We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay in Ouray!”
Review of China Clipper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
China Clipper Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Ouray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basalt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Place to Stay in Ouray!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hans and Ingrid are very gracious and knowledgeable hosts. From the wonderful breakfasts to the utter cleanliness of the China Clipper, it made our stay in Colorado's most beautiful town, even better. We would heartily recommend this charming jewel to anyone wishing for a memorable getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    10
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
228
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I live in Grand Junction on Colorado's Western Slope. We enjoy weekend get-a-ways to the mountain towns near us. Ouray is our favorite community to visit, and the China Clipper Inn is our favorite place to stay. It is immaculate and beautifully furnished with antiques from all over the world. Each unique room is extremely comfortable. The views of the San Juan Mountains that encircle Ouray are uplifting. A weekend in Ouray is always restful no matter what time of year we go there. The inkeepers of the China Clipper, Ingrid and Hans, go out of their way to make our stay pleasant and peaceful.. Their kindness and dedication to excellence are what make the China Clipper Inn our favorite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkosmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here over the ice festival and couldnt be happier. Lovely room,clean,warm very comfortable. Great breakfast every morning. Two minute walk to town,wifi and internet,hot tub nice bathrobes. Hans and Ingrid are lovely hosts and very welcoming and helpful. I would certainly stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireManinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonkawa, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was an excellent choice for our first Christmas together as "husband & wife". The room was just beautiful. Lovely thick robes that were able to use on our two trips to the hot springs! The hot tub really came in handy after a long day snow mobiling! How lovely to come back to a fireplace burning in our room! So cozy and comfy~thank you for making our first holiday together seem like a dream come true. The breakfast each morning and the views just spoiled us more! We couldn't have asked for a nicer place and such friendly inn keepers to provide a memorable stay for us. We certainly will be returning and can't wait to see the mountains in the spring. It was truly a breath taking expierence staying there with all the wonderful views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night on our way to Opus Hut. Ingrid and Hans have made this B&B cozy, affordable, welcoming and an all around excellent place to stay. The hot tub out back is obviously new and very cool. The rooms are a nice size and there is a common area with fireplace, computer station and DVD library for guests to use. The. Breakfast is delicious and the hosts are accommodating. It lives up to all the great reviews and if for some reason you don't have a great experience, please let Hans or Ingrid know so they can try to fix things.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Splendid welcome, tour of installation anthen to room. Very comfortable indeed, made us feel that another day or two would have been good. Breakfast the next morning was a feast, high quality. Throughly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grumpy554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Adorable little rooms.. The satellite stations didnt work but we weren't there to watch tv is it wasn't a damper on the stay at all.. The random cold water in the shower however made for a interesting wake up. Clean, comfortable, hot tub was nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichelleware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ouray hotels
0.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ouray Inn
Ouray Inn
#6 of 15 in Ouray
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Black Bear Manor
Black Bear Manor
#2 of 8 in Ouray
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden
Secret Garden
#3 of 8 in Ouray
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to China Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about China Clipper Inn

Property: China Clipper Inn
Address: 525 Second St., Ouray, CO 81427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Ouray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ouray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — China Clipper Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your China Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
China Clipper Hotel Ouray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing