We didn't spend much time in the hot tub but sure enjoyed it when we could. My only complaint was that the cabin was too nice (our child didn't want to leave - she watched tv, we did puzzles on the large table, and she did some artwork). We stayed one week and need to go back to do more stuff as well as re-do a few things. The staff is very nice and helpful (yes, i had some pretty silly questions). I loved the shops/restaurants across the street - we went DAILY. It's nice to have the perfect 'home' when we aren't in ours. Thanks, San Juan Motel, for giving that to us!

Room Tip: We loved our cabin!!! ... call directly if you are confused about anything ... it's all ground l...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JuliePhoenix_Arizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

If you're a homogenaitist (nit-picker), you'll no doubt find SOMETHING. If you appreciate
savings and value, this is the place.

However, we stayed in the motel, so this review is about the rooms, not the cabins. The rooms vary in size and "appointments." #54 (where we were) was large. #23 was smaller, but the paneling and decoration gave it a homier feel. We were originally booked into 22 (similar to 23), but I'm a light sleeper and was told the wall heaters in the back units (#22, 23, and a couple others) can be noisy. It's a sound I'm accustomed to, but we took their advice and stayed in #54 which had a standard heating/cooling unit below the window. I recommend looking at several of the rooms to appreciate the differences. We were quite satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mfh20502000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed in a cabin. The worst motel I have ever stayed at. I had to pay alot for a 2 nights stay. There was a 2 inch gap under the front entry door. Original construction from the 40's or 50's. The shower stall walls were made of cardboard. Dirty. Crawling spiders. Fire hazard. Central heat unit did not provide heat to all the rooms in 30 degree weather. The continental breakfast was pre-packaged twinkie style pastries. No eggs, waffles or meat products.
Not recommended. Take your time to research cleaner, warmer lodging in Pagosa Springs Colorado.

Room Tip: Not recommended. Take the time to research for nicer lodging in Pagosa Springs Colorado.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pineapple833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your two night stay with us. If we had been advised anytime during your stay, we would have offered to move you to one of the 5 cabins that have been completely renovated, some that are actual log cabins with new electric fireplaces and a full kitchen, if they were available.

It is our intent to advise every guest that they have the option of one our completely renovated cabins or the ones that are scheduled for renovations as we enter into spring. This gives our guest an opportunity to stay in a cabin at a lesser rate than the renovated ones. If we failed to advise you of this option and clearly explain the difference between the two and the reason for the variance in our rates for the cabins, we deeply apologize!

We are sorry that our offering of a FREE continental breakfast which does include packaged pastries as you pointed out (Honey Buns, Donut Sticks) as well as Banana Nut & Blueberry Muffins, 3 types of cold cereal, 7 types of hot cereal, two types of cereal bars, fresh fruit (apples & oranges), 4 types of Yogurt, 3 types of juices including orange juice as well as coffee and milk did not live up to your expectations. Based on your feedback we will include our current menu on our new website that will be launching soon and look into adding additional items.

Sincerely,
San Juan Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

They helped us out we we needed to make some changes to our reservation. Beautiful spot and great value.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
8  Thank toastergirl32849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
127 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
363 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: $71 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing