We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
74
24
4
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
74
24
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbon tonhis sonhistoric hotelthe ownerother guestsbring kidsantique furniturein townmain streetawesome hotelhot itemsbreakfast was delicioushot tubloved our stayeach morningthe san juan mountainsdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 113 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2017

We enjoyed 2 nights at the St. Elmo while on a weekend getaway. The hotel is clean and tidy. Our room (4) was small, but it had a lot of character. If you like a soft bed, this room is for you. Being on the 2nd floor and not having an elevator our old joints were a bit challenged but we made it through! Breakfast was very nice. We loved the convenience to shops and restaurants downtown. The restaurant downstairs Bon Ton serves delicious food! Make a reservation.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolj456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017

What a beautiful old B & B. Very well maintained and decorated. Really felt like you were staying in the late 1800's with modern conveniences. the owner was very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast was delicious- fresh cooked muffins, eggs, etc. We will definitely stay here again when in the area,

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bsantanello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile

What a fun little hotel. We were impressed with the quaint and friendly atmosphere provided by the owner, Dave. His hotel is 'very' clean, the bed comfortable, and the sheets are a nice quality. After a delicious dinner at the Brick House Restaurant down the street from St. Elmo, we returned to enjoy a relaxing soak in the hot tub out back. Our day ended perfectly as we relaxed, and enjoyed our view of the mountain peaks, stars, and beautiful moon. Ouray and the surrounding area is eye candy for motorcyclists like us. We can't wait to return. If you enjoy a quiet, quaint, and friendly experience the St. Elmo is a great choice.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jodster523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StElmoHotel, Owner at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

I look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017

This was our third time to the hotel and we won't go anywhere else. The owner, Dave and his son Blake, take care of the place, and take care of their guests. Breakfast is served from 8-9AM by Aurora and she is great, and funny! :) You can enjoy your choice of red or white wine, or, a margarita from 4-6p served up by the owner Dave. Great conversations, lots of laughs and the last time we were there, which is 5 hours from our house, the other couple there lives less than 5 minutes from us. We will always stat at the St. Elmo Hotel. If you want a quiet getaway and relaxing time, this is the place to go. There is a hot tub out back and it is kept clean. It's relaxing here. Thanks Dave and Blake for making our stay relaxing.

I highly recommend that your stay be limited to adults only. It's more of a B&B setup and adults find it quiet and relaxing. if you intend or need to bring kids, please call Dave or Blake ahead of time to discuss. ~ Alan/COS

Room Tip: All the rooms have different decor. You can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StElmoHotel, Owner at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Thanks Alan! See y'all in October for the fall color.Hopefully if Deanna comes back she will
leave her cobb at home this time!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017

We spent three nights here and enjoyed our stay. There is no TV in the rooms, but a large flat-screen TV in the common area. The bathroom is well-stocked, but the shower is tiny. The breakfast, which is available from 8-9 AM, offers a variety of juices, cereals, and breads plus hot items such as scrambled eggs or pancakes, hash browns, and sausages. The location is very convenient, allowing easy exploration of Main Street.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Dookie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StElmoHotel, Owner at St. Elmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2017

Glad y'all had a good time! Best part of working here is helping happy people.
David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews