We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice idea but filthy"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pagosa Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice idea but filthy"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The cabins arr nice.. views and area is nice..
The cabins have to be cleaned. Cob webs and bugs everywhere in the rooms. There are no AC units just fans. Service was poor. We rented three cabins for 8 families. Couldn't even get extra towels when needed. For $300 a night I would have expected more attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spatel7424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    1
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place is beautiful and very peaceful. The Stargazer cabin is very nice and is stocked with everything my family and i needed for a relaxing week. The management here is very helpful and kind. Being this close to Pagosa Springs is great, but i could spend my whole day on the deck looking at the amazing mountain view and watching the wildlife.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We have stayed at Harts three different times and have no desire to even look for another place. We love the seclusion that is offered and the cabins are superior to anything else we have seen. They are stocked with everything you need for a very comfortable stay and we LOVE the free firewood. It is very close to town and is a short 15 -20 min. trip to the slopes. We have stayed in two of the four cabins and they were both wonderful but our favorite is definitely The Stargazer. You can't go wrong by booking a cabin for your next getaway.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownwood, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and our three grown children, along with their spouses and a girlfriend, recently enjoyed a short vacation at Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat in Pagosa Springs, Colorado. We stayed in the largest cabin, the Comardo, which has a spacious family room with a fireplace and a large deck facing the east. The sunrise in the morning was spectacular as the soft sunlight filtered through the green pine needles! The dining table had seating for eight people and the kitchen contained basic food preparation items. We especially enjoyed the fireplace, which we used to roast hotdogs one night and marshmallows for s'mores. They provided free firewood! The beds were very comfortable and there were ceiling fans in the bedrooms. The location of the hotel was great, too! It's only a couple of miles south of downtown Pagosa Springs which meant that we didn't have to spend a lot of time driving to restaurants and the San Juan River. Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat provided everything that we were expecting and more from a great family vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chartreusemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Our stay at Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat was great! We stayed in the Camardo cabin. It was very spacious and clean. The cabin was well supplied with everything you would need to cook and have a week's worth of fun. You are in the mountains and woods when you are here, but still close to town and fishing. Mary Hart, the owner, could not have been anymore accomodating. She makes sure your stay is the best! It is a beautiful place to visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRashea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

Summary: For Pagosa Springs, this is one of the better places to stay - and the bakery and Allen House are excellent! However, the grocery store in downtown Pagosa Springs has just been closed and you will need to stock up in Alamosa on your way here (from the east) or drive west through Pagosa Springs a few miles up the road to City Market. The level of housecleaning expected and required of guests exceeds that provided by the owner. You may have better luck with another of her cabins. All in all, it appears something has changed at the property over the last year. For those who also travel extensively through the US and world, you might choose another town to visit for a mountain getaway. For example, we found a two-bedroom, two-bath, loft accommodation amidst trees right on a river w/o road noise or barking dogs, next to a national forest, a few miles away from excellent dining, with standard-rise stairs to the loft, friendly and out-going service, with twice the square footage of the Hummingbird cabin, during the same off-season, same # of nights, for almost $300 less.

Pros: Well-built cabins, not rinky-dink cabins; furniture is a mix of high-quality (and grandma's attic); upstairs loft is very bright and roomy; ceiling fans keep the flow of air nice and breezy since there are only two windows above main-floor-level; fireplace worked well and cleaning tools were at hand; Eagle's Nest looked like a larger, quieter location than Hummingbird; deer walk through the property; old-look stove was kinda cool; switchplates were all scroll-saw custom-made hummingbirds; hummingbird-themed photos, stichery, and metal scuplture; interior wood walls are light-colored; was away from sulpher-smell of the springs; loveseat was a nice soft leather; gazebo was large and in a pretty setting next to the horses; naturalized wildflowers throughout the property; many stars on a clear night; deck was nice and roomy (deck furniture only accommodates two people); wood window blinds for privacy.

Cons: can hear road noise from 84 24/7; access to grill and picnic table is steep; second access to porch has no steps and is a couple feet off the ground; stairs to bedroom in loft are narrow and steep with low handrailing (rent Comardo House if you have arthritis, vertigo, knee injuries, et al); thick layer of dust on lampshades, sculptures and decorations including heart-shaped ristra over downstairs bedroom bed; jacuzzi too small for two average-height, average-weight people to sit in without knees up against their chests or hanging feet on opposite sides outside the tub; hot water only filled tub halfway before running out; downstairs bedroom small and tight; downstairs rooms in general small and tight; "free night" is based on regular season rates, not off-season September rates - therefore, for a stay of 4 Sept nights, you pay the regular season rate for all nights with one regular season rate night free, rather than pay off-season Sept night rates - as a result, you don't get a free Sept-rate night free - if you total it up for the nights at both regular season and Sept season rates, what you're really getting is $20 off in total if you stay during Sept; parking for the cabin is on the side of the property's gravel road alongside the cabin; other cabins' guests drive by your cabin with easy view into your large dining/living window only ~ 15 feet away; adjoining property neighbor's dog barked through the night; must load own firewood, though there IS firewood at the base of the gravel road it is steep and not easy unless one has a truck or doesn't mind putting stacks of firewood in one's car; must not only put dishes in dishwasher, but must get up early enough to eat breakfast, wash the dishes, dry the dishes, run the dishwasher AND put all the dishes away - and clean the fireplace and empty the ashes and take those ashes down to the overflowing ash bin at the head of the property - all before 10 am check-out time; service is friendly but not offered - if one has questions or needs something, one must ask for anything, including more than two rolls of toilet paper or three coffee filters for a week's stay. No welcome note or even just a hello note even for a honeymoon; must bring own blow-dryer/hair-dryer and shampoo, though there are two small soaps; owner handed us a 2008 dining guide which led us on a wild goose chase to restaurants that no longer exist; lamp in loft was broken; some lightbulbs were burnt out (we just replaced them ourselves); no footstools at loveseat or padded rockers to rest tired feet and legs; only one (low-light) reading lamp in the living room; coffee maker was not fully operational - the pause and serve feature did not work; gazebo lights were not operational; welcome book for our cabin was titled and written for the Eagle's Nest cabin; if you have Verizon, there is no signal - and though there is a phone in the cabin, it is only for local calls without an option to call long-distance (as in anywhere other than Pagosa Springs) and pay for the call yourself; earlier check-out time and later check-in time than most properties (and we stay in 1-2 dozen/year all over the world; there was no staff available on check-out day at 10 am - both we and another cabin's couple had to leave our keys outside the office door (no key box) after knocking for over 15 minutes and getting no answer when we phoned the office.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abovethetreeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

10-7-09
Beautiful setting, quiet, wildlife...a retreat. This was my first trip to Pagosa Springs and staying at Hart's made this more than just a business trip. The scenery was amazing - I only wish I'd had more time to spend there. Pam H

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattlePamH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
4.6 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.5 mi away
Canyon Crest Lodge
Canyon Crest Lodge
#3 of 8 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elkwood Manor Bed & Breakfast
Elkwood Manor Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Pagosa Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat

Property: Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat
Address: 2294 Highway 84, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-7704
Location: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hart's Rocky Mountain Retreat is one of life's little secrets that we want you to enjoy year after year. We want to ensure that the hardest part of your getaway is leaving. Two, Three and Four bedroom log homes with fabulous views of the Rocky Mountains, each cabin is nestled peacefully in Ponderosa Pines, and fully furnished from linens to dishes and everything one would need for a perfect getaway or vacation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing