We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Bear Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Manor
Ranked #2 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
colo. springs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2007

Although it's not the fanciest, oldest, grandest etc. B&B iv'e stayed in, for this little remote town it is pretty good. Our accomodations were small, not much of a lounging area, no public computer. It was a little hard to find going up and down the streets in a snowstorm. I don't believe the hottub was actually working, but it was very cold and snowy outside. There was nowhere for you to dust off the snowboots or put the huge coats and equipment when you came in. There was no one to greet us either. But we did arrive later. As an accomodation in Ouray, i have to say it's very good. it's clean, comfortable, friendly. once we finally met the owners the next morning, they were very helpful, and engaging, and most of all the breakfast was Fantastic! defintely the best breakfast in ouray, i've had. in summer i'm sure the house is great. they just need to run some specials on prices, and be more accomodating for winter guests and all the equipment that entails. (ice festival time). overall i' would certainly recommended this B&B. good job.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank arthaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    21
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
259
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

I read a review about the Black Bear Manor that said the owners, Phil and Lucie would spoil you...and spoil they did. The rooms were lovely and comfortable and the breakfasts were outstanding. This was our first experience staying at a B & B and we loved it. The hosts are very warm and welcoming, and their little Scottie dog Smudge, adds a lot of charm. You will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCtravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2007

Absolutely awesome. Phil and Lucie were wonderful hosts and have created a very warm and comfortable B&B. I definitely recommend the Black Bear Manor to anyone staying in Ouray.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank svaghti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

My wife and I both feel that this is the best B&B we have EVER stayed in. Although we were only there for two nights, Phil and Lucie welcomed us like we were old friends. They gave us great advice on what to do in and around Ouray, helped make dinner reservations, and as for Lucie's breakfast in the morning.....wow.....We stayed in room 8 which suited our needs perfectly! We will definitely return to Black Bear Manor!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jjohnson41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale,AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2007

We just returned from Ouray and 3 nights at Black Bear Manor. We have travelled alot and stayed in a number of B&B's and this rivals the best of them. It would be difficult to find more friendly and hospitable people than Phil and Lucie. They are super accomodating and attendant to your needs. Even their small Scottie dog has personality. We stayed in a first floor select room that was clean and quiet and had an outside entrance. Everything was well maintained and cared for. Easy to find, lots of parking and a nice outside deck area. Very well decorated and bountiful flowers. Lucie's cooking is great and there are just so many good choices even if you're watching your diet. This was our fourth trip to Ouray and on number five we will stay here again. I can't imagine how you could do better!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

After reading all of the wonderful reviews here, we were so excited to get to the Black Bear Manor on our recent vacation to the Colorado mountains. We were not disappointed! We stayed in room 5, a standard room on the ground floor. Although a "standard room" we did not feel "standard"; the bed was large and comfortable with lovely bedding and plenty of pillows, and the room included a large shower (but no tub), television with Direct TV, and small outside porch with a small table and chairs to enjoy. The innkeepers were so amazingly warm and welcoming, and Lucie won my heart immediately when we she let us check in early after a night of camping (since I desperately needed a shower and a nap)! We enjoyed the excellent quality bottle of complimentary cabernet on the comfortable leather couches in the upstairs observatory along with wonderful chocolates that we bought in town! The views of the surrounding peaks were breathtaking! They even had a music system set up to play soft music to set a wonderful mood while enjoying the sunset or the stars. I haven't even mentioned the AMAZING breakfasts that were prepared for us each morning of our stay. We were so indulgently satisfied, that we literally were not hungry again until dinner. Smudge, the mascot, was the most sweet docile doggy ever, and made me smile everytime I saw her! The B & B was located easily within walking distance of all of the shops and restaurants on the main strip in town. I assure you that every detail was noted and taken care of, and there is no question about it, that if we were to return to Ouray as a couple, we would immediately call Black Bear Manor and plan our trip around their availability. We would not hesitate to highly recommend this B&B to any family and friends who were going to visit Ouray.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya-n-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

This may be the finest example of a first class bed and breakfast in an outstanding and scenic location. The owners are gracious hosts and dedicated to providing the finest experience. This is a great location for an overnight stay or a week long vacation. I give it 6 STARS.

>>>>>>>>>>> ****** <<<<<<<<<<<<

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was perfect
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chipco3434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.0 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#10 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
China Clipper Inn
China Clipper Inn
#1 of 8 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Manor

Property: Black Bear Manor
Address: 118 6th Ave, Ouray, CO 81427
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Bear Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary English Cottage-style Bed & Breakfast with slate roof, set near to a rambling mountain stream & surrounded by the San Juan Mtns. Located in town, close to restaurants and shops, and offering the best Breakfast in town! All of our unique rooms include a full hot made fresh breakfast daily. The views from our indoor observatory are some of the best in Ouray. Enjoy our view while while resting on the large deck or from the inside through large windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Black Bear Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Manor Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing