We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent everything, food, service, & atmosphere”
Review of Alley House Grille

Alley House Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our casual but elegant restaurant is perfect for casual night just ordering pizza and wine, or for an upscale evening of dining and romance. We pride ourselves with a very nice All- American wine list
Mesquite, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent everything, food, service, & atmosphere”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great food, service and atmosphere. Make a reservation during peak seasons & holidays. Not sure if they cater to children, didn't ask.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    471
    137
    38
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best birthday dinner ever!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

W started with mussels Oh my they were delicious, My husband and I could not resist on the specials the waitress recommended, awesome girl, the whole staff is amazing, a very good customer service. I had the Elk with a Ecuadorian tamale and Veggies, my husband had the ribeye with the best mashed potatoes we have ever had and ring onins (the batter was awesome) ending dinner with a good creme brulee...Best birthday Dinner ever. Amazing staff. We were seated by the fireplace more romantic than that I don't think so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nkotyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Don't pass it up”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you are near Pagosa Springs, even just passing through, you must visit this fine restaurant, just to see what quality food you can get in a small town. Yes, it helps to be a tourism mecca, for skiing, fly fishing, or the springs, but this is a great restaurant, wherever you might find it. Make reservations, as it is likely to be crowded. From the salad, to the main course, the wine selections, the vegetable, but especially the dessert (bread pudding to die for), this kitchen just doesn't miss a step. Presentation is every bit as good as the flavors. Service is informal and casual, but very helpful and well informed. The decor and ambience is upscale as well, a nice surprise that adds to the overall experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very pleasant, upscale restaurant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Restaurant in an old house on the main street. Prices in line with just about anywhere aspiring to be a better restaurant. Good value. We liked the atmosphere here. Great fireplace in the main room. Wonderful bar nicely coordinated with the dining room. Locals mixed easily with travelers. Overall a nice experience.

Watch the "No U-turn signs" in front of the restaurant. The local mounties like to increase their revenue by picking up auslanders who fail to notice them in the dark on a very broad main street. Shame on them. But hey, they're not doing what any tourist locale does when it taxes the auslanders to death on rooms and restaurants

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gobelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“atmosphere and great food!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

historic old house remodeled with warm and inviting eating areas and a beautiful bar area. Try the steamed green curry mussel appetizer. Food and service outstanding. Make reservations!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweetchef59, Owner at Alley House Grille, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I just want to give a big "thank you" to the last two reviews posted on March 1st. And all the great people that have taken the time to review us over these last few months.
We work very hard to keep up our reputation as the "BEST" restaurant in Pagosa Springs!
Respectfully,
Todd and Kellie Stevens
Chef/ Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley House Grille also viewed

 

Been to Alley House Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing