We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Conroe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

We always look foreward to a trip to Ouray, CO! Staying at the Comfort Inn there was great! I read great reviews about this hotel. I knew I needed to do laundry and they had a laundry mat. I always look for continental breakfast and boy did they have it! Hats off to the staff for a great hotel, to the cleanliness and spacious rooms! We will be back again. God Bless ` Larry, Sherrill and Hailey Hooker

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Sherrillhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
87
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2006

Clean, spacious rooms. Very friendly staff. Good high-speed internet connection. Rates are very reasonable. Beautiful view from porch.

  • Liked — Very friendly staff/owner
  • Disliked — Parking space is somewhat limited
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wsucr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We were delighted with our overnight stay at the Ouray Comfort Inn. The owners were very friendly and personable. I hardly ever get a room with a "nice" view. Lots of times I get the roofs' steam vents from the level below so I always notice a view and have a good laugh whether it's lovely or not. Here we were able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the view of the lovely Telluride Rockies.
The breakfast was very tasty - especially the Belgium waffles. Lots of good food the Sunday morning we were there.
We had such a good time at Ouray. The scenery is just spectacular. The Comfort Inn is right off the main street and is convenient for the pool and downtown restaurants. We paid $55.61 for our stay. I look forward to the time when I can return and enjoy the pool and scenery again.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 807wheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2006

I wandered into the town of Ouray during a local ice-climbing exhibition/event (really, you'd have to see it to believe it) without a reservation anywhere in town (though admittedly during an otherwise "quiet" time of the year.) I was pondering a real-estate purchase in nearby Ridgeway, and thought Ouray might offer a good cross-section of the small-town "personality" I might ultimately be buying into. Frankly, I couldn't have been more pleased (and ended-up closing the deal partly because of my experience at the Comfort Inn.)

After a quick pass down Main Street, I took a room at the Comfort Inn, and immediately felt as though I'd known Betty (the Manager) my whole life. And just for background on my taste in accomodations, the previous week had been spent at the Ritz Carlton in another city, and the Four Seasons is a common stop when traveling nationwide and globally.

Now c'mon folks, it's a COMFORT INN for goodness sake! That means exterior entries...no restaurant...abbreviated services.... But watch what SIXTY DOLLARS buys: Clean spacious rooms with plenty of cable options and in-room coffee, free wireless internet (never offered at the Ritz), a fabulous and satisfying array of hot and cold breakfast selections, and plenty of delightful morning conversation with some of the nicest local residents I've had the pleasure to meet in worldwide travel (including in-depth discussions with the Chief of Police, his partner Shane, and a plethora of others who find the breakfast-nook of the Comfort Inn to be Ouray's answer to "Floyd's Barber Shop.")

I haven't had the chance to try the Ouray Chalet, nor other local offerings, but I'll say this: This town is set in one of the most beautiful mountain resort spots on the planet (the Telluride Rockies) and if you subtract the cost of a wonderful breakfast ($25 in Aspen) the cost of a day of wireless "net" (another $10) and factor in unlimited human warmth (priceless) my nights of silent slumber in a locale absolutely mirroring the French Alps (which I had visited the month before) cost the equivalent of a couple of downtown-Dallas martinis.

Sure, there's probably plenty of luxury "somewhere" in town... But for what this property purports to be....you certainly won't be disappointed.

dgantt@millionairdallas.com

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JetDealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2005

This hotel is just off the main street in Ouray. The room was very clean and a good size. A small problem was that you could hear ever footstep on the exterior landing, which might keep the lighter sleeper awake. There was a complimentary continental breakfast but unfortunately we managed to time our breakfast with a girls volleyball team staying at the hotel. It was just as well they'd eaten all the food as they'd also taken up all the seats in the breakfast room. I guess if they hadn't been staying breakfast would have been fine. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2005

Ouray is a spectacular spot in Colorado!! This little hotel is located a couple blocks from the local shops and restaurants. It is a comfortable place to stay, nothing fancy, but clean and has a nice breakfast. Ouray didn't appear to have any large hotels. The town is cute and quaint!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, CO
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2005

I stayed at this hotel for two nights, and found it to be very clean and comfortable. The belgian waffles that other reviewers mentioned were tasty. I chose this hotel over others because it:

1. allowed pets ($10 charge per pet)

2. had wireless internet access, and allowed me to work while my wife was at a conference.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank river.trout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#9 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing