We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ouray Inn(Ouray)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
73
24
4
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
24
4
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbon tonhis sonhistoric hotelthe ownerother guestsbring kidsantique furnituremain streetin townawesome hotelhot tubhot itemsbreakfast was deliciousloved our stayeach morningthe san juan mountainsdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 112 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2014

This is a great B & B set in the Rocky Mountains. It is family owned with David (owner and father) doing desk duty and all around good fellowship. We were greeted by the daughter serving wine for happy hour and offering good ideas for where to go for dinner. St Elmo's is the site of the 2014 TripAdvisor winner for romantic restaurant, Bon Ton, Unfortunately the night we were staying Bon Ton was closed but that did not hamper us. David and his daughter gave us a choice of good places for dinner. The highlight of our stay was breakfast prepared and served by the third family member, we had the pleasure of meeting during our stay. This is surly a stop you will want to make as you enjoy the spectacular Rocky Mountains.

Room Tip: All the room are decorated in victorian antiques. Each unique in its own way.
  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AgnesMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2014

This 9-bedroom historic hotel has been nicely renovated in the not-to-distant past. Very nice Victorian furnishings throughout. Pleasant owners/staff. The room was very quiet even though it faced the street and there were other guests in the place. Very nice seating area overlooking the main street. Good wifi connectivity. Clean room and bath. Good breakfast. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2014

We have stayed here several times through Ouray and been wowed. We were not this time. I understand that there are new owners - and the son and daughter are supremely nice. However - if you've seen Hotel Hell (Gordon Ramsay) you'll get what I mean! Rooms are pretty tired. We had been touring CO in the past week and stayed at some nice places in the same price range ..... Our room had several outlets that didn't work, no shades, no TV (yes, it's in the common room), no hairdryer, and only one trash can in the bathroom. There's a tip envelope in the room (tacky). Amenities are boring and cheap. the buffet part of breakfast was dull - I don't go to B&B's to eat supermarket pastries. The woman there did make very good french toast - with Jimmy Dean sausage links on the side. That redeemed it. When we had come through before they had a really nice wine and cheese hour. Apparently there's no license yet - she explained when we checked in - but she offered to pour us a glass. We did take her up on that - and there was a glass and a half of box wine (which was horrible - it tasted old) that she literally squeezed from the box. Meh.... if you knew we asked - you could have run up the street to have a fresh bottle there! Given the historical nature, there's so much more opportunity for that to shine thru - and to really make it "CO" branded. For instance, soap from Breckenridge Soaps, homemade granola, bakery items - from the bakery next door!! After 10 nights of boutique stays, this was last on the list and that's a shame. I really hope the new owners will watch Hotel Hell - and check out Gordon's magic. :) I wanted to really enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTWChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2014

With the St. Elmo's under new ownership and management, our stay there could not have been better. The Victorian charm is at it's best in the historic landmark hotel, and the views of the surrounding mountain range are never ending. Very clean room/bathroom with extra nice linens, towels, tissues, and other extras! A must return is already in the planning!!
MSF - Southlake, TX

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room at St. Elmo's ayer hearing wonderful things about it from family members that always stayed at St. Elmo's hotel wyeb visiting Ouray. We had great expectations after reading reviews in trip advisor. Unfortunately, we were extremely disappointed by our stay from the moment we walked in.

Apparently this B&B was bought by a family from San Antonio. Now, my husband is from San Antonio and we are very accustomed to friendly faces. Once we walked in, we saw a girl who was on her phone texting. We didn't think she worked there but apparently, she's the daughter of the owner. She checked us in without even looking up from her phone. Her brother came out and he was a lot more friendly. He even gave us some useful tips on places to visit in town.

Once we got to the room, it had an odor to it and not as clean as we were expecting for a pricey room. The only thing we liked about the place was the breakfast and even the spread wasn't that impressive. Laura made us homemade waffles which was nice. Overall, we were disappointed at our stay because of the first impression. We might as well have stayed at a motel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews