We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Beautiful Ouray” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Ouray
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel in Beautiful Ouray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2008

I was born and raised in Ouray and my sister and her husband meet once or twice a year there. This was my first stay at the Comfort Inn in Ouray but certainly will not be my last. The staff was terrific, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the breakfast each morning excellent. Don't forget about the view each morning of the mountains around, especially the Amphitheater with fresh snow.
Thanks!

  • Liked — Ouray scenery and friendly staff
  • Disliked — liked everything
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cmerling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    26
    7
    9
See reviews for
53
87
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2008

Room was very nice & large sized- great views, very convenient to Main St- the complimentary breakfast was absolutely excellent-homemade waffles were delicious- plus english muffins, egg & sausage patties, etc- best I ever have had offered at any motel- the staff was very nice & accommodating- also reasonably priced, and included 1/2 price Hot Springs passes- Would definitely stay there if I go back to Ouray.

  • Liked — THE ROOM SIZE, LOCATION & BREAKFAST
  • Disliked — BATHROOM FAN MADE NOISE WHEN ON
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NUNZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Took an unexpected roadtrip from Las Vegas to Ouray CO and stayed at the Comfort Inn. BEST DEAL in town forsure. We called over the phone and made reservations and they lady at the front desk was so nice, she gave me a discounted rate. When we arrived they had fresh baked choc.chip cookies for the customers that were so good. Our room had a beautiful view of the mountains and we were right next to the hot tub. Room was quite and cozy. Breakfast was fresh and FREE! Ouray is an awesome get away from the city life. We ate at Billy Goat Gruff's Biergarten and played pool all night. Their hotdogs are the best around.
Plan on staying at the hotel again this winter, will give an update.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while day-hiking in the area. The room was a standard motel type room, with newer bedding. The hotel and the room were very clean and tidy. The breakfast was excellent, with many more choices than you'd normally get in a hotel of this type. They offered eggs, sausage, waffles, cereals, breads, bagels, muffins, etc. The breakfast room was very clean and attended. The owners are on-site and involved with the daily operation of the hotel. The price is right for this area and season in a Colorado mountain town. We will definitely stay here again, as we frequently hike in the area.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank mwdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

My family and I stayed two nights at the Comfort Inn in Ouray in late June 2007. I was really impressed by how well run this small motel is.

The on-site owners/managers do a super job from start to finish.

We wanted to visit Ouray because we have heard how beautiful the area is ... and, wow, that's an understatement. The area around Ouray is amazing.

But we came to Ouray not expecting a great deal from the Comfort Inn. I've had some less than positive experiences with Comfort Inns and the Choice chain in the past (I'm a Diamond VIP with Hilton and spend about 75 nights a year, sometimes more, on the road in the U.S. and overseas).

We were pleasantly surprised.

The room (with two queens) wasn't overly large, but it was spotlessly clean. The beds had quality mattresses, good sheets and bedspreads, and each bed had four good pillows. Everything worked (includng free wireless).

The breakfast (waffles, selection of breads, coffee, juices, fruits, cereals, hot sausage and egg patties) was pretty good. The co-owner was in and out constantly cleaning up and being sure that guests had a good breakfast.

Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The coowner even lent us an atlas to help us plan a trip to area ghost towns.

There were lots of small, nice touches, such as "windshield cleaning stations" for your car and deck chairs at the end of the verandahs for guest use.

Very simply, this is a well-managed property, and the on-site owners/managers know how to run a hotel, something that's increasingly rare these days.

It was a good value (we paid $90 in peak season) and everything more than met our expectations. We'd go back again.

The only caveat I'd make is that most of the rooms, even the first floor rooms on the back side, require you to go up some steps. The second floor rooms on the back side have two flights of stairs. If you have trouble climbing stairs with luggage at 7800 feet (there's no elevator), this could be an issue. There are a few ground level rooms on the first floor on the front side, though these probably go first.

I recommend this place. Wish there were more like it.

  • Liked — Good management; quality beds
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LanSluder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUNTSVILLE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Ouray, Colorado in order to spend a little more time in the area. It was very clean, comfortable,quiet, had an excellent breakfast, and the only problem we had, a barking dog, was addressed immediately. A great value.

  • Liked — Very clean, within walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

We always look foreward to a trip to Ouray, CO! Staying at the Comfort Inn there was great! I read great reviews about this hotel. I knew I needed to do laundry and they had a laundry mat. I always look for continental breakfast and boy did they have it! Hats off to the staff for a great hotel, to the cleanliness and spacious rooms! We will be back again. God Bless ` Larry, Sherrill and Hailey Hooker

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Sherrillhooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 191 5th Avenue, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ouray
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ouray
#9 Family Hotel in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ouray
Ouray Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing