We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“It was truly Christmas in August @ the Christmas House!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas House B&B Inn

Christmas House B&B Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Christmas House B&B Inn
Save
You added Christmas House B&B Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 11 Ouray B&B and Inns
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It was truly Christmas in August @ the Christmas House!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

For my birthday, we stayed 2 nights in the Tannenbaum Suite...and it was a delightful experience! Definitely "splurge" and get the suite! My husband said it was the best we have ever stayed at and we have been in many around the world! The suite was so cozy and such wonderful attention to detail. The queen bed (though a bit small when you're use to a king) was so comfy....when my husband turned over, I couldn't even feel him! The views absolutely incredible. Now the crème de la crème....the scrumptous breakfast each morning in the lovely dining room. The Inn is a vintage victorian home with an amazing history. The work that George & Allison did to turn this into a functional B&B was a labor of love and works on so many levels. The dining experience was punctuated by the tasty breakfasts that George prepared each morning. I loved waking up early, sneaking down to the dining room, pressing the coffee button (all ready to go!) and then enjoying coffee in this marvelouse room next to the window as the sun was coming up! When Allison came in, we would chat as she scurried around turning on the music, the fireplace, the gaslamps and getting everything perfect for us! Thank you for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KaysKreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

The Christmas House B&B is a great place to stay. George and Allyson are great innkeepers and we really enjoyed our stay there. We were there for the 4th. of July and even then it was a quite relaxing stay A great place to relax and enjoy the mountains.

  • Liked — Very nice folks
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KokopelliFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2006

george and allyson crosby were the most incredible owners at a b&b that we have ever experienced! They met us at the foot of the stairs at exactly 9:00 a.m. (our chosen time for their gourmet breakfast) and personally sat us at a beautiful cozy table in a totally decked out dining room. Beautiful music played softly and candles were lit as they brought out a breakfast fit for a queen and my king!!!!! The setting was Christmas and yet wonderfully romantic. The food they themselves prepared was out of this world.
That same evening, after spending a day in one of the most beautiful towns in America, we went back to our room for a wonderful, romantic evening in the private jacuzzi tub and sauna in our room. A trip I will cheerish forever........friends in George and Allyson I will also cheerish for the rest of my life. I plan on keeping in touch with them forever. They felt like friends I had known forever.
I have vacationed in Ouray since the 60"s and I will say this was by far the best time ever....Thanks to George and Allyson...Thanks to them and I hope they never get too busy to see us again!!!!
Becky and Fred....Arlington, Texas

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank bassbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2005

Superb small B&B... The best we've been with! All the amenities at way less than than you would expect with a gourmet breakfast with a real chef!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2005

The Christmas House was a great play to stay in the wonderful little town of Ouray, Colorado. In June of 2004 a party of 7 of my family and friends occupied two rooms on the second floor. We stayed 2 nights in the B&B. The rooms were spacious and the sleeping arrangements were adequate, but during our stay there was a little too much dust everywhere to my liking. Our room had satellite TV, but it had an intermittent signal and was rendered useless. On a better note, the bathrooms were clean, the decks, saunas, and hot tubs were wonderful, and the breakfast was amazing! There was also a wide selection of CDs and DVDs offered at no charge for overnighters to watch up in their rooms. The family housing the guests was very nice and informative, and were a joy to do business with.

Overall the B&B was worth the price. If you are looking for a good bed and breakfast in Ouray, this is your place. It is very possible to find a hotel room in town that is a lower price and is overall better quality, but the bed and breakfast experience's premium is something that should be overlooked. Consider the Christmas House as somewhere to stay in Ouray!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyDenverMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2004

We love the mountains & my husband & I found them all hiding in SW Colorado. We booked a suite at the Christmas House & expected a little B&B with few amenities & a excuse for breakfast... BUT we got a postcard view, a big screen stereo TV with hundreds of free movies, our own private jacuzzi for two, a fireplace, EVEN a private suana for two! Breakfast was true gourmet with the owner/chef a former resturaunteur from Santa Fe. MY MY what a treat for our 10th anniversary! We Love the Christmas House & OURAY!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2004

We searched for a Colorado Rockies destination & found Ouray on the net. The Christmas House sounded almost
whimsical so we gave it a shot and we were very impressed. Our anniversary was ideal in the mistletoe room with our own private sauna. Breakfast was our own choice and was true gourmet.

Helpful?
6 Thank jatstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.0 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 15 in Ouray
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 11 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 11 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 stars 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christmas House B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas House B&B Inn

Property: Christmas House B&B Inn
Address: 310 Main, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 5 suite B&B is AAA rated and has won "Most Scenic View in Colorado". We are featured in "America's Painted Ladies" offering private jacuzzis for 2, private steam saunas for 2, private fireplaces and gourmet menu breakfasts. Honeymoons and romantic getaways are our specialty! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing