We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B - We will definitely return.”
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Ingrid and Hans were very welcoming, relaxed and always helpful. The B&B is very lovely and beautiful inside. It really does feel like you're in someone's home, but in a comfortable way. The home is fairly new, with lots of sitting areas upstairs and downstairs. The dining room has a large table to accommodate everyone for breakfast, as well as a really nice enclosed porch for eating. Breakfast consisted of eggs (different varieties every day), bacon, muffins, pasteries, cereal, yogurt and fruit. There was always coffee, juice and tea also offered for breakfast. We always walked away full and never felt like we had to supplement our meal.

We stayed in the 'Witches of the Waves' room, which was great. There were lots of windows to let in natural light, a flat screen tv, private bath, desk/sitting area, closet, and two doors into the room. One from the inside hallway and another from outside. The outside door opened to our own deck area. While it was somewhat private you could see other guests that were sitting on their deck areas. From the deck you could access the hot tub/garden area and the back door. We would definitely request this room again and would recommend it to others.

The location of the Inn was just perfect. The alley where you can access the back door is not even one block from the main street. It was central, and within walking distance to just about everything on the main street area.

If I had to pick out a negative it would be that there were only about 9 channels on the tv. While we didn't spend much time in the room, while we were in the room, it would have been nice to have more variety.

Overall, we will definitely return to the Inn, as it had a much more intimate feel than a hotel and we always felt 'right at home' there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAZTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for China Clipper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 309 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2010

Ingrid & Hans are wonderful. They greeted us on arrival and are full of ideas of places to eat and activities to do. Very quiet and a block from Mian Street.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roatan3601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

this victorian style, newer facility will charm you. your hosts are very solicitous and you can walk everywhere in ouray from the B & B. the breakfast was as good as any we've had. price was very reasonable for the quality of rooms and the service. inga and hans were great.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benito12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We enjoyed our recent stay at the China Clipper Inn. It is located close to everything in beautiful Ouray, Co. Our hosts were friendly and warm and very excited about their bed and breakfast as well as the Ouray community. The place was clean. The amenities, decorations and views were all very classic bed and breakfast style. We think you will enjoy a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeblowHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stay in a lot of B&Bs and the China Clipper in Ouray, CO is one of the best. It is a very nice house built to be a B&B and the owners Hans and Ingrid went above and beyond to make our stay in their beautiful town a memorable experience.

We will definately stay here the next time we are in Ouray.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandMary80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We were looking for a place to sleep during our hiking trip to Colorado. Ouray was a great base and Hans and Ingrid's place was everything we could have asked of a bed and breakfast. Place was spotless and room very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent (good thing we were going hiking or we would have gained 5 pounds each). Our hosts were helpful and knowledgeable. We also made good use of the hot tub in the pretty garden. Fabulous view from the front porch and breakfast room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The China Clipper Inn ranks right up there with the top of line B&Bs on the East Coast. Fantastic, clean and very well-maintained rooms, superb breakfasts with a fantastic variety of choices and Hans and Ingrid are so personable and knowledgable about the area and the attractions. A definite stay for anyone visting/touring the San Juan region of Colorado.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtvbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 8 in Ouray
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range: $151 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing