We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic”
Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time here. From the moment we arrived at the FREE beer and wine welcome/happy hour, to the moment we left, we enjoyed the Manor’s central location to dinning, nature, parks, and history. The couple running the place went out of their way to make this place feel like a home away from home. They provide a wonderful breakfast (better than any hotels spread), and directions to restaurants, local services, jeeping and hiking trails, and other activities to keep us busy. The effort they put into making this place comfortable and fun really shows. The views from our room and from the deck were spectacular (hard to go wrong in Ouray but this place was great). The welcome reception with free drinks allowed us to meet and talk with the other guests, which was great, all of them wonderful, this place attracts a great class of people.

And did I mention FREE happy hour nightly?

We will be headed back here!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just left the picturesque town of Ouray after two wonderful nights at the Black Bear Manor. We had two pleasant rooms with comfortable king beds. What surely makes everyone rave about the Black Bear Manor is the food & hospitality, some of the best you'll find anywhere. There is nothing better than sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine or beer, graciously provided by the hosts, and listening to the wind in the aspens and looking at the dramatic view of the contains!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We drove into Ouray and decided to stay the night - it's a great little town, by far one of the nicest places we visited in Colorado. We checked out tripadvisor, found this place and walked in. The owner was very welcoming, gave us a nice room on the ground floor and even though we had missed happy hour she gave us a half bottle of wine to polish off!
In the morning we were treated to the most amazing breakfast.
For the price you get a great hotel, fantastic service and amazing food. BOOK!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were lucky to find a room on short notice. We enjoyed the place so much we extended our stay there. Helpful staff, good food, comfortable room, good location. What else can one ask for?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We spent two nights here and arrived slightly late for the Happy Hour, but the owner still insisted on pouring us a beer.

The location was lovely, as was the bedroom. The breakfast was very tasty and different each day (Holiday Inn Moab take note!) and I'd definitely stop again if I return to Ouray.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank spnorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice room and breakfast. Do not stay if the forecast is for heat. They really need AC upstairs as the rooms have no cross ventilation. Very convienient to town and highway.

Room Tip: Stay downstairs if the weather is hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crowslex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

We are so happy you had a wonderful stay. We have had an unseasonably warm spring and summer here in Ouray. Typically, we are a mountain community that does not require AC. We are aware of the seasonably warm weather, so we now have purchased portable evaporative coolers/humidifiers for each room. Also all of our rooms have screens on the exterior doors or windows that open to assist with cooling as well. In the evening it is cool enough for windows and screen doors to be left open. (50-60 degrees overnight). We hope this will help with any future stays you may have with us. We want our guests to be comfortable at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the least expensive room and it was fine. A/C would be nice but not needed most nights. Our room, 9, had no view but we were only there to sleep and clean up so not a big deal to us. Clean room, comfortable, but firm bed and friendly staff willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay the best it can be. The highlight of our stay was the hot breakfast served at 9:00 AM. I recommend arriving 10-15 minutes early to enjoy a bowl of fruit and a cup of coffee or tea and to snag an outdoor patio table with an umbrella. You will not need to eat again until dinner. We also enjoyed happy hour one evening. We sat on the porch swing while sipping a glass of Malbec before heading off to dinner. We will stay here again and will recommend this place to friends.

Room Tip: If view is important to you don't choose the Standard Plus room. There are certain rooms that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merwinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#11 of 15 in Ouray
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
104 reviews
0 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 8 in Ouray
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: $159 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing