We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Only Best Restaurant in Pagosa Springs”
Review of Alley House Grille

Alley House Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our casual but elegant restaurant is perfect for casual night just ordering pizza and wine, or for an upscale evening of dining and romance. We pride ourselves with a very nice All- American wine list
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The Only Best Restaurant in Pagosa Springs”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

After having eaten at other "recommended" restaurants in town, we were thrilled and delighted to
finally find a REALLY GREAT restaurant!!! This one was the favorite of the owner of the of Hartland
Ranch where we stayed. And boy, was it a GREAT recommendation. Missy, our server was really sweet and helpful. And the food was as good as many NY,LA or Santa Fe restaurants. Delicious and beautifully presented. Nice fresh fish selection and meat selections (I enjoyed a really wonderful lamb chop dish) and pasta or vegetarian dishes available, or you may order their pizza and a salad which I have no doubt would be several cuts above any other pizza in town! Excellent wine selections! And desserts were beyond the beyond. We ordered 4 for table and did a round robin taste test. It was difficult to choose a favorite, all scrumptious! We regretted we didn't eat here
every night instead of other places we had tried.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmormlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    133
    37
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, atmosphere, food and experience!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We just stopped in for dessert on our anniversary and it was definitely the right choice. Missy was our waitress and was so friendly and welcoming. Boone was very kind as well. The two of them, along with the other staff, complimented the best dessert we've had in ages. All that, along with the wonderful setting made our special night even better. Thanks a ton guys. We'll be back and will send people your way!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
122 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food but no dining experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The food was absolutely spectacular! That being said, we left a little disappointed. When we spend a couple hundred dollars on a nice meal along with wonderful food, we are looking for a dining experience. There was no dining experience. The young waitress offered no wine list or menu suggestions, just took our order. Our food came out very quickly and I want to reiterate that it was delicious. Best scallops I've ever had! We asked if we could get some bread with our meal and were told that it would be $3 for an order of grilled bread. No problem, but she didn't tell us that we'd have to ration the 3 small pieces between us. It wasn't worth ordering more since we were already partially thru our meal. We refilled our own wine glasses, she cleared our plates and asked if we were ready for our ticket. We spent approximately $225 for a party of 4 and were in and out in right at an hour.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good establishment in Pagosa Springs, Co.”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Great food, great atmosphere, good service , always stop there once per trip for a meal. we introduce it to all of our guests.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“New chef creates fresh menu for summer with many seafood options”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Summer is always a fun time at the Alley House because the patio is open for dining and a new seasonal menu is available. This year, new chef Teddy is featuring many more seafood dishes than in the past and the result is delightful. We ate with two friends last evening and we all greatly enjoyed our dinners.

My husband’s striped bass with sautéed spinach, grape tomatoes and garlic roasted potatoes was a very tasty, generous meal. Our friend enjoyed his shrimp and andouille skewer with veggies. His wife and I loved our fennel and coriander sautéed shrimp on faro risotto. The special was a grilled halibut that also sounded enticing. With all these new seafood offerings, it is good to see that several of the long-time favorites – especially the house and Thai Caesar salads, which are perfect for sharing, and the many pizzas – remain on the menu.

Owner and incomparable dessert chef Kellie also offers new treats. We shared the Bailey’s Irish cream cheesecake and agreed it was probably the best cheesecake any of us had ever eaten. Again, we are delighted that several of her popular specialties – notably her crème brulee and white chocolate raisin bread pudding – remain on the dessert menu. Change is good -- and mixed with continuity, it is even better.

As always, the service is a perfect blend of pleasant and professional. Ashley was our excellent waitress last night. Ivy, Penny and Sara are also wonderful. The staff is ably supervised by GM Jim and assistant manager Boone. This restaurant has always been – and remains – our favorite in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley House Grille also viewed

 

Been to Alley House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing