We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Stop - Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First Stop - Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the China Clipper for only one night on our way up to Wyoming. The inn was clean, attractive and very comfortable. The breakfast was good also. The only negative was the climb up the stairs from the parking in front. Go around to the rear to drop your luggage is my suggestion. We enjoyed the old time charm of the inn and of Ouray. Next time we are in western Colorado, we'll spend a little more time in Ouray and will go back to the China Clipper.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeboyPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
221
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2010

There is no doubt that Ouray Colorado is simply a gorgeous area; it is breath taking. The people in town were so friendly and helpful you felt that you may be visting Mayberry instead of Ouray. There are many wonders to see in such a small place - i.e., as the waterfalls along with so much of Mother Nature's gifts for discovery on nature walks etc. The Outlaw restaurant was very good; the Artisan Bakery had delicious treats and a good menu, but the crown jewel in this special place, is without a doubt, the CHINA CLIPPER INN. Hans and Ingrid are both so outstanding in their roles of innkeepers - they open up their beautiful inn to where you almost instantly, feel at home and even better. They both want your stay at China Clipper Inn to be memorable and they absolutely succeed. What a delight to wake up to Hans' luscious breakfast each morning and the hospitality of Ingrid. I have never experienced wanting to go back to a place simply for the place I stayed; but that has changed. When I think about going back to Ouray it is the China Clipper and its marvelous innkeepers that I think of first.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHANNIE_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

The China Clipper Inn is an adorable b&b located in stunning Ouray, Colorado. I was previously aware of owners' Hans and Ingrid's remarkable hospitality, as we became friends over the winter and was not let down by them when we stayed at the Inn. The rooms have very unique and pleasant decor, and the beds were extremely comfortable! The amenities help you to feel right at home, and encourage a relaxing setting. I would highly recommend staying with the Vanderploeg's at the China Clipper if it is on your vacation route. And if it isn't....be sure to make the stop! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katelynstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

Ingrid and Hans are very attentive hosts, and they keep the Inn in impeccable order, very clean. The room was very comfortable and quiet, the breakfasts were fresh and delicious. Our room had beautiful views, and it is right in the heart of town with an easy walk to everything, yet off the main street enough to feel nice and quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyMntWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

Highley recomended. I recently attened a wedding in Ouray and stumbled upon this B&B online. As I was traveling alone I opted for the most basic room on offer and was pleasently suprised. I got a very spacious room with a partial view of the surrounding mountains and a nice four post bed. Several of my friends were lodging at other hotels in the area, so I got a chance to check out the other lodging options. I found that I paid a good 20-50 less a night and got a much better room.

My two favorite aspects of this place:

- tastefully decorated. Some B&B's try to cram every available space with cheesy nick-nacks and over do it on the floral wall paper. This place got it spot on. Very comfortable and decorated with style.

- Very nice owner operators. Hans and Ingrid are a young couple and seem to have real enthusiasim for the buisness. When people enjoy having guests it makes a big difference. Especially in an small B&B.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattdujour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

This was my first stay at a bed and breakfast so I wasn't sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The property is beautiful, well built and well cared for. The hosts, Hans and Ingrid were hospitable, friendly, and invisible unless we had a need. I
We really enjoyed the stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miken515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We have stayed at the inn before this trip, but it was under different management. We enjoyed these innkeepers.. a courteous, helpful couple with an adorable infant. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable enough for old furniture, and quiet. We were really disappointed, however, that all four breakfasts we ate were identical: scrambled eggs, bacon, and muffins plus sides of fruit and cereal. How about an egg casserole or some pancakes or coffee cake? It's a bed and BREAKFAST. Variety would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Box Canyon Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Property: China Clipper Inn
Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing