We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy room, fantastic breakfast and stunning views”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2009

My wife and I just stayed at the Black Bear Manor with 4 other close couple-friends towards the end of October. The accommodations were perfect and beautiful. The town was cute, the hikes were tons of fun, but it was the snowy mountain vistas that kept catching us off guard. The Black Bear Manor has this great cozy observatory on the third floor with windows towards all surrounding mountains - the perfect place to cuddle up for a mid-fall snowfall.

Don't get me started on the breakfast. We got the recipes for everything we got to try and I am still dreaming about the baked peach french toast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 435 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2009

We have stayed at Black Bear Manor a couple times before, and each time it just gets better! Went this time with 4 other couples - space very conducive to spending time altogether. Breakfasts were absolutely amazing as always, hosts were ultra friendly. Wish we were still there...already looking forward to next year's trip!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingDenverites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Great staff, understanding & helpful.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bike_guyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

First time staying in a B&B and our stay was so pleasant. The owners had thought of every detail to make the room inviting and their guests welcome. Housekeeping was immaculate. The breakfast was outstanding and offered something for every person's palate. Snacks were always available. Anyone traveling to or through the area I would recommend checking Black Bear out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We came to Ouray to celebrate our anniversary and our stay at the Black Bear Manor made the trip fantastic. Our hosts were exceptionally gracious and provided excellent suggestions for local hikes and dining. The breakfasts alone would be worth a return visit. The room was comfortable and we woke up refreshed and ready for another day of hiking in this beautiful area. The hotel is a short stroll from great restaurants and shops and the patio provides a lovely view of the alpenglow sunset on the surrounding mountains. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sno-hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights last week, it is a wonderful place. Friendly folks, beautiful rooms, outstanding breakfast. Ouray is a perfect place to get away for a few days, many things to see and do. We will be back, and back the the Black Bear. Many thanks to Terri, Carol, and the others there making out stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

We stayed here for two nights while traveling the San Juan highway. It is a lovely place and the morning meals are exceptional - delicious and more than you can possibly eat! You won't want another meal until dinner!

The innkeepers are professional, friendly and helpful. Complimentary wine and beer is served in the early evening. They can recommend good places to dine - most within walking distance of the house. The complimentary chocolates in your room will be wonderful!

Our bedroom was very nice, clean and comfortable, but nothing extraordinary to rave about. The dining area was bright, cheery and very pleasant. We enjoyed chatting with the other guests - that's a big plus with B&Bs - the guests and innkeepers share many interesting experiences. The hot tub was on the cooler side, but relaxing.

I had the impression from pictures that this B&B was nestled in the mountains; it is not. It is on a side street off the main street through town with all the shops and restaurants in walking distance. Parking is on the street right in front of the house - very convenient!

We enjoyed our stay here and if we go back to Ouray, we'd stay here again. It is a nice place with super innkeepers who know how to make the breakfast meal a feast!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Route31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
936 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
141 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: $159 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing