We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in.”
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ouray, Colorado
2 reviews
“One of the best B&Bs we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stay in a lot of B&Bs and the China Clipper in Ouray, CO is one of the best. It is a very nice house built to be a B&B and the owners Hans and Ingrid went above and beyond to make our stay in their beautiful town a memorable experience.

We will definately stay here the next time we are in Ouray.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandMary80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
226
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We were looking for a place to sleep during our hiking trip to Colorado. Ouray was a great base and Hans and Ingrid's place was everything we could have asked of a bed and breakfast. Place was spotless and room very comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent (good thing we were going hiking or we would have gained 5 pounds each). Our hosts were helpful and knowledgeable. We also made good use of the hot tub in the pretty garden. Fabulous view from the front porch and breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

The China Clipper Inn ranks right up there with the top of line B&Bs on the East Coast. Fantastic, clean and very well-maintained rooms, superb breakfasts with a fantastic variety of choices and Hans and Ingrid are so personable and knowledgable about the area and the attractions. A definite stay for anyone visting/touring the San Juan region of Colorado.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtvbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We stayed 8 nights in Ouray at the China Clipper Inn, using it as our home base to do day hikes in the area, and day trips to nearby places of interest. The China Clipper was the perfect place to settle in and enjoy the comforts of an attractive and relaxing inn. Hans and Ingrid are warm and friendly hosts, not intrusive, as can sometimes happen at B&Bs, but welcoming, helpful and accommodating.

Upon arrival, Hans showed us the room we had requested, but offered us another room he thought we would like. The price was the same, but it was on the 2nd floor with lots of room, light, and several windows with beautiful views of the mountains. Full breakfasts were served each day, and it varied - eggs benedict, omelettes to order, pancakes. Hans even got up very early on the day we were driving to Moab to serve us bagels with smoked salmon.

The inn is very pretty and attractively furnished with period pieces. Our room was large and comfortable, with a deck that had beautiful mountain views. The mattress was very comfortable as well. We have nothing negative to say about our experience at the China Clipper and would love to visit again to see beautiful Ouray in the winter time. (Speaking of Ouray, it is a charming little town with mountains so close you can almost touch them. The people everywhere - shops, restaurants, visitors center - were uniformly warm and friendly. There were several good restaurant choices right in town.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joel515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the China Clipper for only one night on our way up to Wyoming. The inn was clean, attractive and very comfortable. The breakfast was good also. The only negative was the climb up the stairs from the parking in front. Go around to the rear to drop your luggage is my suggestion. We enjoyed the old time charm of the inn and of Ouray. Next time we are in western Colorado, we'll spend a little more time in Ouray and will go back to the China Clipper.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeboyPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2010

There is no doubt that Ouray Colorado is simply a gorgeous area; it is breath taking. The people in town were so friendly and helpful you felt that you may be visting Mayberry instead of Ouray. There are many wonders to see in such a small place - i.e., as the waterfalls along with so much of Mother Nature's gifts for discovery on nature walks etc. The Outlaw restaurant was very good; the Artisan Bakery had delicious treats and a good menu, but the crown jewel in this special place, is without a doubt, the CHINA CLIPPER INN. Hans and Ingrid are both so outstanding in their roles of innkeepers - they open up their beautiful inn to where you almost instantly, feel at home and even better. They both want your stay at China Clipper Inn to be memorable and they absolutely succeed. What a delight to wake up to Hans' luscious breakfast each morning and the hospitality of Ingrid. I have never experienced wanting to go back to a place simply for the place I stayed; but that has changed. When I think about going back to Ouray it is the China Clipper and its marvelous innkeepers that I think of first.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANNIE_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The China Clipper Inn is an adorable b&b located in stunning Ouray, Colorado. I was previously aware of owners' Hans and Ingrid's remarkable hospitality, as we became friends over the winter and was not let down by them when we stayed at the Inn. The rooms have very unique and pleasant decor, and the beds were extremely comfortable! The amenities help you to feel right at home, and encourage a relaxing setting. I would highly recommend staying with the Vanderploeg's at the China Clipper if it is on your vacation route. And if it isn't....be sure to make the stop! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katelynstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
889 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 8 in Ouray
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Property: China Clipper Inn
Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing