We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply beautiful....we will be back.,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of China Clipper Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful....we will be back.,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say but beautiful. Lovely people, lovely rooms, lovely house, lovely amenities, beautiful location, wonderful breakfast! I especially liked the sitting room with the shelf full of books. We will be back to stay here if ever in this place again! I hope that Hans and Ingrid can accommodate us when we do........

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ozchick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
221
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Provo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lots of choices for hotels in Ouray, but we chose the China Clipper Inn mainly because of the good reviews, so I'll add another one here. The China Clipper Inn was a really great place to stay. It's quaint, very clean, and Ingrid and Hans, the owners, are working hard to make sure that everybody has a great experience here. Their breakfast in the morning was very tasty, with quiche, sausage, cereal, muffins, juice, coffee, and all the trimmings. Our room was very nice, with a great bed, and a nice little semi-private sitting area out front overlooking the nice clean hot tub. Have wanted to stay in Ouray for a number of years now, so I'm glad we finally did, and also glad we chose the China Clipper Inn. While there we slipped up to the Wiesbaden Hotel just to soak in their hot springs vapor caves ($15 for 3 hours) which was a good choice too.

Room Tip: They don't advertise air conditioning, but all rooms that I saw had A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Out of 5 hotels, and two in Ouray Co. this was by far the best place we stayed. Super clean and super quiet. Really nicely set up and decorated. Even the air smelled great, not sure how they did that but it was nice. Each room has its own bath and is plenty spacious. The food was fantastic. I never was a bed and breakfast type but am totally sold now. The husband and wife team that run this place were very friendly and accommodating, easy and nice to talk with. Helpful with things around town and the area. This will be a destination place for us in the future. Strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: They have both single room and suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am a frequent traveler around the US and I have stayed at 5 star hotels and other bed and breakfast inns. The China Clipper ranks high on my travel destinations. This trip was for a family affair in a very small town. I was not sure what I was going to find upon my arrival. The innkeepers, Ingrid and Hans, made my week long trip special in every way. Hans breakfast creations were delightful. I will never forget the cherry chocolate muffins. The dinning room provides a scenic view of the mountains which was spectacular. The room was spacious and clean. I hope that I will get the opportunity to stay with Hans and Ingrid again. I felt like they were my family and the inn was my home. Can't wait for the next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful experience. The bed was comfortable and the room was furnished beautifully. Breakfast was delicious every morning particularly the muffins. Hans and Ingrid were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay at the China Clipper in future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retta_ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay. Having stayed in B&Bs all over the world I rate this as in the TOP 2. Our room was lovely. Truly lovely. The décor is classic and beautiful through out.
Breakfast room and breakfast itself... sensational.
We live in Denver which means we will be back easily again and again.
Thank you Ingrid and Hans!
Chris and Pat

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it couldn't have been more even if it was the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The China Clipper offers first class lodging combined with the most laid back atmosphere one can experience in this beautiful mountain town. Hans and Ingrid are accessible and yet not overwhelmingly intrusive. They immediately make you feel welcome and part of the place from the moment you cross the threshold. Rooms are impeccably tasteful and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing and not to be missed. Best eggs ever and the muffins and fresh fruit are the BEST! Forget about Aspen, Vail, and Steamboat...stay here and take the easy day trips to Silverton and Telluride. When you return to the China Clipper, you'll feel like you are back home.
Pat and Chris C.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouray
0.1 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
0.8 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Main Street Inn
Main Street Inn
#7 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 10 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ouray Chalet Inn
Ouray Chalet Inn
#3 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Property: China Clipper Inn
Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing