We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect 10”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain Hills, Arizona
1 review
“A perfect 10”
Reviewed March 10, 2009

We thought the food and hospitality at the best B and B's in Ireland was fantastic but even that experience does not compare with the Black Bear Manor! And what a beautiful location! It was absolulely a perfect 10 in every area and we can not wait to tell all our friends and go back ourselves. Life is about making memories and the Black Bear Manor is the place for pleasant memories and restoration of the soul. Excellent staff!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenofNothing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
260
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2009

We loved the personal attention we received the moment we arrived. We were greeted by Carol and Ken, the managers.of Black Bear Manor. The town is in the heart of Ouray surrounded by beautiful mountains in a very peaceful setting. The suite rooms were all decorated differently and beautifully appointed. In the morning we woke up by the amazing smell of their very own Organic blend of NuJava Coffee and an unbelievable made to order breakfast. We felt like we were the only guest in the Manor. We can't wait to come back next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bfh622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Black Bear Manor is a little bit of heaven on earth. The awesome beauty of the location, combined with the quaint, comfortable lodging and delicious home cooking are a complete package for a "Must Stay" destination.
Whether you like outdoor activities, shopping in the village or enjoy relaxing with a good book and a glass of wine you will find pleasant memories at Black Bear Manor.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProsperousLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2009

Black Bear Manor is quaint, clean, modern yet comfy and the staff and food is excellent.
I have been several times and would highly recommend! Great for family or business recognition trip!
It is a wonderful retreat! any time of year.. Hiking, observatory, just get away from it all!
A little piece of paradise in the mountains!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston texas
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2008

We have just returned from the most extraordinary Bed & Breakfast that I have ever encountered, The Black Bear Manor in Ouray Col. When We first arrived there we were greeted like a long lost member of the family. Teri was there when we checked in. She went out of her way to make feel comfortable. Tha room was very comfortable and everything was just great. The bed was the most comfortable my Wife or I had ever slept on. The next day we met our host , Ken and Carol. It was very apparent that they love what they are doing, and love people. We stayed a total of 11 days at this" Little Bit of Heaven on Earth" before having to return home. My Wife & I would not hesitate to recomend Ken & Carol at the Black Bear Manor to any one looking for a great place to stay in Ouray Col. Everything from the wonderful breakfast to the wine and beer happy hour to the most comfortable rooms, were over the top. Thanks to all for the wonderful time.
Bill and Cindy
Houston Tx.

  • Liked — Tha most comfortable room
  • Disliked — Having to leave to come home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wilynco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home computer
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We just returned from a visit to the Black Bear Manor Bed & Breakfast in Ouray, CO. Our stay was for 5 nights and our only regret was when it was time to leave. We had a wonderful room!

A full hot breakfast served each morning with a variety of choices was a great way to start the day.

Carol, Ken and the whole staff go way over the top with excellent service. Delightful people to get to know. Could be friends forever.

Lawrence & Judy
Fort Collins, CO

  • Liked — The outstanding service!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vacations2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Basing our view that it is overpriced by the fact that we stayed at a Telluride spa resort the night before for slightly less, with luxery linens, lap pool, large marble bath, private deck, etc.
The decoration at the Black Bear needs updating and is cluttered.
Nice people and a cozy spot with good breakfast, but not as advertised.
Based on what we saw in town, you can find the same for less.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Decoration, Small bath
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank itu1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing