We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brougt back my youth” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Malt Shoppe

The Malt Shoppe
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Pagosa Springs
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brougt back my youth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Malt Shop is a throw back to what I saw and used in the 50's and early 60's. The food is very good and the ice cream and shakes/malts/floats are great. The place is very busy at lunch and the service suffers a little for it. But it's worth it. And on top of all that, they serve breakfast every morning from 7 - 10 am. Not fancy but really good. The biscuits and gravy are to die for. If you haven't figured it out yet, I like good food without being fancy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BriceEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    70
    46
    28
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The ice cream is wonderful!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband an i liked stopping by here to pick up ice cream treats. We had "avalanches", and " chocolate shakes". The ice cream is homemade tasting.. Mmmm. The inside isnt fancy, it looks like nothing has changed in 30 years, but the ice cream was worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's a Burger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Can't concur with the nasty reviews. Better than a stop at Micky Ds in my opinion. Food is decent--and it's packed on a Sunday at 2pm. Surely the numbers mean something.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Staff was rude and seemed non of them had showered in weeks. Not to mention all the trash behind their building. Very careless business, there are much better ice cream shops in Pagosa I will go to. I will never nor will I ever take or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good idea, just not good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Waffle fries... same shape as Chic-fil-a, but that's about all they share in common.
Burgers were small for the price. "Large drinks" are "mediums" elsewhere.
I'm sure--being a malt shop--desserts are their specialty, but we didn't last that long.
Woman at the counter was very kind & courteous. Cook... not so much; perhaps just having a rough day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paigefindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Malt Shoppe also viewed

 

Been to The Malt Shoppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing