We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spent a night in the off season, waste of money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Western Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ouray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Western Hotel
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“spent a night in the off season, waste of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel thinking it would be really cool to stay at an historic hotel and we are big into staying at family run smaller places and B&B's when we travel. So we thought hey this looks nice, mind you it was off season, January. We show up in the evening to a dark locked hotel, we called the owner, she showed up and let us in. We were the only ones staying in the whole hotel! No lights on, Heat wasnt turned on for us and we stayed in one of the rooms with the shared bath down the hall. Not even a mention of upgrading us to the suite rooms since we were the only people in the hotel! So needless to say we were cold all night (old heating system) and not only that we had to walk down a freezing hall to the bathrooms that were freezing too. Would it have been too much to say hey youre the only ones here tonight, why dont you take one of the rooms with the bath attached? Enjoy your evening. Totally not worth it, room was dingy, needs upkeep all over and we never got warm the whole night. Owners seem to put more effort into their jeep business, nice enough but come on upgrade your only customers to a nicer room. Maybe its different in the summer months there, but for your money go down the street and stay at a place that has comfy beds(hard as a board) and heat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank emily g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    14
    4
    10
    10
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel is really nice! It is like travel to old times! It feels really authentic! We were the only guests and we got the king size bedroom with private bathroom!
The only disappointing thing is that the bathtub was quite old and not heated enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwakou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Loved this hotel....the staff was friendly and willing to help out with anything. Loved the old west feeling with no phone or TV in room. The claw bathtub was cool, too.

Room Tip: If going to stay at this hotel around 4th of July.....get room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dldavisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Maintenance of the hotel needs improvement. The blinds were broken and fell out of the window, and the shower curtain was secured by a piece of plastic wrap. My biggest concern was the smoke alarm sitting on a shelf without a battery. This historical hotel has potential if more effort was placed into maintenance and restoration.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaucyBSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ouray hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I am staying here for one week and have two nights left. The owner and his family have been great, they are very willing to please. The only thing I would like is WIFI, there is access from down the street, but it can't be counted on. Next door, Switzerland of America, wouldn't give me access to theirs. Also, this hotel offers tours to just about everywhere desired...it is not advertised well.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4784lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed for a night in the Historic Western Hotel. The owner was very friendly, told us about the historic of the (120 year old) hotel and showed us the saloon. He also opened the bar and we could drink a beer. The hotel is great, becaue it is very authentic and most parts are original.

Location
- Ouray is no location. Wheater you want to be there or not.

Rooms
- Old fashion style with charm.
- Clean
- No TV (but who needs it?)

Service
- Well, no service except the owner and his son. They are both very helpul. You can't expect a room service

Price
- we paid 50$ a night for a room with shared bathroom. I didn't mind, because it seemed we were the only guests

Therefore when you are in the area, then consider to stay in this hotel for one or two nights.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FabianMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2010

Enroute to San Diego from New Hampshire by motorcycle me and my wife found ourselves in Ouray, late in the afternoon, tired from the winding Rt550 and wanting to call it a day. Unfortunately Ouray was crowded for some reason and luckily there were no rooms available any wheres but the HWH. What a treat. We loved it and it is one of the many memorable parts of our 2 wheeled vacation.

The proprietor greeted us, was accomadating,friendly and courteous. Once checked in we hunkerd to the bar for libations and deliscious food. We weren't disappointed. We spent the evening there eating,drinking and chatting with other guest and diners.

This hotel is not your typical Comfort Inn,Holiday Inn etc... instead its a wonderful step back in time to an era long gone. If you're looking for a one of a kind experience check into the Historic Western Hotel, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank badinfluence63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
0.3 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Western Hotel

Property: Historic Western Hotel
Address: 210 Seventh Ave., Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Historic Western Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing