We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple place, Great food”
Review of Chavolos Taqueria

Chavolos Taqueria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple place, Great food”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I had my doubts when looking at this place from my car, but once inside, my fears were put to rest. This is a place that cooks Mexican right! I am from Texas, so take Mexican food seriously...this place can cook! Everyone in our group of 4 ordered something different, and they were all happy....everything seems very fresh. We have also eaten at the Chavalos in Bayfield, just down the road, and they both seem produce a great meal. This place, is the one for Mexican in Pagosa Springs. Don't judge it by the location or looks...try it, we were happy diners.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wjw924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    45
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My husband and I always enjoy Chavalos in both Pagosa Springs and Bayfield, CO. The environment is quite simple, but the food is always excellent. We have had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at Chavalo's and have never been disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emmylu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The food and service at this restaurant are fabulous! I had the shredded beef burrito, and it was excellent! The chips and salsa were also very good. The decor is rather laid back, as opposed to having lots of "Mexican restaurant" touches, but the food is definitely worth giving this place a try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“House Ritas and food great”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hole in the wall friendly family oriented restaurant. House rita large with balanced lime sweet and sour. Wife tortilla soup and chicken taco salad very good. I had chili relleno with sour cream chicken enchilada. Salsa mild kick and fresh chips.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family and I ate at Chavalos on our way home from Pagosa. I am not usually a breakfast person but this breakfast was great! I had their green chili breakfast. It came with 2 eggs, green chili, beans, rice and warm tortillas. So good! My daughters ordered their pancake (6 yrs & 4 yrs) - warning - this pancake is huge! They could have shared one. It was fluffy and cooked perfectly! We will eat at Chavolos next time we are in Pagosa.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lori32779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chavolos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Chavolos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing