We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Brilliant and memorable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Western Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
Cheadle, Midlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant and memorable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My son and I were on a Harley Davidson trip from LA to New York, (We flew from England) and we found Ouray the fourth night in. We parked our Harleys right outside, and were immediately welcomed by the owners. We booked a meal for later - I ordered a locally caught fish - and were shown to our rooms. Amazing! The Victorian character has been maintained to give guests a stay they won't forget. Original plumbing and furniture and decor. We loved it. The food and beer was as good as promised.
I wish we could have stayed longer in Ouray, but at the time New York still seemed a long way away (which it was, of course!). This hotel remains one of my very special memories of a great US trip. Five stars, definitely. C.A.

Room Tip: The hotel is wacky and old and brimming with character. Go for the fish - mine was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The idea of this hotel is that the rooms and services are as close as possible to how things would have been when the place was first built in the 1800s. It's a great idea and works really well!

We had room 1 with two beds and a private bath. It's an extremely beautiful room with antique furnishings and hand painted wallpaper, and we love it here. The private bath would be much better for a couple than for friends as the privacy screen is very decorative but in no way functional and we ended up using the shared showers anyway. But it's very unique and charming anyway.

The restaurant is good, the beer selection is great, and we liked sitting out on the deck enjoying the view.

The best thing about staying here is the jeep tour. Great fun and a fantastic, knowledgable guide!

Would definitely come back if I was ever in the area again.

Room Tip: I peeked into the standard rooms and the one with the private bath is about twice the size, and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this quaint display of the 1800's. Most of the hotel remains as it was back then. Old west photos and stories abound. The creaky floors and antique furniture in every room , every corner, echo back to a time long gone. Its for the sentimentalist. The historian. The unpretentious, the culturalist. Greg is an amazing host/owner. The stories he recounts are fabulous ad documented! You may pay extra for the few rooms that house a private bath, or ruff it and share a community style bath, ball and claw tub antique settee, and all. Thats actually what we love about it! No TV in your room, old light fixtures and furniture. The bar is original down to the ladies face painted on the floor and the art on the walls. Beautiful wood burning stoves adorned in silver, specialty shots served up creatively by Bryce, mediterranian cooking by the wife, Rosemarie, as well as her excellent hand made pizza's, and yet she is famous for her trout dish! Great people run this piece of history. Don't miss out.....We've been back 3 times in 20 years and plan to go again and again! The price is right too! The best jeep tours of the San Juan mountains have been offered here for decades and featured by national geographic. You really get more than what you pay for. Awesome place! Tell them Katie and Duane , the anniversary couple from Clovis, sent you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! use the old fashioned bathing room with the claw foot tub, just for &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ok well I am easy to please, and was just looking for a clean safe place to stay and cheap. Well it is cheap, but man it is way more 'rustic' than I thought it would be. The room was super small and very old, which is ok, and the usual paint coming off the walls and the lone light bulb hanging from a string from the ceiling was a nice touch, but the one window barely opened and you had to prop it up with some old plywood from the scraps just outside the window, it has no screen, and obviously no a/c or air movement whatsoever so it was really hot and gross. The window at night looked directly into another room about 6 feet away, so there was zero privacy and I had to use a blanket and rig it up along the window.......you get the idea. You will survive here, but it is a bit dicey.........I would camp the next time........

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ouray hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

There is loads of history and character here, and a nice change from "cookie cutter" motels. We stayed in an old style room with high ceiling and lace curtains, with a shared bathroom down the hall. A little worn and not to everyone's taste, but very cheap to stay and it met all of our needs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel is rich in history. We had a drink in the bar. They also have a nice outdoor bar we could have used, but it had rained. Drinks are a bit pricey, but the view is nice and right off the Main Street. They have alot of different beers if you're interested in that. This is the oldest wooden hotel in the United States.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We only called here for a few drinks one night but the staff were nice, friendly and entertaining. I would call again. 4/5

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steven009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ouray Victorian Inn
Ouray Victorian Inn
#5 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Property: Historic Western Hotel
Address: 210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing