We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MAGICAL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“MAGICAL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

What amazing place!!! the place was beautiful and cozy. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Their breakfast made a vegetarian brake her vow! over, and over again! The bed was super comfy. The linens where very nice. I felt like i was visiting family!
The view of the mountains from the observatory are really magical!
The outside hot tub at night while snowing was really something to remember.
I feel so happy that i was able to spend my birthday surounded by such beauty and love this weekend!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Black Bear Manor in Ouray, Colorado is truly a spectacular Bed & Breakfast you must visit. The staff treats you so well you never want to leave. The food is incredible, the view absolutely spectacular from every angle. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Just a short walk into town where the store merchants address you with warm hellos and how are you today greetings. This is definitely a place you want to put on your list of places to visit. Thank you Phil, Lucy and Carol!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondini53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2010

Where do I begin? Black Bear Manor is a one of a kind experience! The manor itself is nestled so perfectly in the little town of Ouray, 2 blocks away from Main street. we walked everywhere! The staff, especially Carol is professional and so courteous. hey have a way of making everyone feel like family. The FOOD!! is AMAZING! Made with a lot of love. I love how everyone congregates at around 4:30pm for a glass of wine. The beds are so comfortable I slept so well. and last but NOT least, the observatory, WOW!! I did morning yoga and watched the sun come up over the snow covered mountains! Breathtaking views!!!
It was a magical experience and I will DEFINITELY be back with MORE folks! thank you!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samanthasbeachmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was an amazing trip to the mountains. If you're ever looking for a away for some peace and quite this is the place. The house keeper is very polite and obliging. The food was delicious and hearty. The rooms are very clean and cozy. If your looking for a view from your window this place has it from all angles. I would definitly go back year after year!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreazlibut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

What a wonderful place. Every bit of attention was given to even the smallest of details. We had a wonderful time and we're looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveledPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ms
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We recently spent three night at the Black Bear. We actually lived in Ouray for seven years, so we pretty much know every lodging alternative in town and there are many really nice ones. On our last trip we decided to give the Black Bear a shot. We had been in the lobby, but we had never seen the rooms. When we checked in we were pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the room was. One problem I have with B&Bs is I always wake up really early and need a place to hang out. I was thrilled to find that the Black Bear has an "observatory" only a few feet from my room. This little room is comfortably decked out with sofa, chairs TV and microwave. It has glass around three sides with glorious views of the San Juans. It was the perfect place for me to sit, answer my email and watch the sun rise. I was thirsty so I decided to run down the the kitchen to see if anyone was up fixing coffee. It was too early but I found a small fridge full of soft drinks and water provided for the guests. Nice. I didnt even have to fumble around for change. I won't even bother to mention the breakfast because it has been covered in other reviews. I suppose that if you were allergic to several food items on the menu, you would probably just sit down to eat any way and have the cook call 911!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catfishbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

The confirmation email from the Black Bear said their goal was to convince us to never stay anywhere else. Even though they must have meant in Ouray, we will not only stay there whenever we're in Ouray, we will, in future trips through Colorado, choose Ouray instead of Durango or Montrose so that we can stay at the Black Bear again. Everything was the best B&B we have experienced, beginning with a charming hostess. Her friends even stopped by for the chat on the patio. The breakfast was a "do you share your recipes?" one. She does.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn Motel
Matterhorn Motel
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 9 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing