We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fun time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pagosa Outside

Pagosa Outside
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pagosa Outside is Pagosa's favorite outdoor adventure tour company offering whitewater rafting, mountain biking, inflatable kayaking, stand up paddleboards, and whitewater tubing. We also sell rafts, stand-up paddleboards, inflatable kayaks and stock a full line of accessories to outfit your own river adventures. Stop by our shop in downtown Pagosa Springs for Pagosa's best guided trips, quality river gear, local info, and friendly service.
Texas, Gulf Coast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A fun time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The staff at Pagosa Outside is amazing. We tubed for two hours it was a blast. Pagosa Outside offers a shuttle service for the tubing. If you want to tube this is the place to go. The staff made our day on the water super fun. Thanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Danichaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagosaoutside, Manager at Pagosa Outside, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for your review. We take having fun very seriously here at Pagosa Outside! If you thought that tubing was a blast, come back in May or June and check out our rafting trips on the San Juan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    20
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chama River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I went on the inaugural Chama River Raft/Kayak trip (3 days/2 nights). It was the break we'd been looking for. Fantastic scenery, good mix of relaxing current, ripples, and the occasional rapid (particularly the last day). As good as the river itself was, the support we got from the guides was even better. The food was fantastic, lots of fresh fruit and veggies to go with the rib-sticking elements. It's rainy season, and even when we got hit with a massive downpour, just coming off the river, the guides got a tarp up in no time flat to shelter us, then managed to set up the kitchen and start the camp around us as we wimpy guests shivered and sipped bourbon to stay warm (that time of year the rain hits mid-afternoon for an hour or two, then goes away). This wasn't a trip for expert, Class V+ river folk, but for a reasonably relaxing trip with the family, and a fair amount of adventure thrown in between the terrain, the rapids and the weather, you couldn't ask for better.

As for Pagosa Outside's shop in town, it's pretty good, but the staff take it over the bar. You need it, they'll know what to do.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank wittingm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagosaoutside, Manager at Pagosa Outside, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so happy that you joined us on our first multi-day on the Wild and Scenic Rio Chama. It is such a fantastic late season trip and we are excited to share it. We feel fortunate to have such a great group of guides here and we are glad you noticed all the hard work that they do. Hopefully you can join us for another trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun tubing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We rented the tubes for 2 hours and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. As easy as tubing may sound you are still in a wild river. In our case, the river was low which meant that you had to avoid rocks and maneuver to avoid shallow water, and yes, occasionally walk to deeper water. If you are not sure what to expect, ask the staff, they are helpful and want you to enjoy yourself. A few things we learned: lift your butt off of the mesh bottom going over rapids, go into rapids and falls feet first, secure your sunglasses and footwear or you risk losing them. The shuttle was worth the extra cost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagosaoutside, Manager at Pagosa Outside, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. You bring up a great point about expectations during a tubing trip. A lot of our guests have tubed previously on other rivers like the Salt, Frio, or Guadalupe which are very "lazy" rivers compared to the San Juan. They are typically surprised by our rocky and technical little river that takes some manuvering to float down. We call it Whitewater Tubing for a reason and do our best to make sure every one of our guests has a good idea about what to expect when they are on the river!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
110 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fun family activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We did the 2-hour tubing package and had a fun time. River was low, but it was almost better that way for the younger ones with us. The shuttle service was nice - only odd that it doesn't start until 11 though they open at 10. We just did one lap on the shuttle, then played on the tubes near the Hot Springs for awhile. Easily could have gotten a second lap in if the kids had been willing to forgo lunch for a bit. Beautiful scenery, including deer along the river on the day we went. Friendly staff. Go tubing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jstwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pagosaoutside, Manager at Pagosa Outside, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you had fun. It is neat but not unusual that you got to see deer on your float. Even though the stretch of river we tube is right in Pagosa, some times you can feel like you're in the middle of nowhere!
I would like to address your confusion regarding starting time for the shuttle service. The San Juan River through downtown Pagosa is very popular for fishing. We do our best to share the river with everyone else that enjoys it by starting after prime morning fishing time and being off the river once the air temperature begins to cool and the fishing gets good again. We normally open the shop between 8:00 and 9:00 to meet and launch our daily rafting or mountain biking tours.
We hope you can make it back earlier in the summer when the water is higher to enjoy a rafting trip that floats through the same stretch. We have family friendly 1/4 and 1/2 day trips that are great for kids as small as 30 pounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The (Hot) Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hot springs at The Springs in Pagosa Springs is a must. As of today it cost $22.00 for an all day pass. You are allowed to bring in food and drinks. (No glass and not sure about alcohol). They do sell beer there at $5.00 a bottle or a bucket of beer (5 bottles) for $20.00. I think they also sell wine. Lockers cost $2.00 and towels rent for $3.00. You can take your own towel, but if you rent them, you can exchange them any time you need one. For the $22.00 admission you get 18 hot mineral springs varying from 86 degrees to 110 degrees. For an extra $5.00 you can get 5 more pools that are for adults only. The only problem is that the $22.00 only allows you to enter the resort once. You can stay from open to 11:00PM, but once you leave, you can't come back in. You can pay more for an in and out pass. You can also buy weekly passes. Local residents within 60 miles get a discount rate and on Tuesdays it is only $8.00 for locals.
They are called the healing waters because of all the natural minerals in the water. I don't know if that is true, but I do know we all had soft skin for 3 days after we got out and it cleared my son's chapped skin on his hands for a week. THIS IS A DON'T MISS!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank steeler1mws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pagosa Outside also viewed

 
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Pagosa Outside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing