We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Bear Manor is Extraordinary”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Bear Manor is Extraordinary”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I can't say enough about the hospitality of Lucy and Phil. We were late in arriving and there they were, waiting outside in the swing, with a bottle of wine to share. The room was beautiful and spacious - the breakfasts not to be missed. Thank you Lucy for giving me your recipe for the Broccoli/Tofu Quiche. That will be a real hit with my family. Looking forward to introducing my husband to The Black Bear Manor for a another great experience. Take care, Karen

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
260
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Black Bear Manor was beautiful, was within walking distance to town. Rooms were immaculate and breakfast was awesome!!! Phil and Lucy treated you like family not guests. We will definitely go back.

Thanks again!!!!
Scott and Heather

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Midge128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Black Bear Manor is conveniently situated in downtown Ouray, within walking distance of the downtown shops and restaurants. The hosts bend over backwards to accommodate the guests,offering complimentary wine and beer from 4:30 to 5:30 (although the website says from 4 until 6), and an enormous bounty of breakfast foods served buffet style. One breakfast was scrambled eggs, lemon sunburst coffee cake, pork sausage, butterscotch pull apart bread, apple raisin muffins, ham tortilla green chile egg bake, assorted fresh fruit, OJ, coffee, cereals, etc. The prior day there was a wonderful custardy peach french toast, hash brown egg bake, watermelon, fruit, bacon, banana vanilla muffins and other homemade selections. Possibly because of the extensiveness of the breakfast, it is not served until 9 am. There is an attractive outdoor deck with seating for breakfast or to relax in the evenings. There are beautiful flowers in the outdoor areas and an outdoor hot tub. The bed was comfortable although the room was not large. Our sink was in the bedroom area and only a small shampoo bottle and moisturizer were provided. Although the website said that all rooms have windows that open, ours only had a sliding screen door that couldn't be left open at night and still have security. While we were there at an unusually warm time, we weren't told how to run the swamp cooler, but there was a ceiling fan and standalone fan. While the website notes that some rooms are on the "river side", the B&B is not on the river but one property away and there isn't a direct view of the river from a "river side" room. The managers of this property sincerely work to create a pleasant stay for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

In town for my niece's wedding, much of our family practically took over this wonderful B&B. Phil and Lucy did a terrific job with friendliness and hospitality. Clearly, they love this job. My husband and I stayed in room #5, and our only complaint is that the lighting could be brighter. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarahanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Black Bear Manor was my girlfriend and I's first bed and breakfast experience. Phil and Lucy made our stay wonderful. They were extremely friendly, willing to help you plan events for the day, and even upgraded our room for no additional charge. The breakfast was great and plentiful with a wide variety of foods and food groups. The afternoon wine tasting was a great way to kick off the night life, and everything in town is only a short walk from the rooms. Ouray is beautiful and full of intelligent friendly people. We will be returning and hope to stay at Black Bear Manor again. Thank you Lucy and Phil.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, USA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a great stay at the Black Bear. It is just a block off the main street, and in a nice quiet spot. We left our window open at night and the river lulled us to sleep. The rooms all have their own outside entrance, or you can enter through the main living room area. Our hosts were delightful and very helpful with hiking ideas and suggestions on what to do around town. We felt so at home, and the lodging was beautiful! And of course the breakfasts were so delicious that we were stuffed when we left each morning for our hikes or other activities.

Ouray is a gorgeous location, and we hope to go back again. We would definitely stay at the Black Bear again. Most other locations in town were motels, and we were pleased to be staying in such a lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had a great time here! We stayed here for a weekend and had an amazing time. The hosts were nothing but gracious. The breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B&B. The rooms were smallish, but with great beds and very clean. It's in a quiet yet central location. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Talk to the owners or manager, they will do their best to make the stay amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLovesSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#8 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing