We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Face on the Barroom Floor”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
Senlis, France
Level Contributor
225 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Face on the Barroom Floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We wanted authentic and we got it. This old, old hotel is exactly as it has been for décades, with creaky floors, antique furniture, the original wallpaper, and history. If the walls could talk....be sure to participate in the owner's tour of the hotel as he explains all the rowdy past : gunfights, ladies of the night, and of course, the face on the barroom floor. He also runs jeep tours.
I recommend one of the bigger rooms to the front of the building, as these have their own toilets and bath. The bathtub is behind a screen in the room, the sink is up against the lovely dark blue wallpaper and the toilet is in a small cubbyhole built for that purpose. But, hey, in the Old West, those niceties weren't in the room at all! If you are used to youth hostels, take the smaller rooms with bathrooms in the hall. If you have leg problems, this hotel is not for you as you have to get up a long flight of stairs to the rooms. We enjoyed the old-time feel of the place and hope that they can eventually repair and repaint some of the upstairs walls and furniture which in some places, were a little shabby but then again, it's history!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are looking for a modern, cookie-cutter hotel room, this ain't your place! It IS your place if you are looking for a touch of Old West feel and history with creaky old wood floors, no TVs (YES!), simple, vintage furniture and decor, a shared bathroom down the hall (except the 2 more expensive rooms with their own baths) and at a bargain price. My son and I stayed here 2 nights over Labor Day weekend as we jeeped with the San Juan Scenic Jeep Tour company, also based in the hotel, another great experience. Margaret at the front desk was just a gem and very willing to help with anything you needed! We were also pleasantly surprised by the excellent dinner we had in the hotel's restaurant one night. It was a very enjoyable and affordable weekend and a nice contrast to the typical modern, no-character hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

i'm used to complaining when i feeled burned about somethiong , but today i would like to say something nice about a great histroic hotel , send the kids to the little rooms which share one of three baths in the hall while the parents can get some free time in the spacious front suite complete with claw foot bat tub . . the san juan jeep trips come right to the front door .
tight budget or just like to strecth your vacation dollar , this is the right place , clean friendly and historic . doc holiday stayed here .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tristin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the Historic Western Hotel to stay at a cheap place in downtown Ouray. True to their description, it was cheap and the room was just a bed. That was fine because we knew that we weren't going to spend much time in the hotel.

We booked the hotel 5 months ago because I am the type of person that needs to know everything is taken care of far in advance of a vacation. When we got there, the owner was at the front desk. He gave us a room key and said "it should be clean, but if not, let him know." A little weird, but OK. We walked upstairs, opened the door, and found that someone's belongings were still in the room!! When we walked back downstairs and explained that someone was still in the room, he gave us another key and said to "try it out" and let him know if someone was still in THAT room. This is making me nervous that not only would we walk in on someone, but what would happen to our belongings in the room while we were out in the town? What if he gave someone the key to my room?

Anyway, the second room was unclean but no one appeared to be checked into it. He said he would have the room cleaned and in the meantime gave my husband a free beer for the trouble. He didn't give me a free beer because I "didn't speak up fast enough."

The room itself was very very hot. There are no fans, the window opens to a little space between the rooms on the other wing, and no air conditioning. We had to sleep with the door to our room open because it was so unbearably hot.

There were stains on the carpet and debris littering the halls. Everything needed to be cleaned.

Ouray would have been my favorite town in CO to visit if it hadn't been for this hotel and the owner putting a very negative spin on our vacation. I preferred to sleep in the car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justme339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ouray hotels

Cheadle, Midlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My son and I were on a Harley Davidson trip from LA to New York, (We flew from England) and we found Ouray the fourth night in. We parked our Harleys right outside, and were immediately welcomed by the owners. We booked a meal for later - I ordered a locally caught fish - and were shown to our rooms. Amazing! The Victorian character has been maintained to give guests a stay they won't forget. Original plumbing and furniture and decor. We loved it. The food and beer was as good as promised.
I wish we could have stayed longer in Ouray, but at the time New York still seemed a long way away (which it was, of course!). This hotel remains one of my very special memories of a great US trip. Five stars, definitely. C.A.

Room Tip: The hotel is wacky and old and brimming with character. Go for the fish - mine was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The idea of this hotel is that the rooms and services are as close as possible to how things would have been when the place was first built in the 1800s. It's a great idea and works really well!

We had room 1 with two beds and a private bath. It's an extremely beautiful room with antique furnishings and hand painted wallpaper, and we love it here. The private bath would be much better for a couple than for friends as the privacy screen is very decorative but in no way functional and we ended up using the shared showers anyway. But it's very unique and charming anyway.

The restaurant is good, the beer selection is great, and we liked sitting out on the deck enjoying the view.

The best thing about staying here is the jeep tour. Great fun and a fantastic, knowledgable guide!

Would definitely come back if I was ever in the area again.

Room Tip: I peeked into the standard rooms and the one with the private bath is about twice the size, and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this quaint display of the 1800's. Most of the hotel remains as it was back then. Old west photos and stories abound. The creaky floors and antique furniture in every room , every corner, echo back to a time long gone. Its for the sentimentalist. The historian. The unpretentious, the culturalist. Greg is an amazing host/owner. The stories he recounts are fabulous ad documented! You may pay extra for the few rooms that house a private bath, or ruff it and share a community style bath, ball and claw tub antique settee, and all. Thats actually what we love about it! No TV in your room, old light fixtures and furniture. The bar is original down to the ladies face painted on the floor and the art on the walls. Beautiful wood burning stoves adorned in silver, specialty shots served up creatively by Bryce, mediterranian cooking by the wife, Rosemarie, as well as her excellent hand made pizza's, and yet she is famous for her trout dish! Great people run this piece of history. Don't miss out.....We've been back 3 times in 20 years and plan to go again and again! The price is right too! The best jeep tours of the San Juan mountains have been offered here for decades and featured by national geographic. You really get more than what you pay for. Awesome place! Tell them Katie and Duane , the anniversary couple from Clovis, sent you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! use the old fashioned bathing room with the claw foot tub, just for &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Property: Historic Western Hotel
Address: 210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing